We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts, perfect position.”
Review of Ann's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ann's Place
Ranked #1 of 8 Robe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We could not ask for a better position in Robe.
Overlooking the bay, only 100 metres or so from the marina where the cray boats come in, and a short stroll to the main drag and great pubs and restaurants.
Spotless, tasteful rooms, hearty cooked breakfast, welcoming hosts, and a couple of lovely dogs to make us feel at home.
We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Upper rooms would probably have a nice view, but if you are only going to be there at night, the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandals246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn D, Owner at Ann's Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Yes, we are very lucky with our position - guests love to be able to leave their cars and walk everywhere.
We are a bit worried, however, about our dogs, Paddy and Snoopy, taking over. Sometimes we think they are more popular than we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Robe has a delightful holiday town kind of feel that reflects in Ann's Place. We were initially greeted by Paddy (one of the canine staff) who had set up camp in the road outside the property. We drove around him and quickly found the off road parking conveniently located near the entrance. Set the tone for a laid back and pleasant stay.

You can do as much or as little as you like In Robe. Explore the historic buildings, check out the shops and cafes, or go on a walk to the ocean beach (full directions from Carolyn) or just sit by the water and relax. The main shopping area is in reasonable walking distance.

Carolyn and Andrew make sure you have everything you need and then leave you to enjoy the lovely lounge area or do as you please. Our room was spacious and well furnished in a clean simple style. Everything seemed very new and fresh. All you could want is provided (including fitered water as apparently the local tap water is not pleasant to taste).

The breakfast room overlooks the water and is filled with wonderful sunshine in the morning. The sunny disposition is shared by the hosts and the food is definitely fresh - Andrew had to go to the shops to get tomoatoes that morning. Caroly made a point of introducing all the guests as they came in. Nice touch and added to the laid back and friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was cooked to order with home made baked beans amongst the generous and tasty offerings. Don't plan a big lunch for the same day.

Would definitely stay here again if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn D, Owner at Ann's Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of Ann's Place and your very kind comments. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to know that Paddy and Snoopy are still welcoming our guests and enjoying it every bit as much as we are! We would love to welcome you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Carolyn and Andrew are really lovely people and very quickly we felt totally at home. We booked the room with the sea view but all rooms are very well appointed. Great night's sleep and lovely breakfast.

We'll be back to Robe

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn D, Owner at Ann's Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we were delighted to hear you felt "at home". That is just how we want people to feel, so it was high praise indeed!



We took over Ann's Place on July 1st 2011, so the last 12 months have been very hectic and a steep learning curve. To those people who took the time to write some wonderful comments,"Thank you so much". We have appreciated each and every one of them.
Carolyn and Andrew Dowling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed with Carolyn and Andrew for one night and it was the highlight of our week away. Their hospitality, not to mention the fabulous breakfast, was second to none. Located at the end of the street, its in walking distance to everything
Robe is a beautiful spot to roam around in for a couple of days, and the walking tracks are superb!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

If you are planning to visit Robe there can be no better place to stay. Carolyn and Andrew are excellent and attentive hosts, and the accommodation is first rate and the location could not be bettered. There is adequate and private off street parking and the residents lounge is equipped with all you could need.
Breakfast is a gourmet treat freshly prepared for you.

Room Tip: If you are just a couple try to get room number one which has a decking area overlooking the sea, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in late March at Ann's Place and would have loved to stay longer. In fact, we tried originally to book 3 nights but unfortunately it was booked out so we had to settle for 2 nights. We had the front room with the terrace and the view over the ocean, and it was very comfortable. Carolyn and Andrew are great hosts and made us feel at home from the moment we arrrived until we left. The lounge room is very comfortable and Carolyn's chocolate cake and yo yo's are delicious. Breakfasts were also great and we were sorry to say goodbye when we left.

I would highly recommend Ann's Place and if we ever return to Robe, we will defintely be returning to this welcoming B&B.

Room Tip: We had the front room which was sunny and bright and had a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Carolyn and Andrew were lovely hosts and gave us lots of information about Robe. The room was very spacious, pleasant and had some outside space with a view of the sea, there was also a communal lounge. Breakfast was delicious. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunes at Robe
Dunes at Robe
#5 of 14 in Robe
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Place

Address: 2 Royal Circus, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Robe
Hotel Class:3 star — Ann's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ann's Place boutique accommodation has been a favourite for many years because of its location in the heart of Old Robe Town, its lovely views of Guichen Bay and the hospitality of hosts Carolyn and Andrew Dowling. There are three ensuite rooms all with a fresh ,bright interior style and one with bay views and deck. The heart of Ann's Place is the sun drenched lounge and dining room with bay views, and it is here that a full breakfast is served. Home made and local in-season produce is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ann's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann`s Place Hotel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing