We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and modern room, wonderful breakfast, nice town.”
Review of Ann's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ann's Place
Ranked #1 of 8 Robe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Robe was originally for us just a stop between Melbourne and Adelaide, but it turned out to be an unexpected treat. Room was great. The breakfast granola/muesli was wonderful (so much so, that we asked for the recipe and have since made it; but not as well as our host had). Hosts Carolyn and Andrew were friendly but not overbearing—perfect innkeepers, in other words. My only regret is that we stayed only one night. Robe, BTW, has some fine restaurants.

Room Tip: All great. You cannot go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 168 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Carolyn and Andrew couldn't have been more welcoming. We had a glass of wine and a beer when we arrived tired and dusty, and noticed that they laid a table for another couple who were bringing back a take away - both lovely touches.
Our room was spacious and modern with a huge bathroom.
There is a lovely terrace with a view of the sea and a comfortable guest lounge with a great selection of books.
Breakfast was lovely; good quality bread and bacon and tea served in bone china. Perfect.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

On a recent trip to Australia and the southern coast, my wife and I stayed for 3 nights in Robe, one night on the way to the southern coast and two on the way back. We found Ann's place here on Tripadvisor and the reviews were good, so we decided to book. Robe is about halfway between most of the sights on the Great Ocean Road and Adelaide.

We were very impressed with Ann's Place. Ann's Place is a converted house with rooms in the main house and an addition with two additional rooms in an addition to the original house. The room we had was at the front of the B&B in the main part of the house.

The room was well appointed and very comfortable. We had a view of the bay from our room as well as a monument constructed on the circle. With the patio door of our room open, you can hear the waves cresting on the shore not more than 50 meters away.

The bed is a very comfortable queen with top of the line bedding and cozy sheets. Our room had all the usual expected amenities, not a single one in any state of disrepair let alone showing of age. The en-suite bath is large and can easily accommodate two adults passing back and forth. There is plenty of room for luggage and there are nice finishing touches which makes Ann's Place a treat; reading lights above the bed, an LCD TV placed conveniently in the corner with the appropriate number of channels, kettle with tea, bar fridge, etc..

The breakfasts are quite nice and filling and offer a selection which will satisfy any appetite. We had well prepared eggs with accompaniments like mushrooms and tomatoes. There was no stinginess demonstrated, and if anything, the portions were hearty with seconds on juice and coffee, no questions.

What really sets Ann's Place apart from other B&B's that we've stayed at are the owners, Carolyn and Andrew. The moment we arrived on the first night, after a long drive from Kangaroo Island, we were greeted with smiles and no pressure, and very nice cup of Earl Grey tea. We moved our luggage into our room and the tea was waiting in the sitting room. I neglected to mention that the sitting / breakfast room is very welcoming with comfortable couches, a nice gas fireplace and view through the front to the monument and the bay (same as our room).

Andrew and Carolyn go out of their way for their guests. At no time did we ever feel we were a burden, which we have experienced at some B&B's and at the end of our return stay, we felt as if we'd known the both of them for years. They don't make you feel as if you're just visitors, but rather as welcome guests in their home.

The place is very conveniently located a short walk away from restaurants and drinking establishments. They have a good relationship with the good eateries from what we observed and we had no difficulty getting reservations

Robe itself is not the biggest town in the area but it does have . It is a pleasant stop though for a couple nights when travelling the southern coast. It is only an hour away from some of the nicer attractions such as the Naracoorte caves, and is very close to Kingston and only a short drive to Mt Gambier and the Canunda Park.

If you're reading this review wondering where the negative aspects are, you won't find any. These are people who are operating a B&B, not as a business, but as a home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mongolovestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent the night here on our way to Melbourne.
The host were very welcoming and attentive, the accommodation was good and the breakfast great.
Well worth driving to coonawarra to visit the cellar doors and drive to Melbourne via the south Grampians is very pretty

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T1NT1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Such a lovely place, and such wonderful hosts. Couldn't do enough. Fantastic breakfast. This was a great start to our great ocean road trip from adelaide. We would definalety go back. If you can ask to stay in the room with the ocean view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed on the way from Melbourne to Adelaide.

Andrew and Carolyn were perfect hosts and our room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed.

On arrival, Andrew took the time to give us details of a walking tour around the shoreline to see the lighthouse and obelisk. And recommend a restaurant, Sails, for evening meal.

Breakfast was a delight and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting our fellow guests.

Our only regret...... we had time to stay just the one night. Next time we shall stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn D, Owner at Ann's Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

As we are now having a short Winter break, I would like to take the opportunity to thank everyone who has written a review for Ann's Place. We have been quite overwhelmed by your positive comments and because of you we have been awarded a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013. We were delighted! Thank you all so much!
We will be open again on September 1st and are very much looking forward to the new season and extending our hospitality to all our guests.
Best wishes,and thank you again.

Carolyn and Andrew Dowling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stopped for one night on the way to Adelaide. It was slow season for Robe, and we arrived rather late, and Carolyn was already on the phone to make sure we could get into their favorite restaurant. We had a lovely room with a sliding glass door with an Ocean view, enabling us to run out in our pajamas in the morning to take photos of the sunrise over the water. Delicious breakfasts and interesting, friendly host and hostess. Our off season price was a great deal! I loved that there was not the abundance of dusty knick knacks that plague some other B&B's.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Place

Address: 2 Royal Circus, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Robe
Hotel Class:3 star — Ann's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ann's Place boutique accommodation has been a favourite for many years because of its location in the heart of Old Robe Town, its lovely views of Guichen Bay and the hospitality of hosts Carolyn and Andrew Dowling. There are three ensuite rooms all with a fresh ,bright interior style and one with bay views and deck. The heart of Ann's Place is the sun drenched lounge and dining room with bay views, and it is here that a full breakfast is served. Home made and local in-season produce is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ann's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann`s Place Hotel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing