We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our trip from Sydney to Adelaide. Great location, walk to everything robe offers. Robe a lovely town, only wish we could have stayed another night. Bed was the most comfortable we had slept in on our travels, of all the best westerns we stayed in including a very modern/new one in Victoria. Martin and his wife very friendly and helpful, DVD library is amazing even if we didnt get to use it. All the latest films. Room although small was adequate for our stay, very clean and stocked with essentials. Would recommend it highly and have done so. Would definitely return if we get back to oz again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi susannejj, Thank you for your lovely review of our property we really appreciate it & we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We try very hard to keep up the maintenance & the cleanliness of our rooms & we obviously succeeded in your case. We are in a great position in Robe being a short walk to all the restaurants & the beach. Our DVD library is a great hit especially for those days when the weather is inclement. Once again thank you & we hope we see you again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

I can see the owner works very hard to maintain the upkeep of this motel it must be a nightmare
but he's is doing a fantastic job

I stayed in a standard double BUT lets call a spade a spade,its very old,the room was very small and the bathroom is a joke. To even be considered any more than 3 stars is a joke
Are we talking value for money here or because its very very clean and the manager is a nice bloke
Any accommodation should be very clean weather its $70 or $270 per night
I consider the $120 per night is way over priced for the standard room

My beef is that a Best Western 3 plus star rating motel should not be made out to be something it's not

All the best to the owner/manager I can see you work very hard to keep the place in the best condition possible
I will NOT be contacting Best Western

Room Tip: NOT value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hi olmate, Thank you for your review of our motel. Best Western has absolutely nothing to do with the Star Rating of a property. This is independently carried out by AAA Tourism on behalf of the motoring bodies. Our assessment by them was done in March this year & we maintained our 3.5 star rating. We know we have an old motel & as the lessee of the buildings we are at the mercy of our landlord for major improvements to the property. All we can do is maintain & ensure the cleanliness which you acknowledge.
As far as the price of the room is concerned we are comparable with the other motels in Robe. Whilst it is labelled a "Standard" room it has more in it than most other standard rooms. i.e. Queen bed, two seater lounge, table & chairs, microwave, electric jug, toaster, mugs, bowls, plates ,knives, forks spoons, water glasses and wine glasses as well as Reverse cycle air conditioning, electric blanket on the bed, 25 channels of TV plus a DVD player. There is also a Free DVD library with over 400 DVD's and Free WIFI to all rooms and we are in arguably the best position in Robe with only a short walk to restaurants & the beach. Most of our guests consider that great value for $120. Cheers Martin Stanley
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived on a squally wet afternoon, something not unusual for Robe we believe. The manager was friendly and amusing and suggested a DVD from his library as a good way to spend a rainy evening. We were amazed to find some of the very latest films, including one we particularly wanted to see.

He showed us personally to the room which was large, very well equipped with an extensive kitchen area and good bathroom. We bought a roast chicken, frozen veg and chips in the local store and had a good meal. Then, pulling up the sofa in front of the TV, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Melaleuca.

Next morning the weather was glorious and Robe looked a different place. We spent time walking around the headland and only reluctantly got into the car to continue our journey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi David M, Thank you for your great review of our mote it is really appreciated. Our DVD library is just the thing for those wild & woolly nights we sometimes get in Robe. We do show each guest to their room & show them how everything works in the room. We believe this personalised service sets us apart from the other accommodation properties in Robe. The walk around the headland is one of the icons of Robe and shouldn't be missed as the views are sensational. We thank you once again & hope you enjoyed your stay in our country.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved our stay in Robe. This motel is well located. It was the cleanest, best maintained, best equipped place that we stayed in. The apartment was a good size and we had access to a free DVD library. On site laundry was helpful. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi ColleenK, Thank you for your great review of our motel. As has been said before our apartments are a great size & we strive hard to maintain our cleanliness & maintenance of them. We hope you enjoyed your holiday in our lovely part of the world & we do hope to see you again.
kind regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

LAst stop on the road from Melbourne to Adelaide and by far the best.
Great location right in the middle of town with the beach and the shops/restaurants 2 minutes walk away.
Room was very clean and comfortable and perfect for our overnighter. Great selection of DVDs , free WIFI and the on site laundry was a great help halfway through the trip.
Manager Martin was very welcoming, funny and full of good local knowledge.
The circular walk around the coast is well worth the effort.
Didn't have breakfast due to good choices in town.
Lovely place, great location and excellent value plus personal service.
As for Martin, I owe him a dollar as he is old enough to be my father.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi sl43, Thank you for your great review of our motel. As you say we have a great location within 2-3 minutes of shops, beach restaurants. Our laundry is a great setup with two washing machines & the tumble dryer only costing $1 to use. There are even clothes lines out the back to make doing the washing even cheaper. Our DVD library consists of over 400 movies and there are over 100 children's movies as well. Incidentally I'll collect the $1 next time you come!!
Cheers & kind regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went to Robe and had originally booked another motel. We good there and wernt happy and left. Martin kindly gave us a room (where we had relatives staying) which was clean, spacious and tidy. Martin and his wife were very welcoming and helpful. Has a lovely area for a BBQ.
Highly recommend to anyone staying in Robe!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 135LisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi 135LisaS
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our motel. It was unfortunate that the other motel that you booked was unsatisfactory & we were more than happy to help out. We do have a lovely lawned area & BBQ's which are great for groups to get together for a drink etc. Thanks once again & we hope to see you again
Kind regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well, considering Australian standard, this place is probably the best option to stay some days in Robe. It is very well located, close to the beach, port and city centre. Our room was really big, with a full kitchen, private spa and it was really clean. The building is a little old, but everything is working. The only problem we had was the poor quality of the (free) WiFi connection, but this was probably not fault of the property but the internet provider. The manager was absolutely friendly, helpful and professional with us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi Morolian, Thank you very much for your review of our motel. Yes it is an old building but as far as cleanliness & maintenance is concerned we believe we achieve a very high standard. Our apartments are very large as you mentioned and there is a full kitchen in each of them. We have had a few issues with our free wifi but we believe that we now have that ok. Thanks once again.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
24.1 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melaleuca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melaleuca Motel

Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia (Formerly Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $89 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Melaleuca Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Melaleuca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing