We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A refreshing change”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Torquay, Australia
1 review
“A refreshing change”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

All around the country, motels are becoming old and run down, this has forced us to make sure we do a room check before we agree to staying. After visiting a few motel rooms in Robe, it was an immediate yes as soon as we walked in to the Melaleuca Motel room. It was spacious, light and airy, the bed covers were modern and colorful and most of all there was no chemical smell trying to hide other smells ( seems to be the norm in a lot of motels) It was a bonus there was cutlery and crockery for light snacks, and a microwave. And then more of a bonus was free internet, free fox tv and a great selection of free DVD's to choose from. The host Martin is a treasure, he is very welcoming and gives a good run down on how things operate. We were given some restaurant advice, on asking, this included a voucher for 2 free wines at a lovely Italian restaurant and 10% off at the local Chinese on sighting your motel key.
All of this and we were only staying one night! We will definitely be back to stay at Robe for a longer stay, and will most certainly be checking in at the Melaleuca Motel. Karen & Ron

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaza232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi Kaza232323
Thank you for the great review you gave our property we really appreciate it. We do try hard to make people feel at home and showing how things work in a room helps in this. The two restaurants you mentioned support us by giving discounts/free drinks as they really understand where their business comes from. It's a pity a few of the other cafes & restaurants didn't do the same. We do hope to see you again and you can be assured that we will look after you.
Kindest regtards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    90
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
168
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

On our recent stay here there are some good points and bad points that I feel other travellers should be made aware of before booking;
Firstly the good points; upon arrival we were greeted very warmly and given a quick concise breakdown of what there was surrounding the hotel and given a map. We were then personally escorted to the room and explained where to park the car, and also we were given 6 hours free internet. The room was clean, the decor was a little dated but a modern tv and dvd player, with free dvds to rent at reception. This was all overridden when we were told there was NO RUNNING DRINKING WATER in the room and were told there was a pitcher of rain water for the kettle in the fridge and if we needed anymore to use the tap outside. Myself or members of my family, who have travelled extensively throughout the world have never experienced this outside of a campsite, and for $198 a night (which on the website we were told it was a 'deal' because we booked so far ahead) all thought this was a bit ridiculous. The only drinking water in the room was part of the mini bar that we would be charged for. We ended up going to the local food land and picking up 10litres of drinking water for under $4. If this had been included with room we would have been happier. Also there was a notice to say that all washing up must be done otherwise there would be a $25 fine and again paying almost $200 for the night was a bit petty. Also the dishcloths provided were defiantly not new which we found to be quite unhygienic. In summary very friendly service but overly expensive for what you get, will not be returning when we do the great ocean road again or recommending

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalityTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi Hospitality Trave11er
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate the opportunity to improve our service to our guests as we strive to ensure they have a memorable stay in Robe.
Unfortunately in your case our communication of the drinking water in your room clearly needs improvement. Whilst my wife (Trudy) points out to all guests that the tap water within the room is perfectly safe to drink. We also advise there is our own fresh rain water in the 2 litre jug in the fridge which is filtered twice and has a UV scanner to kill 99.9% of the bacteria, and can be refilled from a tap outside of your room. The option is yours as to which you prefer to use. However there is definitely drinking water on taps inside all rooms’ at Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments. We have come to realize that our International guests are not accustomed to using our Australian fresh rain water. Therefore we need to change how we introduce the water to our guests in future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The kitchen sponges are rinsed in hot water and antibacterial detergent after each use, so they are safe to use. When they are stained or marked we replace them with new sponges. However again we are looking at an alternative to this so there will be a new cloth for use each time.
Our prices are kept at an affordable level due to the signage over the kitchen sink, asking all guests to do the right thing and wash their dishes. We have seen this on our travels so it is not new to the accommodation industry and Apartments with self catering kitchens.
Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff here were very helpful and very knowledgeable about the restaurants in the area as well as tourist sites to visit. Loved the upgraded rooms, very spacious with a kitchenette too. Our bed was very comfy and it was great to have a single bed on which to put our extra suitcase. The continental breakfast was brought to our room in the evening, so we could have it when it suited us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi fwemhall,
Thank you very much for your review of our motel we really appreciate it. We do try hard to please our guests and I suppose by repainting & with new curtains certainly lift the room. Our apartments actually have a full kitchen rather than a kitchenette whilst our standard rooms have a microwave, electric kettle and toaster. All of our rooms have crockery, cutlery etc. Thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 night and we could have stayed longer time permitting. It was a pleasure to have a professional operating the facility who knew the town, restaurants as well as the surrounding area extremely well. Martin's advice made the visit memorable.
The rooms were very clean and tidy as well as the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask advice from Martin and ascertain your need for kitchen facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobr5688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi kobr5688,
Well what can one say except thank you for such a great review. As you noted we try really hard to ensure all our guests have a great stay at our place. It makes a difference to the stay when people are here for more than one night as we get the opportunity to have a good yarn. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late afternoon after long drive from Port Fairy. We were warmly welcomed by Martin and Trudy who had realised we were travelling with another couple and had placed us in adjoining rooms. Martin showed us to our rooms and demonstrated how to operate air con etc. The room was large with double and single beds, sofa, table and chairs. Kitchenette had fridge/freezer, microwave, cooker, toaster and kettle along with crockery/cutlery. Comfortable bed, extremely clean and very homely. We made use of the guest laundry with complimentary detergent. The garden was lovely to sit in and enjoy a cup of tea and TimTams. A really lovely welcoming place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Grandmafrog,
Thank you kindly for your lovely review of our motel. As you say we have free detergent for our laundry & by giving this to our guests it ensures that our machines do not get clogged up with the various powders etc. It also is a bonus for our guests. The small charge of $1 per wash or dry helps to pay for the electricity & water used. We are proud of our cleanliness & only this year we won an international award from Best Western for the Cleanliness & maintenance of our rooms.
Our lawned area and BBQ is a great place to sit out and enjoy the sunshine particularly with summer approaching. You are also correct in suggesting that one night isn't enough in our lovely little town.
All the best and thank you once again for your review.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were met by Martin and Trudy and were immediately made to feel very welcome. A personal touch to be shown to our rooms and have everything explained to us. The rooms were very well equipped with oven, microwave, toaster etc and pots and pans so had we been staying a little longer would have been ideal for a bit of self catering. Great for toast in the morning and making up our picnic. There are a few other motels we have stayed in that could do with taking a few lessons from Martin and Trudy. If ever we pass through Robe again this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r05amund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi r05amund,
Thank you so much for your great review of our motel. We try very hard to make people feel at home and taking guests to their room and explaining how everything works is part of that. we do hope to see you again one day.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spent 1 night in Robe, just a stop on our way from Melbourne to Kangaroo island.
Good compromise between price and amanities. The guy at the recption was very helpfull and nice. The laundry service we needed was really good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giotto79Perugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi giotto79Perugia
Thank you for your review of our motel & apartments. We do have a very good laundry which only costs $1 per wash and $1 per dryer. We even have a clotheline out the back of the laundry where guests may hang out their washing. Our laundry gets used extensively by our international guests as it is much cheaper than the majority of other places.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope that you enjoyed your time in our country.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 8 in Robe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#8 of 8 in Robe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melaleuca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melaleuca Motel

Property: Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia (Formerly Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Melaleuca Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Melaleuca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing