We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and a change from 'industrial' hotels”
Review of Robe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Robe House
Ranked #2 of 8 Robe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Robe House is 2 minutes from the beach front and the main street through Robe. There is very little in Robe apart from a few cafes and a rather nice art/crafts shop.

My room had a gorgeous wrought iron bed, a well stocked kitchen area and a bathroom. All very clean and comfortable. There was fresh bread in the fridge, butter, fruit, milk, sweets and hand made biscuits as well as breakfast cereals.

Check in is a bit strange, you call someone from a phone mounted in a box on the fence, but it works! the lady that visited when everyone checked in was very nice and made sure I was OK.

Nice to get away from the mass tourist room and stay in something more personal, lovely!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Kate,
thanks for your kind review of Robe House. I am sorry that we were away when you stayed, and we did not get to meet you - even owners of B&B's need a holiday!! Robe is a delightful fishing village with lots of lovely walks and beaches to die for!! While the temperature of the water can be a little cold, the sand is pristine and beautiful to walk on. We also have a great range of cafe's and restaurants for a town of its size.
We do hope that you visit us again one day.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Robe House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 161 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

With only 4 rooms, we were so pleased to have booked this unique little place on the edge of town & near the Marina. On arrival we were greeted by our charming host who showed us all the faclities available. The old building has been tastefully adapted to provide en-suite facilities.
Having driven abt 200 KM of boring road from Adelaide, we were anxious to walk out & explore the marina, around the headland to the Obelisk & reconstructed gaol. Restaurants seemed to close quite early & we only just got served at the pub at 8.15pm!
There was loads provided for us to prepare our own breakfast next day. We enjoyed it sitting outside on the verandah admiring the garden.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms to choose from. Ours was No 2 & great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWalker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear HappyWalker09, thank you for your review of Robe House. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Robe and with us. The drive from Adelaide can be a little tiresome especially in the hot summer months when everything is quite brown. You are quite right about the restaurants closing early - especially mid week. While Robe is a very popular tourist destination it is quite a small village of only 1000 odd people, so things tend to close early.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you again one day.
Best wishes,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you are doing the Great Ocean Road drive, keep driving. Dingy, dark, not clean, poor service (i think 'hands-off' and 'laid back' is what some visitors called the service it in the guest book - in my book it was just poor there was noone there to greet you and to give you a key to your room and noone was ever in the office if you needed them), could not wait to get out of here quick enough. This should absolutely not be classed as deluxe accommodation by Austravel. We nearly checked into the Best Western nearby, it was like sleeping in your granny's house when she wasn't there. We tried to open to net curtains to let some light in and the railings fell down! Don't ruin your holiday by staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Cattipoops,
thanks for taking the time to review Robe House. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Robe House. As we do not live on site, and have no idea what time to expect guests, we always leave a courteous note with directions, and catch up with guests during the course of their stay. We do provide a phone on site, and I am sorry that you did not give us the opportunity to offer you another apartment. Our apartments are always kept very clean in accordance with our 4 star rating, and maintenance issues are always dealt with immediately.
Winter days in Robe can be a little gloomy, with little natural light, however we have tried to combine the requirements of guests and those of the environment by using eco fluorescent globes in all of our rooms.
We do take pride in offering historic Robe House as a premium alternative to Motels in Robe - something we have been doing for 16 years now.
Yours sincerely,
Andrew Smith
Owner Robe House B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just come back from visiting Australia, We stayed at Robe House it was beautiful, charming and extremely quaint and authentic. Thank you to Andrew and Sally the house is a credit to you both wished we had stayed longer Tony and Chrissie Williams.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tonyandchrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Chrissie and Tony, thank you for your kind review about Robe House. It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Robe House was the very first to be built in Robe, so we do try hard to keep that aspect as authentic as possible. Many of our guests wish that they could stay and enjoy Robe for longer, especially during the warmer months when the many coastal walks and beach beckons!!
We hope that we get to meet you again one day.
Best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and it was fantastic. The whole place was decorated in a wonderful style and very appropriate for the facility. Everything was clean and neat. The kitchen was wonderful to use. Andrew was great and very helpful. The town of Robe was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonC-Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Hi Sharon,
thank you for your review of Robe House. Our 2 bedroom apartment is quite spacious which some find a little too big for over night stays, however we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and also made good use of the kitchen. The dresser in the kitchen was built in-situ back in the 1800's and most of the furniture has been collected by us over the years from the same period. It all adds to the experience of staying in Robe's first house all the more authentic. Old heritage properties do not suit everyones tastes, however we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope we will see you again one day!!
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

A lovely period house in a pretty village ideally placed to stop off en route from Melbourne to Adelaide. The key was left with a note detailing who was where and the free laundry was an unexpected bonus. Met the owners the following morning and they were charming

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Tommo2210,
thank you for your review of Robe House. We are glad that you found your room okay by following the directions left for you. We are not always able to be on site, and of course do not know what time to expect our guests so we have found this works best for us. We do call in during the evening to say hello, although sometimes when we call our guests are out exploring - in that case we generally try to catch up in the morning. I'm glad you were able to make use of the laundry which we encourage our guests to use if time permits.
Thanks again for your kind comments, and we are glad to see that you arrived back home safely.
Best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We arrived at Robe House on the journey from Adelaide to Melbourne along the Great Ocean Road. We were travelling with another couple, so we had two rooms booked. The owners had left us a note to say which rooms we were in and it was easy to find them and open up.

As soon as we walked into our room we fell in love with it. It was like walking into "Grandma's cottage" in fantasy. It was beautiful.

Robe House doesn't have a restaurant attached, so breakfast is DIY. But don't be put off by this. The fridge and cupboards were stocked with 4 eggs, 2 tomatoes, bread, butter, jams, milk, coffee, fruit juice, cereals and biscuits. And this was just for one night!

Everything was provided for self-catering including condiments and other useful additions, which meant we could enjoy eating in, which made a lovely change from restaurant food.

As I mentioned, the owner was not on site on our arrival but a little later in the day he greeted us with a cheery "G'Day" and checked to see if we had everything we needed. The bonus was free use of the laundry room which made it a great pit-stop.

Robe itself is a very quiet village, but there is a Tourist Information Centre which can give you tips on what is around the area should you wish to do some sight seeing. The weather wasn't very good so the beach was out of the question, but if you like walking and generally being in a pretty, village, do make it a stopping point.

Our only disappointment with this B&B was that we'd only booked for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jean-in-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Jean in Spain,
thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about Robe House. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We do try to leave a little bit of everything in the fridge to suit most people's tastes - thank you for the feedback!! The kitchens in all of the rooms are completely modern and very easy to use, however Robe has a great collection of Cafe's if guests prefer to eat out.
Sally and I have been lucky enough to do a bit of travelling ourselves, so we have tried to put all the little extras in our rooms which guests are likely to require during their stay - however we have always been careful to keep the clutter to a minimum!
Robe itself is a small fishing village of a little over 1000 residents, so for some it can seem very quiet. It is a place to come and enjoy nature and the beautiful beaches - simple pleasures like our great cliff top walks where if you are lucky you will bump into a kangaroo or echidna
Robe House is located very close to the harbour, which is a great place to launch into one of the coastal walks.
Thanks again,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.6 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#2 of 14 in Robe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe House

Address: 1A Hagen St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Robe
Price Range: $168 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Robe House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this charming building was the first to be built in Robe. From its early years as home of the Government Resident, Robe House has played an important role in the towns' history. Built from locally quarried sandstone and featuring high vaulted ceilings and rustic floorboards, Robe House is now 4 fully self contained bed and breakfast apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Robe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robe House Hotel Robe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing