We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Robe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Robe House
Ranked #2 of 8 Robe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were passing through on a drive from Melbourne to Adelaide and stopped in at the local tourist information centre and they told us about Robe House. What a find. It is one of the most charming places we have ever stayed in. Like I said in the heading 'a real hidden gem'. The owner was most charming and helpful. As he showed us the apartment, he seemed to stand back and wait for our reaction. We were amazed at the size of it. It has a large living room, large flat screen TV, DVD/CD player, DVD'S, CD'S, two double bedrooms, a large country style fully equipped kitchen, stocked fridge, All one could want for a comfortable stay. We were offered the use of the BBQ in the garden and we could sit under the gazebo and sip our cold drinks in comfort. On the whole, a most comfortable and hospitable place in which to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment three (I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi Michael,
thanks for your review of Apartment 4 at Robe House. This is our largest apartment and quite spacious especially for a quick overnight stay. We try to provide everything (within reason!) that our guests could need during their stay, and are glad that you enjoyed discovering a little bit of Robe history in Robe House!
Best wishes,
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    43
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
110
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was a 1 night stay with friends enroute to Melbourne. Extremely comfortable rooms, well equipped with food supplies and laundry facilities. We had a BBQ in the small garden at the rear of the property. The hosts were around in the morning. Everything done on trust. Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazdamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi Mazdamal,
thank you for taking the time to review Robe House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. On some occasions we don't meet our guests in the evening - most often this is due to us calling in when our guests are out, however we do make ever effort to catch up, even if it is in the morning. We provide 2 free bbq's for guests, along with free internet and a free laundry, so we are glad that you were able to use at least some of the facilities on your brief stay.
Thanks again for your review, and we do hope to see you again one day soon.
Best wishes,
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The house built for the governor in colonial times is now converted to a hotel. Typical australian style, with a well-equipped kitchen for self-made breakfast, eggs by courtesy of the management.
Very quiet surroundings, a short walk away from the center and the sea. Beautiful wooden floor and furniture, nice bathroom and ample room for living.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms, we had the one with the poultry decor. Since it is a quiet street, every o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Peter,
thanks for your review of Robe House. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Apartment 3 or the chook room as we call it!! Apt 3 has an open fire and is very popular in the winter, when the weather can be a little cold outside.
We hope you arrived home safely and enjoyed your holiday in Australia.
Best wishes,
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Robe House's Victoria Cottage is a lovely old limestone cottage in the centre of Robe. Robe is full of historic old cottages and other buildings so it was nice to be staying in one of them. It was very clean and well set-up with everything you'd need. We were only staying overnight but it would be perfect for a little family having a week at the beach. Well-located with restaurants and cafes within walking distance.

Room Tip: It was nice to have a cottage to ourselves but the Robe House B&B also looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Louise,
thank you for your review of Victoria Cottage. Robe is very fortunate that most of the old stone buildings from the 1800's still stand - it gives the town a real sense of history. We have tried to preserve a piece of that history in Victoria Cottage which was an original settlers cottage built in the mid 1800's, and are so glad that you enjoyed your short stay.
We hope to see you again one day.
Happy travels!
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Level 6 Contributor
648 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a delightful little place in the equally charming seaside town of Robe. Check-in is unusual if you arrive after 5pm but it works. The room is a decent size and has an old-fashioned cast- iron bed frame. It looked rather lumpy but was actually very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. There is a fridge, oven and dresser plus breakfast provisions in the fridge. There is no air conditioning so was a bit warm, being in the height of the summer. There is a table and 2 chairs. We sat outside on the verandah to eat our take away pizza in 2 comfortable chairs. The garden is very pretty with roses and other lovely flowers, also some nice little birds. There is also a gazebo in the garden. You can hear the waves crashing on the beach nearby and we watched a lovely sunset.

The bathroom is small but adequate. The shower is very efficient. The lighting in the bathroom is a bit dim.

There is free wifi but it works better outside than indoors.

This was a great place to stay and such a change after a string of sterile, chain hotels and the owners are very friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi Hevsy,
thanks for your review of Robe House - we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Robe's oldest house. This summer has been unusual for Robe, as we rarely experience two days over 30 degrees in a row, and already we have had 2 heat waves this year! The house has a very wide verandah, and 2 foot thick stone walls which act as excellent insulation, however after a few very hot days the house does heat a little. While the stone walls keep the heat out, they are equally effective at keeping the wi fi signal out too, so reception is best outside on the verandah - the builders of the 1800's didn't consider that!!
Our best wishes to you, and we hope to meet you again one day soon!
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Finding places of historical interest in Australia isn’t easy. So for anyone who wants to touch the past in a comfortable way Robe House is special. The home of the earliest governors of the region you can still close your eyes and imagine what it may have been like a couple of hundred years ago. I did find myself laying in the four poster bed wondering what conversation echoed around these walls back in the 1800’s.

The rooms are quaint, the wooden floors do creek a little, the bathroom a little dark but we found our brief stay in Robe very pleasant. The rooms are cool but when it’s 40 degrees C outside that is a bit of a relief and makes the night easy.

As other reviewers have written the continental breakfast is unprepared and in the fridge not served up for you. But that didn’t seem to matter as it gave us the chance to do what we wanted just for a brief time between the four star hotels on our Australian adventure and not have eggs cooked slightly the wrong way.

The single floor Robe House is situated down by the small marina and just a brief walk to the handful of shops and a couple of Banks. There is a small selection of restaurants. Sails is the recommended one but we felt the prices were a little beyond what we wanted to pay so we chose the Robe Hotel. If you are looking for a bit of England then you will like this as it is a typical English pub with a typical English pub meal selection. Affordable and fine.

But the most impressive thing about Robe is the scenery jade blue seas and white sands. We wished we could have stayed longer and had more nights than we did sitting on the veranda outside our room watching the sun go down after 9 at night in the peace and tranquillity.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi Kevin,
thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Robe House. We appreciate your kind words, and are glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. The history of Robe and Robe House is important to us, and we are glad that you enjoyed that aspect of your stay. As Robe's oldest house, it has an important place in the history of the town - if only the walls could talk…..
Best wishes,
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Victoria Cottage on Robe's high street couldn't be more central. Robe isn't exactly a teaming metropolis although in the summer I'm guessing that its population grows significantly. We were travelling between Adelaide and Melbourne and were looking for somewhere peaceful to spend a couple of days relaxing. The arrangements for our arrival were exactly as we had agreed with Andrew and Sally. The fridge was well stocked with all necessary breakfast staples and the larder was full of various teas/coffees.

The cottage itself is charming - the original building, which must have been pretty compact, has been extended to accommodate the scullery, loo and bathroom. It's true to say that not a lot of natural light gets to the central rooms, but that keeps them cool in the Summer and there are ample oil heaters to warm rooms if it gets cold. Outside there's a covered patio area perfect for enjoying a glass of something cold when it gets too hot. There's off-street parking too.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a few metres of the cottage and the town beach is not much further away. If you want to drive your car onto beach (which seems to be popular in this part of the world) head for Long Beach, which is, well, long. Although we didn't see Andrew or Sally until we went to settle up they left us their contact details if we needed them, which we didn't.

Victoria Cottage gets a 'thumbs up' from us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuanshyaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for your review of Victoria Cottage. While the cottage is quite separate to Robe House, it is also an original old stone building but is situated in Robe's main street. It is a great location for parking the car and just walking the town on foot, as everything is right at your door step.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we meet you again soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#2 of 14 in Robe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe House

Property: Robe House
Address: 1A Hagen St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Robe House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this charming building was the first to be built in Robe. From its early years as home of the Government Resident, Robe House has played an important role in the towns' history. Built from locally quarried sandstone and featuring high vaulted ceilings and rustic floorboards, Robe House is now 4 fully self contained bed and breakfast apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Robe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robe House Hotel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing