We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Robe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Robe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robe Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I stayed at this hotel whilst travelling through. The balconies have the best views in Robe and the food in the bistro is superb and well priced. For 'hotel' style accomodation at an affordable price I would definitely recommend it. The staff are all friendly and it is within walking distance to everywhere in Robe unlike the other motels which are a bit further away.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2008

Room:
Spa suite, $130 per night (advertised for $110!)

Positive features:
Electric blanket, great view over bay from huge balcony, great room size, walk-in cupboard, nice fireplace in reasonably priced restaurant (our and other guests' refuge from the cold rooms)

Negative features:
Small radiator for huge room (even on request no second radiator available), windows do not fit tightly at all (draughty), sterile atmosphere in bathroom, dirty spa (hair, dirt in pipes and dirt marks), dirty glasses in fridge (wrapped in paper marked "Your clean glass"), meagre breakfast in room (müesli with UHT milk, fruit juice, instant coffee, tea), 15 min wait for check-out as there was not a soul in sight in the entire entertainment complex consisting of restaurant, pub, pokies, TAB and bottle shop

Booking procedure:
Email for booking did not work, so we booked by telephone and informed the manager of the error on the website. He claimed we had made a mistake when typing in the address (although we naturally just clicked on the link). On our request, we then received the following ridiculous email confirmation sent by an obviously misspelt email address (robehotl@...): "confirm your booking on the 17th july in the spa suit $130 per night at the robe hotel" (this is the entire email, no adress, no greetings etc).

Conclusion:
Way too expensive and to crown it all in off-peak season

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank youngswisscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Great view across the harbour when you opened the french doors on to the verandah - a bit blowy though.
Room was pretty basic - nothing to write home about. The bathroom was a bit different - looked like a plastic coated room, that was added later.
Great meals downstairs in the lounge in front of the open fire - when we first arrived we thought we were the only ones in town but all of a sudden they came out of the woodwork - a full house.
There's another little stone built pub a short walk away - very english pub like - it has far more atmosphere than this hotel.

I'd stay again but would check out other accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazinBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

great place to stay been travlin for 3 months one of the best spots, a bit windy!! (pick your time of year to go!!!) full of amazing sites.see RYAN he will treat you like the only guest in the hotel. rooms OK , suited to the price great views, best in town..... will defentley be going back next year cheers PLASTY for a great weekend xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelalotdewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Stayed recently........strange town......slightly stepford wives........this hotel has been refurbished.....but going by the style, I should think about 1979...........food excellent.......community slightly threatening.....can still smell the burnt rubber from street racing..........

3  Thank puffin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
24.1 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe Hotel

Address: Robe, South Australia SA 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing