We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RobeDec13”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed for a week in one of the updated rooms. The room was comfortable but @$260 per night expensive. Only real problem was the parking. On arrival was told to park in a certain spot by the owner. Moved their car so we can park ours. On the last night someone had parked in our spot so we parked in the spot next door. Got a call from the owner to move my car as we had parked in the owners spot????? (we know this was a lie as we were told the same thing about our original allocated spot) and we should park right down the back of the facility. Just paid nearly $2000 accommodation in which we where told was the best room in the house we are the only ones not to have a parking spot?????? We departed for home almost immediately and forfeited a nights accommodation out of frustration. If there was allocated parking the person parked in our spot should have been asked to move. If there was no allocated parking we should not have been asked to move considering we had parked directly in front of our room. My wife stopped me from going to the office to have words. If this happened earlier in our holiday we would have asked for a refund and left. Maybe the other guests were personal friends and paying guests come second?

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room. Much better. Can hear the shower and toilet from adjacent room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you Harry for taking the time to write you review after you holiday in Robe.

It was lovely that you booked our Upstairs Panoramic View Suites, King bed, Kitchenette, bath, Private balcony with that magnificent view of the harbour and bay right out the front of your room. As you booked at PEAK period the Xmas New Year Holidays you chose a time to stay at the most expensive time of the year. Robe is an expensive holiday destination as it is a tourist town.

It is such a shame that you departed from our motel after having one issue for one night of parking. I am sorry if this was the only reason why you left and not anything to do with the weather. I would have corrected this in an instant but you did not give me a chance. Travelling as a guest I certainly would not have been able to afford to depart from my accommodation over a car parking issue. As a Motel owner I am disappointed you did not come to the office and vent your views but took time to write a review on tripadvisor.

We asked you to move because you parked directly below your room in front of another guests ground level harbour view suite with 2 canoes on top of your car whereas you chose not to park 2 metres away to the left of your balcony. This is a large parking area where you would have noted this is also where we park our car.

Hoping that your holiday in Robe was great and wishing you all the best for 2014.

Regards

Robbie Maddern
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 371 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I were most impressed with the friendly personal service we received. To find out the owners had the place for 13 years and were as enthusiastic as they were spoke volumes. Would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Robe.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in one of the luxury balcony suites on our way from the Great Ocean Road to Adelaide. It is a friendly family-owned motel in walking distance to the restaurants and cafes in Robe. Room was clean and spacious, everything needed was there. For us it was just a quick stop-over and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wildefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

What more can you ask for? We stayed here to break up our journey from Halls Gap to Adelaide (we drove via Naracoorte) and all I can say is that is that it was precisely what we needed. Crazily cheap self-service laundry facility (washing machine AND tumble dryer!); nice spacious and clean room; useful location (walking distance to the town centre);and wonderfully helpful and friendly reception staff. Sure, it's not the ritz, but it does what it's supposed to do very capably indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Harbour View Motel was a nice place to stay overnight as we made our way to Adelaide following the Great Ocean Road. It is an old-fashioned type motel, but it is clean and comfortable. It is family owned, so we got the friendly and personal service I enjoy with that type of business. The a/c did a good job of cooling off the room even though it had been a little stuffy when we first arrived.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TexasGal909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great motel. We love robe. The owners very friendly and helpful. Great location. Off street parking available. We have stayed there many times and happy to recommend it. Fantastic cafes nearby. Close to the boat harbour for evening sunset strolls

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Harbour view motel is situated just a short walk to the main street. We stayed in the panoramic harbour view room and it was superb! The balcony is just wonderful to sit and watch the world go by with a nice wine!!

The bed was just right and the super soft blankets were so welcoming, we didnt want to get up!!

Host Robbie was most obliging when we asked where the blankets came from!!

Room Tip: Got for the harbour view rooms. They are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $93 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing