We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unattended office, so couldn't check in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Robe
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Had our eyes on a cabin and tried to book in by phone several times en route to Robe and there was no answer on the phone despite being during the stated reception open hours. Drove there anyway - what a waste of time - could see and hear someone inside the office but they wouldn't answer the door or the daytime or the after hours phone. Moved on and found better accom elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Robe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi, Thanks for your feedback - We're sorry to hear you had a poor experience. We will be looking into it to ensure it doesn't happen again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 174 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Friendly staff, good powered site with some shade, not a lot of grass on some sites but water restrictions in place. Some sites not very deep, but plenty wide enough. Clean amenities blocks but dated. Heated indoor pool got some use and was always clean. Good size games room with large wall mounted TV. Park located at back of nice beach. Town close to park. Our 3 day stay was pleasant.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 772darleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Robe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks for your review and sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for one night in an off peak period and enjoyed our stay immensely. The park was quiet and the amenities were spotlessly clean. The location is excellent, directly opposite the beach and just a short drive into the main street of Robe. The kids playground was excellent and the pool was awesome - being indoors meant we could enjoy a quick swim even when we arrived late in the evening. The powered sites were large and well spaced and we had plenty of room to park a large 6 berth campervan.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Robe, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thanks for your review and for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Two powered sites booked on 11th January for 1 week. Sites were packed in like sardines! No space whatsoever! Toilets were smelly and unclean and no where near enough of them to cover demand. Will never come again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Robe, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Sorry to hear you weren't happy with your stay. Please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au if you'd like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

disappointed smelly unclean toilets not enough to meet demand . twice errors made in fees . overpriced at $55.00 per night for powered site. been travelling for 12months and this would rate the worst for value for money, overcrowed due high demand

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Robe, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thanks for your feedback - if you have any outstanding matters you would still like to discuss with us, please contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived on the 23.12.2013 Myself and Hubby Sister Brother-In Law and Mum and Dad booked in March we had cabin others caravan sites...we were miles away from my family when we checked in tried to change but could not..Noise was terrible so many people. Came to same caravan park 15 years ago and they have still not fixed the BBQ's so slow you have to turn them on every few minutes as they go out. The facilities for caravaners were woeful at christmas my mum is 76 and had to have cold showers twice..far too many people for so few toilets and showers...the staff were very nice and helpful...internet did not work in the unit i was in and i had paid $40 for 2GB rip off central there...the lowest part of our trip was the night that some young men decided to have some fun at 2am and then the subsequent blue police lights flashing outside our paper thin walls of our cabin..facilities in cabin were just adequate...we paid top dollar of course because it was Christmas New Year period and while we dont mind paying for good quality we certainly did not get that in these cabins...there was not even a balcony to sit outside and when it rained i had to ring staff to put towels at front door as water was rushing in everywhere.

Room Tip: My tip? Don"t go near the place in peak times...but on the plus side the beach is just across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Robe, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi Dianne, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear that on this occasion your expectations were not met. If you would like to discuss any of your comments in further detail please contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were surprised with the spacious and homey cabin that we received. By no means is it luxurious, but it's without a doubt comfortable and will provide a good time with the family. The beach is right in front and will only take a 3 minute walk to get there. The kitchen is adequate with all the necessary kitchenware present. The check in and check out process is hassle free. We came after hours with the office closed. But a simple phone call was all that was needed to get the keys. Checking out is a breeze too, by just placing the key in the drop off box.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sharifah Ihsan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Robe, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks for your review and sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
23.9 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#1 of 14 in Robe
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Robe Holiday Park
Robe Holiday Park
#3 of 14 in Robe
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Tourist Park
1.6 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Robe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Robe

Address: 70-80 Esplanade, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Robe
Price Range: $57 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Robe 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robe is a South Australian family holiday favourite and we know you’ll love it, too. Multi-award winning Discovery Parks - Robe is just an hour from Millicent and four hours from Adelaide. Our holiday park is a great base for exploring the Limestone Coast and the nearby towns of Robe, Beachport, Kingston SE and the glorious Coonawarra wine region. World-heritage listed Naracoorte Caves National Park will amaze and the 24 cellar doors of the Coonawarra are so close together, comparing reds is easy. Awe-inspiring coastal scenery awaits you at Beachport Conservation Park and be sure to take a drive to Mount Gambier’s famous Blue Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Parks - Robe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing