We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robe accommodation”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Harbour View Motel is located at the scenic end of Robe. Opposite the motel is a park with a great view of the Robe marina.
The motel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the room we had surprised us with a fully updated bathroom. The room was large and the bed comfortable.
The airconditioner was noisy but did the job well.
Staff were friendly and I would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJules123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Harbour View Motel. We appreciate your time taken to write about your time with us and I am pleased to see that you would consider staying with us again.

Each year the owners, Robbie and Don, take the time to upgrade parts of the motel and this includes refurbishing some of the bathrooms. I am sorry to hear that your air-conditioner was noisy; we will be looking at this issue to try and improve the stay of future guests. Thank you for informing us of this issue as it is the best way for us to increase the quality of our product.

We find that our location is ideal due to being so close to both the town centre and the scenic area of town. Located in front of the motel is the start of the walking trail that leads to the cliff line and Robe’s icon, the Obelisk. This has proven to be a popular hike for our guests and for those who are not up for the trek; we recommend the 5 minute drive that bends around the cliffs and marina.

I hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 358 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a family room with a Queen and single bed. We had a kitchen which allowed us to save some money / time on breakfasts. The weather wasn't kind, but we still enjoyed wandering the streets. Robbie and Don (the hosts) were great, suggesting dinner places and other things to do, that really helped.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneS167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Harbour View Motel. I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your time in Robe.

We have three kitchenette suites available throughout the motel. These suites allow guests the convenience of being self-continued during their stay at no extra cost. However each of our suites are fitted with tea and coffee facilities, a toasted and small plates. We are also more than happy to provide other crockery and utensils to our guests, including equipment for the BBQ area. We understand that each guest is unique and we we are more than happy to help make their stay more enjoyable.

I hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed 1 night in a standard Suite. Friendly, helpful greeting on arrival with recommendations on eating and tourist spots. Small motel development, somewhat dated but well maintained. Our unit had a new bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time at the Harbour View Motel. We are extremely pleased to hear that you found our service to be friendly and helpful.

We pride ourselves on good service and enjoy taking the time to talk to our guests, especially upon check-in. We take the time to get to know our guests so that we can better understand what they would like to experience during their time in Robe. For those who are merely staying one night, we make sure to direct them to the best places for dinner and explain the highlights of Robe; whereas for those who are staying longer, we prefer to give them a more in depth guide to the area. By doing this we can ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent in Robe.

I’m sorry to hear that you found the motel to be “small” and “dated”; the motel itself is on par with the size of others in the town, and has a total of 14 suites throughout the property. This allows the owners to spend more time on each suite and ensure all of the guests are made to feel at home. We are constantly updating the building and facilities to ensure that the overall atmosphere is kept fresh and inviting. Projects such as updating the bathrooms and décor are always in motion to help achieve this. As you stated in your review, you stayed in one of our Standard Suite; these suites are located in the court yard and are one our least expensive suites. We do however have three other types of rooms, each priced to their style and facilities. For those who are after a more modern room, you can’t go past our Upstairs Panoramic View Suites that look out on to the marina and harbour. These suites are fitted with a King size bed, private balcony and are our finest rooms. To ensure our guests make an informed decision regarding their booking, each style of suite can be viewed on the Harbour View Motel website or through the images on Tripadvisor.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the upstairs panoranic view room. we were blessed with fabulous weather and loved sitting on the balcony and watching dusk over the harbour. The hosts were friendly and gave very good restaurant tips. The room was clean and had all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed out trip there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angry_Scampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at the Harbour View Motel. We are pleased to hear that your overall experience staying with us was enjoyable.

One of the many draw cards for visitors to the area, is the picturesque scenery throughout the year. Our Upstairs Panoramic View Suits allow guests to enjoy the view of the Harbour and Marina from their private balconies. During summer, the harbour is a pallet of shimmering aqua blues and greens; while in winter the scenery takes on a dramatic feel with the storms rolling in over the sea and cliffs. To ensure guests can enjoy the view no matter the weather, each of these suites are fitted with a floor to ceiling window and a glass door. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy this element of your stay and I hope that we can help you with your accommodation needs next time you are in Robe.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guests Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Really friendly people who were helpful with directions to restaurants. Good location. Rooms fine for a short stay. I'd booked in with friends but as a 'single', I was put into the room next to the proprietor's room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 241Maureen241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful before checking in. Gave us excellent dinner reccommendation to sails restaurant and even booked for us. Speedy reply to emails. Very basic motel rooms though, needs updating. Went to have breakfast and no bowls or spoons to have cereal. Also only sink is bathroom sink. Why provide toaster and kettle if no other basic kitchen facilities. Needs better blinds in room, not very dark. Could hear buzzer every time someone went into reception too.
Fine for a stopover but couldn't stay any longer than a night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj1984cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

I would like to start by thanking you for booking a night stay with us at the Harbour View Motel.

I am sorry to hear that your suite did not suite your desires. In regards to your comments on the facilities in your room, I would like to remind you that you booked a motel suite not an apartment. You did how ever have the option to request a kitchenette suite, which are referred to in the room descriptions and include a kitchen sink, bowls and more cutlery. However we are more than happy to provide bowls and other crockery/cutlery to non kitchenette suites, should a guest request it. We even offer our guests the option of storing and preparing their crayfish, should they purchase one, to ensure they can enjoy one of the specialities of Robe without the hassle. In each suite we provide a kettle as we advertise “tea and coffee facilities available”, which includes a kettle to boil your water. The motel has a large rain water tank that guests can use to their full advantage and this includes making tea and coffee. As far as the toaster goes, we provide plates and knives, which are needed should our guests choose to have toast in the mornings. We feel that this is appropriate crockery for the use of a toaster, and proud of the fact that we offer this, as many motels do not.

It’s disappointing to hear that you found our Deluxe suite to be outdated, as suite 6 is one of the favourites amongst our coorperates and holidaymakers. A photo of this suite is used for all internet listings for our Deluxe suites and can also be seen here on Tripadvisor in the Professional Photos, it’s the one with the three seater black leather couch. In each of our ground level suites we have two sets of blinds. The first is a pull down blind which is semi-transparent from inside the suite, yet not from the outside. The other set of blinds are full block out curtains that allow guests to block out the light and provide privacy for themselves. I feel that perhaps you did not use the full block out curtains, as they would have levitated the issue of too much light coming into your suite.

In regards to your comments about the buzzer, I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention and I have passed it onto management. I would also like to thank you for your comments in relation to the service you received. I am sure the staff will be pleased to know they were prompt with their pre-arrival service.

I do see that you did not enjoy other accommodation you booked on the Great Ocean Road so hopefully next time you will give us a chance and contact us directly for assistance in booking the right room for your stay.

I hope you had a safe trip home.

Regards

Robbie Maddern

Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great stopover motel. Clean. V friendly and nice staff. Room clean and spacious. Nice level walk into Robe. Surprised at how lovely Robe is. Could have stayed longer and would like to return (only there 1 night for GOR). Relative to other stops on this journey, would say it was a bit on the expensive side but decent value for what it was.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_G.UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your review as we enjoy reading about our guest’s time spent at the Harbour View Motel.

The motel is located only a short walk into the centre of town via the new walking trail. In front of the motel is the luscious green park land, Lipson Park, where guests can join the footpath and take a stroll along the foreshore towards the main street. There they will find the many eateries and shops that Robe has to offer. Alternatively they can choose to walk around the cliff line and experience the harbour via the picturesque scenic walk. We feel that the position of the motel is ideal, as guests can escape the hustle and bustle of the main street while still being able to access it with ease.

I am pleased to hear that you found your suite to be value for your money, as prices are dictated by demand in Robe and we take the time to ensure that we are on par with the other accommodation businesses in the town. We understand that not everyone can afford our Upstairs Panoramic View Suite, so we also offer three other standards of accommodation, each suited to its pricing. This allows guests who are on a budget to find suited accommodation for their needs.

I’m glad that you enjoyed your time in Robe and I hope that we can help you with your accommodation needs next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing