We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Robe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Robe House
Ranked #2 of 8 Robe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Fantastic place. The oldest house in Robe, converted into 4 apartments. Well set up so that you can sort out your on breakfast. Good bedroom and shower. A short walk into town, handy for the harbour and nice walks round about.

Room Tip: All rooms have space on the porch that borders the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peroni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi Charlie,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Robe House. Many of the old colonial buildings were built with wide verandahs to keep the inside of the house cool. Nowadays our guests enjoy sitting out on the verandah catching the last rays of sunshine. It is also a place where guests meet each other and exchange travel stories.
I am glad that you enjoyed the provisions left for your breakfast. While self contained b&b's may seem unusual to our English guests it is generally the more common form of b&b's in Australia.
I hope we meet you again one day.
Happy travels
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
105
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My mum and I stayed in robe house recently and had the best time. It is so perfectly clean and tidy and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. The fire was ready to go and fantastic breakfast provisions were supplied. Could not recommend Robe House more highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi Meg
Thanks for your review it was a pleasure to meet you and your mum. So glad you enjoyed the fireplace, there is nothing quite like settling in with a book by a nice warm fire in winter!
I hope we see you again one day.
Best wishes
Andrew and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The owners of Robe House enjoy providing some a little special for those who are lucky enough to stay at this historic property. We only stayed one night which was not enough but if you want good accommodation with a romantic sense of the time of the first European settlers, this is the place for you. Modern facilities but Victorian style. Great we got it! A pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks Guys for your great review. As owners of an old building, it is so rewarding for us when our guests appreciate what we are trying to do. Back in the 1840's Robe really was a pioneering village, and it is that essence that we have tried to preserve at Robe House. Most of Robe's oldest buildings still remain, so it is a wonderful place to come and soak up the history.
We hope you are able to call in on us again!!
Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

...only had a one night stay in this delightful property, very tranquil, historical building with real atmosphere. Arrived out of hours but acquiring keys to the room couldn't have been easier, spotlessly clean, first rate provisions for breakfast and an owner and staff who obviously love the place. A real tonic after the over pretentious Barossa Valley, a bit different, relaxed with a great homely feel, free wi-fi is an added bonus. The town of Robe it's self is a lovely 'one street' seaside place, good quality eateries and take-aways, not a lot in the way of night life but a superb place to get away from it all. Recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Andrew,
thanks for taking the time to review Robe House. Many of our guests wish that they could spend another night with us, as most don't arrive until late, and like yourselves have to push off early the next morning. Robe is a very pretty coastal town of around 1000 people, and we are very fortunate to have so many great places to eat out. It deserves a little extra attention if you can spare the time, as there are plenty of things to do here to keep you busy!!
As you pointed out it can be quiet at night, however the 2 pubs often provide entertainment on the weekends.
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night as part of our trip from Melbourne to Adelaide. This is beautifully presented and furnished period style accommodation - some people may not be used to this and think it a bit 'different' but as English people we felt right at home. Clean and well equipped. Owners are low key and do not live at the premises - again, some people may not like this and expect a receptionist, but we also liked this - added to the laid back and relaxing feel of the place. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carefulcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for your review of Robe House. Many of our guests comment about Robe House being just like an old English home. This is probably due to the fact that Robe was settled in the 1840's largely by new Australian's or English men and women who in many cases replicated their old homes in England.
As hosts we are on call most hours of the day and night, however we do not live on site. You are quite right that this does not suit everyone's needs, however over the 16 or so years that we have been here, we believe that most guests are happy with the arrangement, and I appreciate you giving the method the thumbs up!!
Thanks again for your kind words.
Best regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

this is a fantastic place to stay should you pass by robe. i was a bit late that day but keys to a great and very charming room very well lodged and the entire stay a pleasant experience

+ lovely, spacious, very well eqipped rooms
+ great provisions for breakfast
+ free wi-fi
+ "everything" (there is not mich) within 10 min walking distance
+ great value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Philipp,
thanks for your kind words about Robe House. We really enjoy sharing the history of Robe House with our guests, and it is great to know that you have enjoyed the experience.
All the best....
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

At the end of a long drive Robe House was a very welcome resting place. Little to do in Robe itself but it does have a certain charm. Our apartment at Robe House was well equipped and spotless and the owners charming and helpful. An added bonus - free wifi connection - larger establishments please note!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanOxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Dan,
thank you for your review of Robe House. It was great to meet you, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many travellers have made use of the wireless internet - it has certainly been a worthwhile addition to the facilities that we provide. I know that when we go away, we make use of an internet connection whenever we can find one
Best wishes,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 8 in Robe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe House

Property: Robe House
Address: 1A Hagen St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Robe House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this charming building was the first to be built in Robe. From its early years as home of the Government Resident, Robe House has played an important role in the towns' history. Built from locally quarried sandstone and featuring high vaulted ceilings and rustic floorboards, Robe House is now 4 fully self contained bed and breakfast apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Robe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robe House Hotel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing