We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pelican Shed in winter!”
Review of Robe Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robe Retreats
Ranked #3 of 8 Robe B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just spent a fabulous weekend in Robe for some much needed R&R. Our requests to make our stay memorable in the positive sense were for: a self contained property, warmth, privacy, comfy sofas, comfy beds, beautiful linen and towels to be provided, a fully equipped kitchen, and close access to the ocean.
The 100% fulfilment of this list was further enhanced upon arrival with a gleamingly clean abode awaiting us with full floor to ceiling windows in an expansive open living style with tasteful fittings throughout.
Add to this... nearby access to not only the ocean but also a walking trail along the cliff face all the way into town. Needless to say, The Pelican Shed is on our 'must return' list.

Room Tip: In this self contained property you can stay as a couple or for an extra charge there is space for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya C, Owner at Robe Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Pam, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was a delight to have you both stay and we would love to have you back again. Kind regards, Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Once you enter Driftwood Cottage, you hayve the impression of being welcomed at home, and a special one: help yourselves with a nice cup of tea and rest on one of the chairs outside in the garden or on the comfortable sofa outside. You are a few metres from the beach and from a bird watching site, brochures to have all info about Robe and, what's more, your fridge is full of good & fresh food and a bottle of delicious local wine. A place to go back to.
Thanks to Sonya, the manager, for her kindness & availability!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya C, Manager at Robe Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Driftwood House. I am very glad you enjoyed to wine, we are lucky to have such wonderful local wineries around Robe and nearby and in the Limestone Coast region. It was my pleasure to have your family stay. Kind regards,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

For our first trip to Robe we were very impressed. The cottage had a "homely" feel to it and was yummy bottle of wine!
Robe is a pretty little town with some truly amazing beaches. We will definitely be back.

Thank you Sonja for a fantastic stay. I would not hesitate to recommend your beautiful cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICSA085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya C, Owner at Robe Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, the beaches are amazing in winter, very invigorating. Love to have you both back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thanks to Sonya, the manager of this lovely cottage, we couldn't have stayed better in Robe.
A fully equipped house, very well furnished, and elegant in all details, yet good to host three people and even more in case of need. Very close to a lovely beach with everything a family could need, including a fridge with the necessary to prepare a cooked breakfast and a bottle of good local wine.
I wish we could fly again to South Australia and enjoy this lovely location again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank dotucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya C, Owner at Robe Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment. It was my pleasure to have your family stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our second stay at the Pelican Shed with family from interstate. We love the house, which is filled with light and is a very relaxing retreat nestled in the bush but five minutes from Long Beach. The house works so well for a family group. Wonderful walks along the cliff tops and Robe itself is filled with interesting buildings, great food, art galleries and friendly people. We have enjoyed both out winter and summer stays.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya C, Owner at Robe Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you Sue for your review, wonderful to hear that you had a great catch up with family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at this lovely little house on the way through from Victoria to SA down the Great Ocean Road. Beautifully decorated in the beach style, modern but with a lovely warm atmosphere. Color co-ordinated in a minimilistic beachy decor ( no tacky bits!!) that was just right with the overall light filled architecture. We enjoyed the serenity as it is tucked away off the street in a delightful setting. Thoroughly recommend this bright, clean abode.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank City/Countrycousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya C, Owner at Robe Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. So glad that you enjoyed the serenity of being tucked away off the street!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay. Close to the beach. Very relaxing and peaceful. Only minutes drive from shops, restaurants, pub and the playground for the kids. Robe is a really nice town in the great state of South Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mels80sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
1.1 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.7 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
1.5 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#1 of 8 in Robe
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe Retreats

Address: 8 Dawson Drive | 2 Park Tce, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Robe
Price Range: $199 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choice of 3 self contained bed and breakfast beach houses. THE PELICAN SHED- 2 Park Tce, Robe. Free wifi. Ideal for a couple or family. Very close to Long beach and Fox's beach, the outlet, Brim lake and Fox lake. Ideal spot for long walks along the beach, surf or lake fishing and bird watching. Fully equipped kitchen. Light filled Lounge and Dining area. King bedroom. Queen bedroom and 2 bunk rooms. 2 Bathrooms. Not suitable for pets. DRIFTWOOD HOUSE - 8 Dawson Drive, Robe. Ideal for a couple. A small timber Lake side house. With Fox lake and the outlet just across the road. Very close to Fox Beach and Long beach and a short walk to Brim Lake. Ideal location for enjoying the beach, fishing, walking and there is a bird hide across the road.Fully equipped kitchen. Open Lounge/Dining area. Queen bedroom. Spa bath. Small enclosed patio suitable for small dogs (by arrangement). RUBINS - 2/10 Robe St, Robe. Ideal for 1 or 2 couples. Free wifi. 2 King bedrooms (main with ensuite), large bathroom with bathtub, fully self contained, nestled in the heart of Robe, close to shops and eateries. Secure yard suitable for small dogs by arrangement ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing