We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Robe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Robe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robe Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is yet another one of South Australia heritage-type pubs with a large Pokie room- which generally sustains these pubs financially. So again, we found the rooms to be average and below average in actual furnishings and fittings. The first night we had to take a back room, which was dirty, filthy bedspreads (beer stains perhaps?) and no blind on the window which overlooked the back balcony and corridor. We had to put up a blanket for privacy! Share shower and toilet down the long corridor. Next night we had a room on the front with front balcony, en suite, 2 beds and overlooking the sea. The view is fabulous. For the view, it is the best situation in Robe. The room furnishings adequate and a bit cleaner. The balcony posts showed signs of termites and general disrepair. It is such a shame that there is no S A Government Tourist rating or similar (like Europe for example) for these lovely old pubs. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was good enough. The price, in summer season, was reasonable for the balcony room, but for the back room too overpriced for the bad quality and uncleanliness. How difficult would it be to give the carpet a shampoo once in a year at least and wash the bedcovers!

Room Tip: Pick only only the balcony rooms with en suite. They are the better value and also likely to be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAGABOND0445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 111 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We dined at this lovely old hotel on two successive evenings as their menu displayed a more varied selection of meals than those on offer at some of the other venues. Fortunately we had booked earlier in the day, as the restaurant appeared to be quite busy with two sittings for dinner. We had no complaints with the meals and the wines on offer were very good, in fact we chose a wine local to the area and weren’t disappointed with the quality. Service was prompt and the meals were of a good pub bistro standard served in an old style dining room in this historic hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

It was on Australia day Long Weekend and the pub was packed! I received top service from the friendly bar staff! She was a wizz on the order machine and was extremely paitent and helpful with two european tourists! We had Oyster Kilpatrick for starters, they were as good as I've ever had them! I had the 600gm rump and it was cooked perfectly! The only thing which was a downer was the salad bar with only 6 choices of salad and they were bland and average! If they improved their salad bar for big weekends this pub would get a 10/10!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Zanderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

A bit of a mix up with our initial room had me concerned but the friendly staff quickly and professionally remedied the issue. Comfy beds and good facilities for the price. Great views from balcony rooms. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I and 2 teenagers left and could not eat anything more. The Jumbalya, chicken schnitzel & fish were all enjoyed and we found the salad bar was all fresh. Staff were helpful and plates were cleared the first time the waitress had a chance when not bringing out food. Could not ask for much more. Would return again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We sat here yesterday just for the view. It really is something. The coronas were cold and the squid was yummy. But the service was appalling. The young guy on the public bar let me wait behind another client, then made no eye contact, walked off and ate some of his lunch (Maccas?), and then walked off. The girl serving did this to us and to the couple at the next table: drops the food on the table. We ask for cutlery. She points inside like we are morons and walks off. Really quite graceless. Bearded boss who did serve me seemed friendly enough. But the staff need training and discipline.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GourmondoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The decor hasn't changed in the 17 years since I last visited Robe and upon surveying the menu we didn't have high hopes, but we were pleasantly surprised.
The schnitzels were all very well sized and tasty, as were the fish and chips. Decent salad bar made it good value. The kids menu was well priced too, including the salad bar and a soft drink. Our toddler enjoyed the play area.
Pub could do with bit of a facelift , the menu an overhaul , service was fine but overall food wise was good value & tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank NNY264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe Hotel

Address: Robe, South Australia SA 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing