We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location to stay when visiting Robe.”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having stayed at the Harbour View Motel on a couple of occasions now, I can certainly recommend the accommodation and friendliness of the staff. Will no doubt stay again on my next trip south. Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damienwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi Damienwe, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoy your stays with us here at the Harbour View Motel.

We cater for corporate guests in our spacious Deluxe Suites in the courtyard. We also offer Standard Suites, Ground Level View Suites and our Upstairs Panoramic View Suites which cater for all traveller types and budgets. Photos of our room types can be viewed on the Harbour View Motel website.

All of our staff live in Robe and we love to share all of our local knowledge, from the best places to grab a coffee and bite to eat, through to walks and sights around the town. Our location away from the main street means we are just a short walk from most of the attractions and a 7 minute walk back into the town up past the marina and along the shore. We are more than happy to do what we can to ensure your time in Robe is memorable. We love to show off our beautiful little seaside town!

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 358 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We selected this motel after reading all the positive reviews...not sure who wrote these or whether reviewers have low standards? Our room was old and sparsely fitted. The only views are when standing out front on the street. The back window could not be locked & mini blinds could not be closed. We have stayed in better motels for the same price.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DDutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, we always appreciate receiving comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

Harbour View Motel has been owned and operated by myself and Don for 13 years and we are very proud of what we have to offer and our facilities. In the past we have received many good reviews which are monitored by Tripadvisor.

I do apologise for any disappointment you experienced and would have been happy to have offered you any help if I had known there was a problem with your room. Your standard room bathroom has just been completely renovated with floor to ceiling tiles and new fittings, the room has a queen bed, LED TV, Tea/Coffee facilities, fridge, hair dryer as can be seen by photos on the Robe Harbour View Website.

You booked a Standard room that states in the room description that it does not have a view. We at the Harbour View Motel pride ourselves in being fair with the ability to offer four different levels of accommodation each priced accordingly so we can help all budgets. In this case perhaps the Ground Level Harbour View Suites and Panoramic Harbour View Suites did not meet your budget.

We again would like to thank you for your stay and hope we can help you next time you visit Robe.

We wish you safe travels,

Regards,
Robbie Maddern
Owner Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We recently had a 5 night stay at the Harbour View Motel. The rooms are of a good size for a multi-night stay and the owners, reception staff and cleaning ladies were terrific. They went out of their way to provide us with everything necessary to enhance our stay. The King Size bed was a bonus as was the kitchenette. It was a great 5 days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

I would like to start by saying “Thank you for your lovely review”. It’s always a pleasure hearing how our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

It is wonderful to see that you opted to stay for a longer period of time, as it allows you to truly experience Robe and take full advantage of the motel. Guests who stay longer than a night often enjoy the ability of being self-sufficient and for this reason we have a variety of suites with kitchenettes. Each of these suites include a sink, larger fridge/freezer, microwave and electric frying pan. If you desire one of these suites please talk to someone in reception upon booking your suites to ensure you receive one.

All of our staff take pride in their service and enjoy getting to know our guests. From first contact with reception to after your departure, the staff are willing to aid our guests where possible. From tourist information, requesting additional kitchen supplies or even just someone to talk to, members of our team are only a stone’s throw away.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Harbor View Motel is handy to town without being in the middle. Rooms are clean, comfy with terrific kitchen nook for food storage and prep. Not great views but certainly quiet. Staff are excellent with lots of information about the area and attention to guests needs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

On behalf of the entire team at the Harbour View Motel I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We aim to ensure all aspects of our guests stay with us is as pleasant as possible. The team are more than happy to offer plenty of advice and tips on the township of Robe and surrounding area. Information regarding eateries, events and activities are regularly updated with staff members, to ensure that they can aid our guests in the best possible way. It’s important to us that you enjoy staying at the Harbour View Motel, and we feel that one way to achieve this is to give you the local insights into the happenings of Robe.

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the view during your stay with us. Next time, I hope that we can offer you one of our Upstairs Panoramic View Suites with amazing views of the harbour and marina, to improve your stay. To view the collection of suites on offer, I recommend visiting the Robe Harbour View website.

I hope you had a safe trip home and that we can help with your accommodation needs next time you are in Robe.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights in 2 adjoining rooms upstairs. Great view. The owners go out of their way to make everyone happy and their tip to dine at Sails was spot on. Robe is definitely a place you must stop. Lovely, safe beach and many interesting shops.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room with balcony for a really great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Harbour View Motel.

Our Upstairs Panoramic View Suites are the perfect getaway for those who are looking for luxury, while in the picturesque coastal town of Robe. These rooms are fitted with a private balcony that provides guests with the opportunity to take in the beauty of the marina and harbour from the comfort of their suites. These rooms are designed with comfort in mind and one of the ways that we achieve this is by fitting the suites with King size beds. It is wonderful to see that both parties enjoyed staying in some of our most popular suites available.

Robe has a wonderful selection of eateries on offer. From Italian to Malaysian, our guests should have no problems finding the perfect dining experience. One of the top restaurants in the area, is Sails, which provide patrons with mouth-watering dishes, accompanied with a stunning atmosphere and local wines. We are more than content to provided our guests with recommendations, as well as make reservations, so that you can enjoy your night without hassle.

I hope that you had a safe trip home and that we can help you with your accommodation needs next time you are in Robe.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stopped here for a night on our road trip from Melbourne to Adelaide. Reception was very friendly (the owners were away) and let us look at the room before we made a decision. Everything was clean and tidy and looked newly refurbished.We were able to make our own breakfast and the laundry was a major bonus as we had reached the desperate stage for clean clothes. An easy wallk into the town centre and a good choice of restaurants so a great place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have stayed at Robe Harbour View many times and keep returning. The owners are super friendly and helpful.

You get free wifi and a free laundry to use if needed which is always appreciated. We book a room that does not have a view, however, you only need to walk across the road and sit in the park for gorgeous views.

There are also some rooms available with decent size fridges as opposed to the tiny bar fridges most other motels offer. Harbour view also have a fantastic under cover BBQ area guests are welcome to use. We recommend buying fresh fish from the local fish co-op and cooking on the BBQ.

Although the motel is of a 70's design everything is spotlessly clean and everything you need is provided. The cafes in the Main Street are fantastic and all within walking range. I can highly recommend them all and especially the superb Wild Mulberry Cafe.

There is heaps of things to do in Robe and the Farmers Markets visit regularly outside the tourist info office so you can stock up on an array of delicious farmers produce. They are a friendly bunch and offer free tasties before you buy.

The tourist bureau is super helpful and you can hire free push bikes to get about town. I would highly recommend visiting the tiny quaint historical Star of Sea Catholic Chapel on the hill across the road from motel for a Sunday service. It is a gorgeous TINY little Church and so QUAINT and they will make you welcome even if you are not a Catholic.

There is a great winery cellar door driving tourist loop on the outskirts of Robe. you can purchase wines and local products and there is also lots of things to do in Mt. Gambier which is a great day trip.

The customs house although very small is also interesting and you can get awesome views from the free telescope at the top of the Main Street.

If you need a massage or are into yoga the tourist office will help you with address and phone numbers etc.

We can happily fill in a week at Robe...and never want to return home. It is a safe and peaceful seaside town with great surfing, great fishing, and great beaches with gorgeous scenery and yummy food and the Harbour View motel will make you feel very welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms at front are gorgeous with views, however, if you have a room at the back you only need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $96 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing