We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Go Past It”
Review of Robe Bakery 1884

Robe Bakery 1884
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Robe
Price range: $4 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Our Team at Robe Bakery & Coffee Lounge are committed to offering our customers a speedy take-away service of generous, handmade, deliciously simple and gourmet foods using only quality ingredients baked fresh for you everyday. We believe in supporting our community, and we would love to hear your feedback to keep improving our personalized service.We appreciate your Patronage!
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Can't Go Past It”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

While some reviews have been a bit critical, we visit this Bakery every time we are in Robe. We have a bit of a cult following for the chocolate doughnuts, but then again the Citrus Tart wasn't bad either. The coffee was good too. We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank internetken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timboon, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice pies, uneven quality”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

While there were plenty of cakes on display, there weren't many pies left. I had steak and onion and it was really delicious anyway. The service was brisk to the point of rude and some of the cakes were good but some were overdone and very dry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilacoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“would have loved a good tarty apricot slice”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

a bit disappointing for a country bakery, although to be fair we were there mid week in winter.The bakery was clean with some tables and chairs for coffee or lunch. Didnt seem to be a huge range, but all the essentials were there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank theDteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food, poor customer service.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Having been to Robe before, I had heard good things about this bakery. They offer a large selection of pies, pasties, sausage rolls and cakes. Myself and my partner decided that we just wanted a plan pie, but all of the pies on the top rack were very brown, close to burnt, so we asked for a couple of pies from the bottom rack. This was fine and that is what we got.

The only problem was that the 2 staff members behind the counter did not stop talking to each other. They decided that their personal conversation was more important than communicating with their customers, this was just plain rude.

Other than this negative, the food was good and we would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good TA”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Took away a couple of good baguettes, freshly made on the spot, with a good standard of coffee,helpful and friendly staff.Recommend

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robe Bakery 1884 also viewed

Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 
Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 

Been to Robe Bakery 1884? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing