We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a great time in Robe - you really need an upstairs balcony room to enjoy the view (rooms are also larger with better finish so well worth the few dollars more). Staff could not do enough to help. Hotels and shops are great - Lobsters well priced ($70 kg) from wholesaler (half what you would pay in town).

Room Tip: Upstairs far better ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOug57_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, the team will be extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the motel and in Robe.

It’s the perfect time of the year to enjoy a fresh crayfish here in Robe, as the fishing fleet heads out each day. There are two ways that you can obtain a crayfish in town, the first being at one of the wholesalers, who will happily cook and clean your purchase. At the motel we are more than happy to store your crayfish and bring it to your room when you are ready to indulge in our local delicacy. The other option is to adventure into the town and enjoy a freshly cooked crayfish at one of our amazing restaurants, such as Sails, who create a mouth watering Lobster Thermidor Pie.

Another way to take advantage of the local industry is from the privacy of one of the Upstairs Panoramic View Suites. The large ceiling to floor windows located at the front of the rooms allows our guests to view the bustling marina both day and night. Weather you enjoy seafood or not, you’re sure to find a way to enjoy the local attraction that is the Robe Lake Butler Marina.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe trip home.

Regards

Robbie Maddern

Owner/Operator
Harbour View Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 371 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Arrived at this motel without prior reservation and was fortunate enough to get the best room in the house, balcony overlooking the harbour was just gorgeous. Room with a spa, spa is a bath with jets in it but was ample size for me. Clean, tidy, king comfy bed. Owners and staff were super friendly and advice to go to Sails for dinner did not disappoint. Thank you for a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: Rm 15, balcony and beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvettemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbour View Motel on Tripadvisor. The team and I enjoy reading what our guests have to say about their time with us.

Wether our guests make a prior booking or simply show up on a whim, we take pride in ensuring that all our guests are treated like old friends. We are more than happy to take the time to ensure that each customer finds the perfect room suited to their needs. For many of our guests, their stay is all about relaxation and for this reason we make sure that all our suites are suited for comfort as well as practicality. Each of our suites are fitted with a Queen size bed, or in the case of the Upstairs Panoramic View Suites a King size bed. It’s our goal to make sure that your stay is all that it can be.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you have a safe trip home.

Kind Regards

Owner/Operator

Robbie Maddern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a 5 week trip from the UK to Australia
including stopovers in Hong Kong and Tokyo during October and November.
We travelled from Port Fairy by car and this was one of stops on our trip down Great Ocean Road and on to Adelaide
Stayed for 1 night, in a ground floor harbour view room in this welcoming motel. Harbour is across the green and you get to see the yachts masts .
Very comfortable large room, bathroom decent size and good shower.
All the facilities you would want on a long trip, e.g. ironing board, fridge etc
Hotel staff pleasant at reception, check in swift. Recommendations for meal, and breakfast as well as what to see and do in our brief stop
Hotel a short walk 10mins, down to centre of this small town and short walk the other way to the harbour and Oblisk on the headland
We had a very good meal at the popular Sails restaurant, although service was a bit slow.
Up early for our long drive to Victor Harbour

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. The Harbour View Motel team enjoy reading guests comments as it us know where we are on the right track in providing good quality accommodation for our guests.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed one of our Ground Level View Suite during your stay. Both the Ground Level View Suites and Upstairs Panoramic View Suites are in high demand at any given time; however this weekend sees them being even more popular. Both of these suites types have an amazing view of the Robe Boat and Fishing Festival. With these suites, guests can view the Robe Lake Butler Marina come to life with music, wine, food, events and of course a large variety of boats and sea crafts. The motel is also a convenient 4 minute walk through the parkland and along the footpath. This allows all our guests to leave their vehicle behind and enjoy the festival to its full potential. In its second year, the Robe Boat and Fishing Festival is proving to be a major event in Robe and is sure to see many people enjoy the sun, water and excitement.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you had a wonderful and safe journey during the remaining part of your holiday.

Kind Regards

Robbie Maddern
Owner Operator
Harbour View Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great Location within walking distance to town centre.Clean comfortable family room suited 4 adultsm with queen bed and two singles in a spacious romm. Friendly staff provided information on the local region and thingd to do in Robe.
Will stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fae E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Harbour View Motel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We feel that we are very lucky when it comes to the location of the motel. The first benefit is the fact we are the only motel in Robe, with views of the harbour and the Lake Butler Marina. We are also conveniently located only a 7 minute walk from the main street, away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds. Guests can enjoy the tranquillity of the park land located in front of the motel, knowing that the action of the town is only a stone’s throw away.

The team at the motel enjoy interacting with our guests and talking to them about Robe and its surroundings. This allows us to continue updating our knowledge of the town from the point of view of visitors, as well as expressing our favourite things about Robe from local’s daily experiences. We believe Robe is a beautiful township and we hope that our guests can experience all the highlights that it has to offer.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Robe.

Kind Regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff. We were so welcomed after a long trip from Melbourne.
The Motel itself Room 15 upstairs with its own balcony, was a joy to be in very clean and quiet and large size. Decor is excellent. The restaurants have a lot of choices, something for everyone. All in all we had a very good experience. Not long enough. We will be back. Thank you so much to all. Please if you are thinking of going to Robe go. It is an experience not to miss. I would definitely recommend Harbour View Motel. Excellent in every way.

Room Tip: We had Room 15. Upstairs with balcony overlooking the marina. No noise, Very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

On behalf of the team at Harbour View Motel, I would like to thank you, Dianne, for taking the time to write this wonderful review of both the motel and Robe.

When searching for accommodation, we understand that location can be very important to potential guests, and we feel that the motel is in a prime position. Located only a short 7 minute walk from the town centre, guests can experience the Lake Butler Marina, Robe circus, fitted with a public telescope, and the town’s foreshore, before enjoying the many shops and eateries. Robe is a stunning township and one of the best way to take it all in, is by strolling along the many footpaths.

It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your experience in one of our Upstairs Panoramic View Suites. These suite are designed for comfort and one of the ways that we achieve this, is by fitting the room with a King size bed. Each of the suites also has a balcony that allows guests to take in the beauty of the marina and harbour from the privacy of their room. Time and time again, these suites have proven to be a popular choice for those looking for their own luxury hideaway during their time in Robe.

Once again I would like to say “thank you” for your comment regarding the Harbour View Motel and I hope that you have a safe trip home.

Kind Regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Selected at random, pity the information centre wasn't open when I arrived.
I chose a good motel as the service was very good, the room was small (20 sq metres) but affordable, clean, modern fittings and furniture and a modern ensuite. 4 stars, value for money, good location. The owners are systematically doing up all the units, they are good now and will be great when completed. Will return on my next visit to Robe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Management were very welcoming and helpful, they took the time to give us all the to dos in Robe. The Motel is in a lovely spot overlooking water and is in the best part of town.

Our room was spacious modern and well equipped, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Robe is a must see place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our TripAdvisor listing, it’s wonderful to see that you had an enjoyable time during your stay in Robe.

We consider ourselves extremely lucky in the location of the motel. Not only are we the only motel in Robe with views of the harbour and marina, we are also closely located to the centre of town as well as the walking trails and the town icon, the Obelisk. During the peak period, Robe can become very busy and it’s good to be able to escape the hustle and bustle of the main street. With the centre of town being only a 7 minute walk, guests can enjoy the convenience of being close to the action while being able relax in a quiet place.

Located in front of the motel is the walking trail that curves around the Marina and takes you up and around the cliff line. The new section of the trail has proven to be a hit with both local and visitors as the path gives more scenic look outs and trails along more of the original shrub land. For those who are not up for a large walk, they can simply drive around the cliff line and still manage to see many of the highlights of the coastline. At many point along the road, travelers can park and join the walking trail that leads to the key history points of Robe. The Coastline proves to be a popular destination and a “must” when visiting Robe.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope that you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Owner/Operator

Robbie Maddern
Harbour View Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $93 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing