We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, spacious sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside Tourist Park
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in an unpowered site down the back on two occasions in the past month. Green lawn and shade and shelter if needed. Out of peak times you can choose your site it seems. Friendly owners and clean amenities and good camp kitchen. Not cheap at $34 a night, which is a lot for unpowered but happy to pay as was such a nice place. Plenty to do in Robe and a nice walk into town along the track near the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked in here for two nights on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day but extended our stay by an additional two nights after experiencing how nice the campsite and surrounding area is. We booked a spot for a camper trailer and were initially given site 11 which is on the banks of the lake. This a very picturesque spot but you will be battered by the wind which prevails aross the lake. Upon booking the extra two nights we were moved to a site away from the water's edge which was much more sheltered.

The park as a whole is very bushy and natural and extremely well looked after. The grass is green and lush, flower beds tended for and trees nicely shaped. It is immaculately cleaned and the owners are very friendly and treat everyone like friends. They are regularly seen around the park checking up on things via bike or golf buggy.

The bathrooms are very well looked after and always clean (within reason - people are people after all) - I saw them being cleaned at 2am on one of my middle of the night bathroom visits. The showers have plenty of hot water and are a nice size with plenty of hooks to hang your stuff. There is also a laundry, again clean and spacious with plenty of hanging space outside including pegs available for guest use - a nice touch I haven't seen before.

There is an easy off road walking track into town which leaves through a gate at the back of the children's play park.

This was not the cheapest spot we have stayed at o($40 a night for a powered site) but we definitely felt we had value for money here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SparkieSparkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lakeside Tourist Park is well above the usual holiday park standards - it has a nature park feel to it. The entire property has lawn (not pavement!), including the sites on which you park/camp. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer.

Our powered site had a secluded feel because the property's sites are grouped into three separate areas each with plenty of surrounding lawn. Even though we were in the area nearest the road, we hardly noticed any road noise. We had a lovely view of the lake from our site (see photo on this review).

There are a couple of heritage stone buildings on the property which add to the overall ambience. It's an easy 1k walk into town.

Their cabins looked great too, and all facilities are kept very clean. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. (Note: I had heard stories of a previous "night watch" guy who was a pain - I do not believe this person is still working there.)

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Looked to me like you can't go wrong here no matter what site or cabin you get. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieT300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thanks for your review Jackie, and many thanks for choosing to stay with us at Lakeside Tourist Park. We love our park and the ambience that it provides. It's always a pleasure to have someone comment & thank us by way of reviews such as yours, or someone who comes in to the office to give us their appreciation. It makes our job very worth while.
Funny comment about our "night watch man"...he's only on in our peak times to make sure that everyone is basically being courteous to others and helps us make sure all is well in the park...sounds like they may have been asked to keep the noise down, haha. He's actually a very nice chap...we wouldn't have improper people working for us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a 'two bedroom unit' at the top of the park. It was a very quite spot, with plenty of room for us (a family of 2ads and 2 children). Very clean accommodation with everything you need to have a very comfortable stay. We loved Robe, and would love to come back and explore more and stay here. We had a very comfy night sleep. it was lovely watching the Willy-wag-tails over breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Manager at Lakeside Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thanks Natasha, really glad you enjoyed your time in Robe & at our Park. Look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

July 13 2012 On our unplanned arrival late evening we rang the door bell asking for a cabin for the night. With a friendly smile we were quickly checked in and guided to a lovely clean cabin with views of the lake(seen next morning as too dark). The cabin was quickly warmed up and we snucked out for a meal. Crashing in the soft warm bed we slept soundly. Good pillows, cuddly towels and NO musty cabin smells (unlike one sometimes encounter.) Great location moments out of town. Nothing was too much trouble. The stay was made even more pleasant due to the reasonable pricing of the accommodation. Would definitly stay again. Dorothy Mt.Eliza vic

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Was told of by "night-watchmen/owner" upon arriving at 9.30pm for arriving too late, then again at 10.30 told 'we wernt allowed to stay up past 10 and have to go to bed" second night told of again just for sitting around having a few quiet drinks not making any noise, also told we wernt allowed to play acoustic guitar. They make you mop your own shower after use and have sarcastic and rude notices posted everywhere around the park facilities. Our holiday felt like a school camp, if you dont want to have any fun, this place is perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeelongJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

This group were evicted from park after being drunk and disorderly and upsetting other campers with their behavior. Their idea of fun is certainly not the same as our other campers. Respect and consideration goes a long way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed over Easter 2012. Had a powered site just by the playground. Owners very accomodating putting us next to friends. Park was spacious with good sized sites, room to move and kids to play unlike other parks in the town (that we have stayed in in the past).
Facilities were clean, good camp kitchen and nice hot showers all day. Amenities central so easy to access. Beautiful heritage listed park with lawns and big trees. Highly recommend and will stay again. Walking distance to shops or 5 min drive (or less) if you aren't too active.

Room Tip: We had 2 x 3yo and stayed on the lawn around the playground. Can sit outside the van and watch the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SashLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Robe
0.5 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#1 of 14 in Robe
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robe Holiday Park
Robe Holiday Park
#3 of 14 in Robe
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Tourist Park

Address: 24 Main Road, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Robe
Price Range: $56 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated and sheltered from the sea breezes, Robe's Lakeside Tourist Park is nestled amongst trees on the shores of picturesque Lake Fellmongery. This pretty caravan park has heritage history, is a lovely quiet spot for a holiday, and offers premium accommodation, shelter, shade, green grassy sites and friendly service. Lakeside offers the perfect respite from a hectic lifestyle. We have pet friendly cabins for a pampered pooch as well. (conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lakeside Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing