We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in Best Western Melaleuca on our way to Melbourne and really enjoyed our stay. Reception was very friendly and provided a map of area. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable with fridge, kettle, kitchenware and a microwave. Each room has an allocated parking space and our space was a car port which kept car out of the sun so was nice and cool.
We used the free DVD service which passed the time in the late evening once we had dinner. Would recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacq J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi Jacq J
Thank you for your review of our motel it is much appreciated. The room you stayed in was one of our standard rooms and as you say it had a microwave, kettle toaster ans well as mugs, bowls, plates knives forks & spoons. Our free DVD library has over 400 DVD's and it was one of the best things for our guests. Thank you once again & we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 279 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed one night in Robe and found it to be a friendly and picturesque little town .The Apartment that we booked was really more of a two bedroom motel room and very dated but exceptionally clean and proved to be a comfortable nights stay.The host was very friendly and helpful.Free Wi Fi had limited coverage in the room but OK if we sat outside.
Probably a little overpriced compared to other places we satyed on our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutz067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi nutz067, Thank you for your review of our motel. The room you stayed in was actually a two bedroom fully self contained apartment with a full size refrigerator and a full kitchen. We agree that the motel buildings are a little dated but we have repainted all rooms and as you say it was exceptionally clean. Unfortunately our landlord is not prepared to spend the money in upgrading rooms. We are surprised that you had a problem with our free wifi as the recption is normally quite good in all rooms. As far as pricing we are competitive with other motels in the town. We are pleased that you had a comfortable nights stay. Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were driving from Melbourne to Adelaide in November, making several stops on the way to Adelaide. Since we were disappointed with one in pt.Fairy, we didn't expect too much when we check in at this motel, but we had positive surprise when we opened the door of our room which was pastel colored super clean room that's so spacious! They also had a guest laundry with washing machine & tumbler with complimentary washing powder. A perfect place to have a good night's sleep for a travelers like us, driving 300-400 km everyday. There were a good Chinese restaurant (offers discount for the motel guest) next to the property. Our room had a kitchenette but we did not cook. The fridge, with a small size fresh milk for breakfast tea already in it, was very convenient. If I had known the motel is such an exceptional accommodation, I would have stayed two nights at this motel and change our driving plan differently.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi KS52
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our property. We are pleased that you found it to be just right for you. We are quite proud of our guest laundry which is set up for the traveller with free washing liquid and only $1 to use the machines. There are clothes lines behind the laundry where guests can actully hang out their clothes instead of paying to tumble dry them. We hope you enjoyed your holiday in our lovely country & if you come again we do hope you stay with us again.
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed here before and always have thoroughly enjoyed our stays. This trip was no exception and we enjoyed the newly painted and curtained apartment which has a functional kitchen included. Extreme cleanliness as always.
The management remain the nicest host and hostess we have experienced in our extensive travels around Australia and which one is the boss I am not sure, but they work well as a team and are thoroughly professional.
Robe is a lovely destination and this motel offers the ultimate in comfort and value.

Room Tip: Room 11 is "our" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hi John S
Thank you for your great review of our property and it is always a pleasure to have you and Judith stay with us. You have been staying with us since 2007 when we first took over the motel and we always enjoy the repartee as well as a drink with you both. You certainly would have noticed the improvements that we have made over the years as we continually strive to be the best that we can. I have to tell you that Trudy is really the boss even though she allows me to have the title. We look forward to seeing you both again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We chose this motel because of all the great Trip Advisor reviews and we are very glad we did. We stayed for 2 nights in a Studio room which was quite large and had absolutely everything we needed. The full size fridge was a bonus as was the free internet. Martin the manager was extremely helpful and a bit of a card. The motel's location is great, walking distance to everything but nice and quiet as well. The thing that struck me most about this place was how clean the room was. I've stayed in 5 star hotels in capital cities that were nowhere near as clean as this. Robe is a lovely place and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dantom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hi Dantom33, thank you for your great review of our property. Trudy is in charge of the rooms and is quite pedantic about cleanliness which is a credit to her and our housekeeping staff. The studio apartments are really spacious and with a full kitchen makes peoples stay even more enjoyable. I have never been called a "card" and I appreciate the compliment. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again.
kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

All around the country, motels are becoming old and run down, this has forced us to make sure we do a room check before we agree to staying. After visiting a few motel rooms in Robe, it was an immediate yes as soon as we walked in to the Melaleuca Motel room. It was spacious, light and airy, the bed covers were modern and colorful and most of all there was no chemical smell trying to hide other smells ( seems to be the norm in a lot of motels) It was a bonus there was cutlery and crockery for light snacks, and a microwave. And then more of a bonus was free internet, free fox tv and a great selection of free DVD's to choose from. The host Martin is a treasure, he is very welcoming and gives a good run down on how things operate. We were given some restaurant advice, on asking, this included a voucher for 2 free wines at a lovely Italian restaurant and 10% off at the local Chinese on sighting your motel key.
All of this and we were only staying one night! We will definitely be back to stay at Robe for a longer stay, and will most certainly be checking in at the Melaleuca Motel. Karen & Ron

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaza232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hi Kaza232323
Thank you for the great review you gave our property we really appreciate it. We do try hard to make people feel at home and showing how things work in a room helps in this. The two restaurants you mentioned support us by giving discounts/free drinks as they really understand where their business comes from. It's a pity a few of the other cafes & restaurants didn't do the same. We do hope to see you again and you can be assured that we will look after you.
Kindest regtards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

On our recent stay here there are some good points and bad points that I feel other travellers should be made aware of before booking;
Firstly the good points; upon arrival we were greeted very warmly and given a quick concise breakdown of what there was surrounding the hotel and given a map. We were then personally escorted to the room and explained where to park the car, and also we were given 6 hours free internet. The room was clean, the decor was a little dated but a modern tv and dvd player, with free dvds to rent at reception. This was all overridden when we were told there was NO RUNNING DRINKING WATER in the room and were told there was a pitcher of rain water for the kettle in the fridge and if we needed anymore to use the tap outside. Myself or members of my family, who have travelled extensively throughout the world have never experienced this outside of a campsite, and for $198 a night (which on the website we were told it was a 'deal' because we booked so far ahead) all thought this was a bit ridiculous. The only drinking water in the room was part of the mini bar that we would be charged for. We ended up going to the local food land and picking up 10litres of drinking water for under $4. If this had been included with room we would have been happier. Also there was a notice to say that all washing up must be done otherwise there would be a $25 fine and again paying almost $200 for the night was a bit petty. Also the dishcloths provided were defiantly not new which we found to be quite unhygienic. In summary very friendly service but overly expensive for what you get, will not be returning when we do the great ocean road again or recommending

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HospitalityTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi Hospitality Trave11er
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate the opportunity to improve our service to our guests as we strive to ensure they have a memorable stay in Robe.
Unfortunately in your case our communication of the drinking water in your room clearly needs improvement. Whilst my wife (Trudy) points out to all guests that the tap water within the room is perfectly safe to drink. We also advise there is our own fresh rain water in the 2 litre jug in the fridge which is filtered twice and has a UV scanner to kill 99.9% of the bacteria, and can be refilled from a tap outside of your room. The option is yours as to which you prefer to use. However there is definitely drinking water on taps inside all rooms’ at Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments. We have come to realize that our International guests are not accustomed to using our Australian fresh rain water. Therefore we need to change how we introduce the water to our guests in future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The kitchen sponges are rinsed in hot water and antibacterial detergent after each use, so they are safe to use. When they are stained or marked we replace them with new sponges. However again we are looking at an alternative to this so there will be a new cloth for use each time.
Our prices are kept at an affordable level due to the signage over the kitchen sink, asking all guests to do the right thing and wash their dishes. We have seen this on our travels so it is not new to the accommodation industry and Apartments with self catering kitchens.
Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
24.1 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melaleuca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melaleuca Motel

Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia (Formerly Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $82 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Melaleuca Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Melaleuca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing