We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Nearby Hotels
Guichen Bay Motel(Robe)(Great Value!)
$72
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel(Robe)(Great Value!)
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
124
114
48
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
114
48
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest laundrychinese restaurantfull kitchenand free wi fione night stopoverbeds were comfortablemodern bathroomoff street parkingthe location is perfectlovely gardenlocal attractionssouth australiagave us a mapqueen bedmain streetdriving the great ocean roadan overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 303 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Melaleuca Motel at Robe has a lot of qualities that make a stay worthwhile. The owner is a fantastic guy who really seems to know what being a motel host is all about. The rooms aren't overly spacious and the property isn't one of the newest but it offers good value and location to make it most worthwhile. On overnight stops, for us anyway, the must haves are a comfortable bed, low light intrusion and minimal road/street noise all the ingredients to provide good sleep quality. All ticks with Melaleuca. Walking distance to the Robe dining options is a big plus (5 mins). Robe Hotel is just far enough away over the road for a quiet and pleasant drink overlooking the water. The motel room was clean and well appointed with the only small detractor being that the bathroom is pretty pokey and we wondered how an elderly or disabled guest would get on. Witnessing the owner's approach to his business and attention to our comfort and well being I'm sure there woul be a room option suited to guests requiring more room or better bathroom access. Overall Robe is great. This motel is very good and a good value accomodation option. Happy to recommend or stay again if over this way

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi Austin-Powers63
Thank you very much for your review of our motel. Yes we admit the bathrooms are small in our motel rooms but as you say we have many other options. You are right in saying the motel is a little dated but unfortunately we only own the lease and we have a landlord who does not want to spend money on the property regardless of how much we ask. Our main priority is to work with what we've got and ensure that our cleanliness and hospitality is second to none. We appreciate the time you have taken for this review and we hope to see you again. If ever you come again please refresh my memory about this review and we would be happy to offer a free upgrade.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Personable & professional hosts who are highly skilled at delivering comfortable & hygienic accommodation and exceptional service at a most reasonable price. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for these friendly hoteliers who have managed to provide "a home away from home" feel to the accommodation on offer, even down to the jug of chilled rainwater in the fridge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi Julee14,
Thank you for the glowing review of our property we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. One thing I need to say is that our rainwater passes through two filters and an ultra violet scanner so that it is excellent to drink without fear. We do try very hard to make people feel at home and it's great that we succeeded in your case. We hope to see you again.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This Motel is in a nice location one street back from the sea front. There are allocated parking spots for each room although some are not directly next to the rooms but not far away. There is a guest laundry and charges are $1 for a wash and $1 for a dry. The rooms are spacious with a full cooker including an oven plus microwave and toaster. Our room had a spa bath and shower over, one queen bed and one single. We had a large dining table in the centre of the room. This is a nice quiet location but TV and conversation noise from our neighbours could be heard in our room possibly because we had a connecting door? The hosts were very welcoming and gave us maps and highlighted walks and restaurants in town. They have a large collection of DVDs available at reception to borrow. On check in we were shown to room and all the facilities explained to us which was a nice personal touch..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi John117
Thank you so much for your review of our motel. Thank you for pointing out the noise level from the room next door. We will put some noise dampening material between the doors. You have very nicely pointed out all the good things about our place which we appreciate. Thank you once again & we hope you enjoyed your trip to Australia.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were greeted on arrival and shown personally to our room, we were given detailed instruction on how to operate the TV and air conditioning. The room was clean and tidy with plenty of room, one slight disadvantage for us was that to use the shower you had to step into the spa bath and this was difficult due to my disability. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well. The recommended Chinese restaurant was superb, but p,ease remember to book as they were full and turning people away. Generally of a good standard and worth staying at.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soryar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hi Soryar,
Thank you for your review of our property. Ros I did notice your disability and did offer you another room but you told me that you would have no trouble with the bath as Ray would help you. We feel that the heading of your review was a bit harsh. As this is an apartment & not a motel room all we ask is that people do their dishes which surely isn't a hardship. We always check the crockery, cutlery , pot & pans and nearly all the time we need to rewash & dry these items in order to maintain our standards. It is however easier to rewash items rather than having them left dirty.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday in our lovely country.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Trudy and her husband were lovely and welcoming. Staying here was a last minute decision and we only gave them 30 minutes notice. However they had turned on the heaters in our nice and comfortable 2 bedroom apartment - this was really appreciated as it had got quite chilly and we were wearing light clothing.
There were so many little special touches here - glad wrap and al-foil to wrap leftover food, plus soft drinks and snacks available for purchase.
Their recommendation for dinner - Sails - was superb . If you visit Robe you MUST go to this restaurant, tremendous value and quality. Just remember in the off season that, if you want lobster, you have to pre-order it before 2.00pm. The platters are really good value and give you a chance to sample lots of little bits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotravellers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi twotravellers79,
Thank you so much for the great review you have given our property. Trudy & I try very hard to make people feel at home by giving all the little touches that you mention. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again. Thanks once more.
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews