We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place with magnicifent views of the lake, highly recommended.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, SA
1 review
“very nice place with magnicifent views of the lake, highly recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

We had to stay in Robe just for one night on the way home. Instead we stayed for 2 nights as this place was so lovely. The place had a spectacular panoramic views overlooking the Lake Fellmongery. I can not remember exactly the type of the accomodation we had, it could be an executive room but without a spa. The room was very spacious with clean bathroom and kitchen. It was a peak of season, but the place was peaceful and quiet. The room was nicely decorated in neutral colours. Our apartment was overlooking a nice green lawn and a lake, it was so great to have dinner sitting outside and looking over the lake. If I travel to Robe next time, I perhaps stay in the Robe motel just because it's got a heated swimming pool and my kids are crazy about swimming )). I hope my review will be helpful for other travellers. Yulia and Michael, Adelaide, SA

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank YuliaAdelaide_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    133
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
219
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

I booked this property online and chose it for it's spacious layout. Our party of 2 adults and 2 children booked for 4 nights in the winter school holidays and were thoroughly pleased with our choice. The location was wonderful - a small hotel directly overlooking the lake and within 2 minutes driving distance of town. We chose the more expensive 2 bedroom apartment and were very pleased with the facilities provided. Each bedroom had a TV (with cable and in house movies free of charge) as well as a larger screen in the living room. There was a well-appointed kitchen, laundry, large bathroom and separate toilet. The owners were very amiable and we felt that we had really found a nice 'port in a storm'. Although some may consider 4 days rather long in winter, there were magnificent bushwalks and some other quaint townships to explore nearby. The main street in Robe is full of lovely coffee shops and restaurants, with the Pizzeria definitely a favourite. The hotel was very quiet - probably due to the freezing weather - but I expect in the summer months the tranquility may be compromised. All in all, an excellent choice. We probably could've done better on the price if we had booked at the last minute.

  • Liked — The magnificent setting and quiet location
  • Disliked — Nothing: the 'worst' you could say was that the decor was pleasant if slightly unfashionable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familygirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

My wife, mother-in-law and I travelled from Perth to Melbourne over three weeks, in April this year. This included a week driving the Great Ocean Road. We stayed in many apartments, spendng between 1 and 4 nights at each of them. None disappointed, most set a high standard, but Lakeview surpassed them all - for location and view, comfort and cleanlinesss, style and friendliness - definitely the best of all our stays. We thoroughly recommend Lakeview.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Wikisnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

We stayed at the lakeview just one night on an extended trip. The owner was a lovely man and very helpful. We booked an executive room and to say we were pleasently surprised was an understatement. The room was large with a small kitchen area if you need it. The room would have to be one of the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in some top hotels all o ver the world. The hotel and standard of cleanliness is a credit to the owners. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to any traveller and the view over the lake from your door is beautiful.

  • Liked — great rooms and really clean
  • Disliked — nothing it was great
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austrlalia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed the overnight stay. The spa ensuite was well maintained. The king sized bed was comfortable and the pillows were nice and fluffy. The view is fantastic- you get to see Lake Fellmongery as soon as you step out of your room. Spa was a treat. The reception staff was friendly. There are two movie channels and cable tv is available free of charge to the guest.

Foodwise-
Breakfast- we tried Mulberry's Cafe. Over-rated and over-priced in my opinion.
Lunch- Robe Bakery serves up some nice pies. Also give the Robe Fish and Chip shop a go- sit on the nice lawn in front of the beach and watch the waves crash in.
Dinner at The Gallerie - very nice, well priced, included in Mietta's good food guide- book ahead!

Activities
Top of the pick- sitting on the lawn overlooking Town Beach and watching the world go by.
Go for a stroll along the main street and visit the quaint little shops. My fave was the art gallery.
Liked the Obelisk

While you are in the region, take a drive to Kingston SE and visit the Cape Jaffa Lighthouse which had been shifted from its original position on the reef to this little town. Excellent guided tour. Another highlight of the trip to this part of South Australia.

  • Liked — The view of Lake Fellmongery
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gizmopb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2007

What a lovely place Robe is and this is a great place to stay. Maybe a bit further out than some accommodation, but its only a 10/15 min walk to the front. Doesn't look that much from the outside and it is an older motel, but its clean, spacious. Our apt had 2 balconies, one to the back overlooking the lake and one to the front. Nice guy runs the place with his wife and they give you fresh milk on arrival. Its a lovely place to chill out and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollyDayAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2007

Stayed in this motel for 2 nights. Booked on last minute internet site and got a good deal. Room was spotless and we had a king size bed in our room which was a bonus. WiFi is available for $5 per hour if you have your laptop with you and they do have a computer in the foyer you can use. There is a kitchenette in the room which has microwave, sink, fridge and utensils. The room was huge with heaps of cupboard and drawer space. Each unit has a picture window looking out to the lake below and a front door that leads out onto a grassed area where you can sit on your own outdoor setting. It is a 5 - 10 min walk to the shops and about 7 mins to the beach. Robe is a quaint town with lots of historical buildings - all very well kept - cute shops and beautiful beaches - lots of places to drive to nearby which are worth a look.
Beachport and Southend, which are both towns south of Robe have lovely beaches, and the cliff walk at Southend gives you great bay and water views. Looking forward to going back for a longer stay.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — a bit of a walk to the shops and beach
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
24.4 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#1 of 2 in Kingston SE
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
1.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#3 of 8 in Robe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Robe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Property: Lakeview Motel
Address: 2 Lakeside Terrace, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeview Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robe Motel and Apartments are situated in an elevated, quiet location comprising of 16 spacious units,all with spectacular panoramic views overlooking the historic Lake Fellmongery.Robe Lakeview Motel provides a range of holiday accommodation from well appointed standard, executive and deluxe spa rooms or luxury two bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Robe
Lakeview Motel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing