We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Night's Sleep on our Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed for one night at Robe Town Motor Inn on our recent travels in Australia. We needed somewhere pretty much halfway between Adelaide and Warrnambool for the night and Robe looked like a nice little fishing town, of all the accomodation options this one fitted our budget and needs best with a double room costing around the £70 mark for the night.

This motel has an indoor swimming pool on site which is a bit of an unexpected bonus. We did not use it as our stay was too short really but it looked clean and tidy and certainly seemed popular with other guests. On arrival you go up a steepish driveway which leads into the central parking area and the motel itself is therefore perched on a hill. Steps lead down into the town on the other side from the driveway and it is only a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of town with plenty of eating and drinking options around. The beach is also very close although you can't really see it from the Motel itself.

On arrival our check in was quick and efficient and we were given a key to our room. In the reception area we noticed there is a small shop area where you can pick up basic groceries and wine. Our room was in the corner and each room has a dedicated parking space outside in the traditional style.

I have to say the room was even better than I had expected. Nicely furnished and with a massive queen size bed, a flat screen TV and a small kitchenette area (toaster, kettle, crockery etc). Notably this was the only place we stayed on our entire trip which provided real wine glasses as standard - a very nice touch and one we utilised! The bathroom was spotless and felt very new, a power shower at one end sink in the middle and loo at the other end, it did not feel cramped either.

Within the main room we also had a table and two chairs under the window which was lovely and meant we could comfortably eat fish and chips we bought back for tea without sitting on the bed. There was also a sofa and a long sideboard - absolutely bags of room for putting things.

I actually believe the bed here was one of the most comfortable I have EVER slept in and it was very difficult to persuade myself to get out of it in the morning. The shower too was very good and all in all we felt this place represents great value for money. I only wish all hotel/motels could reach the benchmark set here for the money.

Well recommended for anyone needing a bed for the night in this area of Australia, also we highly recommend the fish and chip shop which is a 3 minute walk away and the bottle shop attached to the Caldonian, between these two places we picked up a bottle of merlot and a lovely supper for less than $25 (around £16) which is a bit of a bargain in Australia at the moment.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 385 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in two rooms. The rooms were comfortable and clean. A few minutes from Robe centre and seafront. There are communal BBQ facilities (indoor). This owner run motel was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights on the way to Adelaide. The couple who run the place were great - very helpful. Rooms were exactly what we expected from looking at the website and were serviced to a high standard. I would definitely stay here again.

My only (very minor) complaint is that the free Wifi is only available form 8 am to 8pm a day - would be better if it was 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiencalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I would definately recommend to others with children to stay. Has a great indoor pool, if it rains it gives you something to do. There is a BBQ area (indoor) with a space invader machine and a television - so if you want to prepare meals its perfect. The rooms themselves are very dated, although neat and tidy they are in need of a refresh, but only in appearance. It has what you need, lovely beds with pillow that still have filling. The bathroom even has a little bath for children. Our only complaint is that the rooms could benefit from a little microwave and we were invaded by ants (but the room had bug spray). Robe is a lovely town, from this hotel you can walk everywhere. The service is the best we've seen for a long time, didn't matter our question the front desk was there to help. If you're going we found the hotels/pubs expensive for meals but there is a great pizza shop with really great food and reasonably priced. Coffee shops everywhere, but service would be great if it came with a smile. Icecream shop in the main street is also fantastic - try the Estonian Cake (different but very worthwhile). Overall hotel and town great, we will be back and will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zahrakosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Great location within walking distance to everything. Clean tidy rooms. Helpful service, good advice about things to see and where to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed for 1 night driving along the coast and were very pleasantly surprised. It's a lovely little place just outside the town. The rooms were nice and clean, the managemnt were helpful and pleasant, the pool very nice and free internet which so many bigger places charge you for. Robe is a lovely town and has some nice restaurants. on check in we were given a map with all the restaurants, beaches and other places of interest. Very helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

What a revelation. Robe was on our journey from Melbourne to Adelaide. Most guides give it a mention but not much else. We found the Robetown Motor Inn online and it looked ok. It was much better than we expected. It is set just on the edge of the town centre within easy walking distance of the centre. We had a 4 star queen room which had everything we needed and was much better than I expected. The owners were lovely, so friendly and helpful. They also have a pool and jacuzzi which was great after a day travelling. Robe itself is beautiful. The cliffs and beaches are stunning. I wish I had longer there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Robe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments

Address: 14 Main Rd, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $93 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Robetown Motor Inn & Apartments has a variety of family-friendly spacious motel rooms and apartments overlooking the beautiful township of Robe. All ground floor units, with reverse cycle air-conditioning and some with undercover car parking. All rooms & apartments have free Wi-Fi, flat screen LCD televisions, refrigerator, toaster, tea and coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, and hair dryer. Motel rooms include free Austar movies and sport while apartments are complete with DVD player and free movie hire. Our 2 and 3 bedroom apartments offer a full kitchen with electric cooktop, oven, and sink; while our 1 bedroom apartments feature a kitchenette with electric frypan. All apartments are equipped with microwave and all crockery & cutlery needs. A luxurious indoor heated swimming pool and separate heated spa and a modern indoor barbecue area with all facilities for large or small groups are available for all guests at no charge. Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments is only metres from the local supermarket and just a short stroll to beaches, the town centre shopping, hotels, restaurants, arts & crafts, boat harbour, walking trails and historical buildings. Surf, swim, ski, fish, play golf or just take in the picturesque village of Robe. Robe is the Gem of S.A. and we would love to help you enjoy it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robetown Hotel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing