We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice motel in central location”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a long drive to reach Robe but on arrival the reception was very welcoming. The weather was poor that day so what better than a couple of good DVDs? There is a huge selection available, free of charge and we would recommend the hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColnPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Hi ColnPam
Thanks for staying with us and giving your review of our property. As you mentioned we have an excellent range of FREE DVD's to borrow & in fact there are over 400 including some of the latest ones. We hope to see you again one day
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    95
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
174
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The BW Melaleuca Motel is well located near the centre of Robe on a quiet road with very little traffic noise, only 2 mins walk from shops and restaurants.
It is a standard single-storey motel property, not new, with free off-street parking and direct front door entry to each unit. There is a lawn to the rear of the property with garden tables and chairs for the use of guests. There is no on-site restaurant.
Our room was an average sized unit with a queen bed, sofa, table and two chairs. There was a cramped ensuite shower room with a rickety sliding door which had no lock and did not close properly. A larger person would struggle to get in and shut the door! The wall-mounted flat-screen TV was very small for the size of room, but there was also a DVD player with a good selection of movies available from Reception. There was also free WIFI internet in the room.
Presumably due to water restrictions, drinking water for the room had to be collected in a jug from a rain water collection system outside under the car port.
The neutral decor and furnishings were in reasonable condition. The room was very clean and staff were servicing our room promptly as we checked out.
Staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly and efficient, making sure we knew about the free DVD service.
This standard motel served our purposes for a one-night stay perfectly well, albeit with one or two minor downsides.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Hi CheshireBrit
Thank you for your review of our property. Unfortunately we cannot increase the size of our ensuites but for the normal sized person they are suitable. When making tea or coffee with our town supply of water the beverage tastes awful so we harvest our rainwater and run it through two filters and an ultra violet scanner which we use in our rooms for the benefit of our guests. There is nothing worse than a bad cuppa so we ensure that our water is "top of the class'.
Cheers and thanks for staying with us
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A spotless, well equipped room in an excellent location with friendly, helpful hosts and a pleasant and well kept outdoor area. We will return and be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hi 1145
Thank you very much for you kind review. Trudy & I try very hard to exceed all of our guests expectations and we do most of the time. Our outdoor area is a great favorite, especially in the summer months where our guests can sit around and chat over a drink or two.
We do hope to see you again
Kindest regards
Martin Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Polten, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We came to Robe on a 3,5-week round trip throught Queensland, NSW, VIC, SA and NT and slept in more than 20 different hotels. However, it is so easy to say that we felt most welcome in the Melaleuca Motel & Apartments in Robe. Martin showed us around the property and the room (which was the most spacious and yet by far not the most expensive we were staying in - and as we were a party of three, we know, what we are talking about!), he recommended films, which we could rent for free and liked very much, and a walking tour through Robe and after all gave us very helpful advice on our onward journey. Actually, we wished we could have stayed longer, but had to move on the next day. We certainly recommend Robe as a stop on the way to Kangaroo Island or further West/North and we highly recommend to spend the night(s!) with Martin an Trudy Stanley in the BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel!

Room Tip: We staid in an 2 room-appartment which we liked very much. Surroundings are quiet, so I suppose ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hi Pinskos Wieselburg
Thank you very much for your great review of our motel & apartments it is very much appreciated. One of the advantages of our apartments is that they have plenty of room as you found. I can assure you that all of our rooms are of a good size, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Since we put in our DVD library ( which has 400 DVD's on display) it hasbeen a huge plus for our clients.
All the best for your future & we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Basic motel rooms, quite dated. Bed was not great but everything else was fine.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hi Claui
Thank you for posting your review of our property. We know that our buildings are dated and it's a problem that our landlord will not spend the money to upgrade them. However we feel that to call our motel rooms basic is a bit harsh. These rooms have been recently painted, they have a queen bed, a two seater lounge, table and chairs as well as a microwave, toaster & electric jug along with mugs, bowls, plates knives forks and spoons. They also have an LCD TV , a DVD player and are airconditioned. As well they are spotlessly clean. Hardly basic!! Our beds are inspected annually by Best Western, the last inspection being last November and all of our beds passed their inspection.
All the best for your future.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We could not have been made more welcome by Martin when we arrived. Our room was spacious and clean, with a lovely communal garden in which to relax. An added bonus was Martin tuning in to a certain TV channel so we could watch Andy Murray playing live in Melbourne ... so obliging of him.
Thank you! We just wish we could have stayed longer!
Regards from Alison Shannon and Jim McGregor from Scotland

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Hi Alison & Jim
Thank you so much for your excellent review and kind words. Both are appreciated. We are delighted to have had you stay at our motel and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
All the very best of wishes
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

A really nice motel and the proprietors really go the extra mile to make you welcome and your stay comfortable. The hosts even take you to your room and give an explanation of all the excellent room facilities they have provided, which even includes a library of DVDs for viewing in your room. Of the 14 Hotels/motels we stayed in on this holiday, Martin and Trudy set the benchmark for managing this type of establishment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumar123, General Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hi Mal033
Thank you very much for your great review of our place. Trudy & I take great pride in treating all of our guests like friends. We think it's important to show our guests to their room and show them how everything works. We understand that this would be difficult in a larger motel but we know that this helps our guests to feel at home. All the best for the future and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Martin Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
60 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melaleuca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melaleuca Motel

Property: Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia (Formerly Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Melaleuca Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Melaleuca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing