We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Great People, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Finally got a few days off with the family and decided to head south to stress out, found ourselves in Robe late afternoon and liked the look of the place so decided to stay the night. Picked the Robetown Motor Inn for no real reason and turned out to be a great choice. Reasonably priced by any standard, rooms were certainly up to the task, well appointed and very clean and comfy. Nothing out of the ordinary there, just good value. What made the difference for us was the fantastic hosts; friendly, engaging, full of local knowledge, tips and ideas, extremely helpful and eager to please, nothing too much trouble. Ended up sharing dinner and drinks with them in the outdoor (enclosed) kitchen/BBQ/dining area where guests can cook for themselves. What a bonus when travelling with the family, much cheaper than eating out every meal. Bit cool during our stay for us to use the indoor pool but looked really nice: good clean facility the kids would love, just put that in the memory file for next time. The night was so much fun with Dave and Tina our hosts and with the clean fresh sea air (and maybe a few glasses of wine) we slept like babies. Next morning Dave gave us some great ideas of where to go and what to see, and it turned out instead of moving on down the coast as planned we spent the next two and a half days following Dave's advice and directions touring around the Robe district and of course staying at the Robetown Motor Inn. Had a great time, discovered places and people we would never have seen, and really enjoyed our short break. Nice Place, Great People, Good Value. What more can you ask. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivo5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 389 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

Robetown Motor Inn looks very inviting as you first drive into town sitting up there on the hill. David and Tina seem to have a knack of making you feel relaxed as soon as you are greeted by them. The rooms are neat and clean and the pool area is good for kids but still relaxing to sit around. They are so well situated to the town and so it is very easy to walk everywhere further adding to the relaxation of your holiday.
I hope very much to get back to Robe in the next few months and am very much looking forward to again enjoying the wonderful hospitality of David and Tina.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Totally disappointing.

1. Bad service
2. Lousy looking room (furnishing is outdated and tired looking)
3. No shower gel ( only soaps)
4. Overpriced for the kind of room

Enough said.

There are many better priced inns/motels/hotels that come with wonderful service and pleasant looking rooms along GOR.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelloWorld117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robetown, Owner at Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

As the owner of this motel for over 20 yrs I take pride in the way my business is managed and the customer service given by all my staff. Therefore I find the remarks expressed by this reviewer completely out of character and as can be seen vastly at odds to the excellent comments made by previous guests. No customer complaints have been made directly to the motel and with precious little details of the reviewer or the stay in question it is very difficult to ascertain or indeed rectify any specific problems. I encourage all my guests, including this reviewer to discuss any concerns they may have in an open, friendly and constructive environment. In the absence of any reviewer profile details I find this review highly suspicious and completely refute the allegations made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Totally disappointing. The trip advisor reviews on this inn certainly didn't live up to my expectation at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelphilics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Stanhope_2004, Owner at Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Customer satisfaction is the life blood of any motel and therefore we take any criticism very seriously. We have been owners of this motel for over 20 years and during that time have progressively refurbished the motel, the last major project in 2008 and including the current upgrade of our 3.5 star rooms. Cleanliness and service has always been a priority as evidenced by previous guest reviews and therefore I find the scores in this area completely out of character. In the absence of any reviewer details including date of stay nor any complaints made directly to the motel it is very difficult to ascertain or indeed rectify any specific problems. I encourage all my guests, including this reviewer to discuss any concerns they may have in an open, friendly and constructive environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Robe is a beautiful place in Winter and Robetown is a great place to see it from. Great hosts and the concept they have of an indoor barbecue area fully equipped is outstanding! Lets you self cater without the hassle of it being in your room so now cooking smells!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint52Turangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed for one night at Robe Town Motor Inn on our recent travels in Australia. We needed somewhere pretty much halfway between Adelaide and Warrnambool for the night and Robe looked like a nice little fishing town, of all the accomodation options this one fitted our budget and needs best with a double room costing around the £70 mark for the night.

This motel has an indoor swimming pool on site which is a bit of an unexpected bonus. We did not use it as our stay was too short really but it looked clean and tidy and certainly seemed popular with other guests. On arrival you go up a steepish driveway which leads into the central parking area and the motel itself is therefore perched on a hill. Steps lead down into the town on the other side from the driveway and it is only a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of town with plenty of eating and drinking options around. The beach is also very close although you can't really see it from the Motel itself.

On arrival our check in was quick and efficient and we were given a key to our room. In the reception area we noticed there is a small shop area where you can pick up basic groceries and wine. Our room was in the corner and each room has a dedicated parking space outside in the traditional style.

I have to say the room was even better than I had expected. Nicely furnished and with a massive queen size bed, a flat screen TV and a small kitchenette area (toaster, kettle, crockery etc). Notably this was the only place we stayed on our entire trip which provided real wine glasses as standard - a very nice touch and one we utilised! The bathroom was spotless and felt very new, a power shower at one end sink in the middle and loo at the other end, it did not feel cramped either.

Within the main room we also had a table and two chairs under the window which was lovely and meant we could comfortably eat fish and chips we bought back for tea without sitting on the bed. There was also a sofa and a long sideboard - absolutely bags of room for putting things.

I actually believe the bed here was one of the most comfortable I have EVER slept in and it was very difficult to persuade myself to get out of it in the morning. The shower too was very good and all in all we felt this place represents great value for money. I only wish all hotel/motels could reach the benchmark set here for the money.

Well recommended for anyone needing a bed for the night in this area of Australia, also we highly recommend the fish and chip shop which is a 3 minute walk away and the bottle shop attached to the Caldonian, between these two places we picked up a bottle of merlot and a lovely supper for less than $25 (around £16) which is a bit of a bargain in Australia at the moment.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in two rooms. The rooms were comfortable and clean. A few minutes from Robe centre and seafront. There are communal BBQ facilities (indoor). This owner run motel was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.2 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#7 of 7 in Robe
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments

Address: 14 Main Rd, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Robetown Motor Inn & Apartments has a variety of family-friendly spacious motel rooms and apartments overlooking the beautiful township of Robe. All ground floor units, with reverse cycle air-conditioning and some with undercover car parking. All rooms & apartments have free Wi-Fi, flat screen LCD televisions, refrigerator, toaster, tea and coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, and hair dryer. Motel rooms include free Austar movies and sport while apartments are complete with DVD player and free movie hire. Our 2 and 3 bedroom apartments offer a full kitchen with electric cooktop, oven, and sink; while our 1 bedroom apartments feature a kitchenette with electric frypan. All apartments are equipped with microwave and all crockery & cutlery needs. A luxurious indoor heated swimming pool and separate heated spa and a modern indoor barbecue area with all facilities for large or small groups are available for all guests at no charge. Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments is only metres from the local supermarket and just a short stroll to beaches, the town centre shopping, hotels, restaurants, arts & crafts, boat harbour, walking trails and historical buildings. Surf, swim, ski, fish, play golf or just take in the picturesque village of Robe. Robe is the Gem of S.A. and we would love to help you enjoy it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robetown Hotel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing