We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Manager but let down by Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Manager but let down by Best Western”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Adelaide. The pictures and reviews had been good, but we were very disappointed.

Our room (a studio) didn't look anything like the pictures. It came straight from the 1970's. Painted block walls. Dreary and drab. Brown wood everywhere. Somewhere where we didn't want to spend any time. The "bathroom" was cupboard sized with a door in the middle, a toilet at one end and a shower at the other. You could barely turn round in it.

On the plus side, It offered all the facilities we needed plus a laundry with outside clothes line. Laundry was $1 a load.

The Manager was wonderful. Friendly, helpful, and cheery. It's such a pity that Best Western don't appreciate their staff and spend some money re-decorating the place.

It would have rated 2 stars but the Manager made it a 3. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi RosinaK, Thank you for your review of our motel. The room you have described is one of our standard rooms & not a Studio. The photos of the rooms on our website are exactly what the rooms look like as I took the photos myself & you can see that they are painted brick. Our building is very old but we keep it well maintained and it is spotlessly clean. You must have been wearing dark glasses in the room because it is actually quite bright & not dreary at all according to all the other Trip Advisor reviews we have received.. We admit that the bathroom is small but it's adequate & again is spotlessly clean. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations but I believe we shine in the areas of hospitality & cleanliness which is what most people want. Thank you for your kind words about my style.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    95
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
174
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I recently had 3 wonderful days in Robe, South Australia. Our accommodation was adequate, and the staff were fabulous. They took the time to suggest interesting walks for us and we were happy to find fresh milk in the fridge - so much better then the pretend stuff!!!! even better was the instant coffee - thank God it wasn't that awful cheap brand. We felt welcomed and the rooms were comfy enough for us to get a great nights sleep each night. We will definately return to this glorious part of South Australia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Taniman, Thank you for your great review of our property. We do try hard to make our guests comfortable and having real milk and decent coffee helps. We do hope to see you again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at this motel on a holiday to Australia four years ago so when my itinerary took me back to the lovely little town of Robe it was the obvious place for me to stay again. Remarkably, Martin, the proprietor, remembered me (which makes me wonder what I did wrong the last time I was there!) and made me feel very welcome indeed. My room was clean and had everything I needed.

I took Martin's advice about a place to eat and was not disappointed - Vic Street Pizza produced one of the best pizzas I have ever had.

I look forward to my next visit to Robe and to this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi wakegreen, Thank you for your lovely review of our place & it was great to see you come back to us. We try very hard to welcome guests to our motel & remembering people is not easy but in many cases some people just "click". We do hope to see you again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Martin and Trudy are delightful and very helpful. Accommodation was great and the laundry arrangements excellent, some of the easiest on our trip, our first visit to Australia from the UK. Free use of internet and a computer to use was brilliant. In these days of electronic technology wi fi was available everywhere, but not often do places have a computer.

Robe is also a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Jennifer K, Thank you for your great review of our motel. We do pride ourselves on our guest laundry which only costs $1 to use a machine. Our free wifi & Free internet cafe is also a plus particularly for our international guests. Thanks once again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The welcome we received after a long drive was uplifting. Martin happily showed us to our apartment, and showed us how everything worked.
A large fresh milk was supplied, a first for us!
Everything was clean and we enjoyed a great nights sleep.
The walk Martin recommended was completed next morning after checkout, just wished we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi She1971, Thank you very much for your great review of our motel. We think it's important to give fresh milk for our guests because that is what we like ourselves & for the few extra cents it costs it's better to give a 600ml container rather than a 375ml. Last year we won a Best Western
Quality Award for the cleanliness & maintenance of our rooms. The walk I sent you on I believe is one of the icons of Robe & is well worthwhile. Thanks once again for your review & we hope to see you again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

the room was great - comfortable with good facilities including a laundry. the staff were freat - really helpful with lots of advice about places t o shop and eat. Quiet spot so easy to relax. good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi tcauUkVulcan, Thank you for your great review of our property. We think it's important to make guests feel comfortable & to let them know what's available in the town to enable them to enjoy their stay. We are in arguably the best position in Robe as we are not on the main road but are so close to all facilities. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Best service that I have ever received at a motel, everything was explained - they even accompanied us to the room to show where everything was located, gave advice on local restaurants (and which ones to avoid) etc.
My partner lost her earring in the room and they called us after we departed and posted it out promptly - thanks very much :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi booyak, Thank you for the review of our motel & for the compliment on our service. We try very hard to give all of our guests superior service so that they remember us. We do hope to see you again. Cheers & kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
60 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melaleuca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melaleuca Motel

Property: Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia (Formerly Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Melaleuca Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Melaleuca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing