We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great takeaway service”
Review of Don's Kitchen - CLOSED

Don's Kitchen
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 'Don's Kitchen' formerly known as 'Dragon Village Chinese Restaurant'. Now comes with a new looks and ambiance to boost your experience of the authentic taste of your favorite Chinese and Malaysian cuisine prepared with unique, original flavors by a true-blooded Chinese-Malaysian Chef Don Tan.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great takeaway service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were originally going to eat in, but the extra price made us decide to go with the take away option. The service was quick and efficient. The food was delicious and very filling, very well priced. Would get take away from here in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Team A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Staff at Don's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for the patronage and review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food but tiny, overpriced serves”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We dined in a group of 6. Ordered 6 mains, rice and dim sims for entree. We *think* the food may have been good, but it was hard to tell as we only got about 1 tablespoon serve of each dish per person. There were no second helpings! At $21+ per main we all agreed that the value wasn't very good and we eat out as a group and share dishes quite a bit at Asian restaurants . The service wasn't that great either - we had to go to the bar to order drinks after waiting for quite a while for service. After they'd taken our initial food & drink orders they seemed to forget about us.The butter pepper prawns were the highlight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NNY264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, General Manager at Don's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
HI there,

Thanks for letting us know and our apologies for not been able to provide you a full satisfaction during your patronage, our price are high because the restaurant are far out from city which lead to supplies are expensive to bring into the town. Also sorry about our service that have caused you to come to the bar yourself, we would definitely improve on that, thanks for letting me know again.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food and service, plus local wines”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wanted a meal that wasn't either formal or heavy, and Don's Malaysian restaurant seemed like a good bet. And it was.

Every dish was pleasant and nicely cooked and the service was good throughout the meal. For me, though, the highlight was the range of VERY reasonably priced local wines, with most under $30 a bottle: the Cape Jaffa blend we had was, as anticipated, excellent.

You're in Robe but you don't want seafood or pizza? Go to Don's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacomb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, General Manager at Don's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you very much for visited Don's Kitchen, We are so glad to make the right decision
to keep the good wine in a reasonable price range for most people to able to experience our local limestone coast wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My pet hate in a restaurant is a staffer using a table for personal reasons while you are eating. Makes you feel like you're intruding. The meals were good except my fried ice cream which was still frozen and the sizzling beef was a bit tough. Décor was good and seating comfortable and well spaced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurtVuorela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Don's Kitchen, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Customer

we are so sorry to know that you are satisfied with our services as we truly apologize for this experience that have occur to you time with us. I am sorry about also the tough beef that was served, and the fried ice-cream, the fried ice-cream was meant to be frozen, what is fried/cooked is actually the outside battered layer for only for less than a minute to be cook from the outside and still remain ice-cream in the inside.

We apologize for our service again, please don't hesitate to let us know anything that we can be a much better services.

Warm regards,
Don's Kitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just plain amazing!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

They serve the most delicious and authentic Malaysian cuisines in Robe. Great service as well! Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Kitchen also viewed

Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 
Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 
Robe, South Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing