We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dianne M Very Memorable”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dianne M Very Memorable”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff. We were so welcomed after a long trip from Melbourne.
The Motel itself Room 15 upstairs with its own balcony, was a joy to be in very clean and quiet and large size. Decor is excellent. The restaurants have a lot of choices, something for everyone. All in all we had a very good experience. Not long enough. We will be back. Thank you so much to all. Please if you are thinking of going to Robe go. It is an experience not to miss. I would definitely recommend Harbour View Motel. Excellent in every way.

Room Tip: We had Room 15. Upstairs with balcony overlooking the marina. No noise, Very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
On behalf of the team at Harbour View Motel, I would like to thank you, Dianne, for taking the time to write this wonderful review of both the motel and Robe.

When searching for accommodation, we understand that location can be very important to potential guests, and we feel that the motel is in a prime position. Located only a short 7 minute walk from the town centre, guests can experience the Lake Butler Marina, Robe circus, fitted with a public telescope, and the town’s foreshore, before enjoying the many shops and eateries. Robe is a stunning township and one of the best way to take it all in, is by strolling along the many footpaths.

It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your experience in one of our Upstairs Panoramic View Suites. These suite are designed for comfort and one of the ways that we achieve this, is by fitting the room with a King size bed. Each of the suites also has a balcony that allows guests to take in the beauty of the marina and harbour from the privacy of their room. Time and time again, these suites have proven to be a popular choice for those looking for their own luxury hideaway during their time in Robe.

Once again I would like to say “thank you” for your comment regarding the Harbour View Motel and I hope that you have a safe trip home.

Kind Regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    153
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
40
252
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Selected at random, pity the information centre wasn't open when I arrived.
I chose a good motel as the service was very good, the room was small (20 sq metres) but affordable, clean, modern fittings and furniture and a modern ensuite. 4 stars, value for money, good location. The owners are systematically doing up all the units, they are good now and will be great when completed. Will return on my next visit to Robe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Management were very welcoming and helpful, they took the time to give us all the to dos in Robe. The Motel is in a lovely spot overlooking water and is in the best part of town.

Our room was spacious modern and well equipped, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Robe is a must see place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our TripAdvisor listing, it’s wonderful to see that you had an enjoyable time during your stay in Robe.

We consider ourselves extremely lucky in the location of the motel. Not only are we the only motel in Robe with views of the harbour and marina, we are also closely located to the centre of town as well as the walking trails and the town icon, the Obelisk. During the peak period, Robe can become very busy and it’s good to be able to escape the hustle and bustle of the main street. With the centre of town being only a 7 minute walk, guests can enjoy the convenience of being close to the action while being able relax in a quiet place.

Located in front of the motel is the walking trail that curves around the Marina and takes you up and around the cliff line. The new section of the trail has proven to be a hit with both local and visitors as the path gives more scenic look outs and trails along more of the original shrub land. For those who are not up for a large walk, they can simply drive around the cliff line and still manage to see many of the highlights of the coastline. At many point along the road, travelers can park and join the walking trail that leads to the key history points of Robe. The Coastline proves to be a popular destination and a “must” when visiting Robe.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope that you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Owner/Operator

Robbie Maddern
Harbour View Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallacoota
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Michael D
Returning to Melbourne after attending a medical coference in Adelaide we broke the journey in Robe, South Australia, spendind two nights there.We had visited Robe on a previous occasion but this time we were fortunate in choosing the Harbour View Motel. We occupied Room 16, an upstairs room with its own balconyand a magnificent view over the harbour and marina. The room was extremely comfortable and well equipped, our Host and Hostess were most helpful and very pleasant and the Receptionist, Kat, who greeted us warmly, was a delight.
The motel is situated in a quiet area but well within walking distance of the main shopping centre. The township is attractive, the locals friendly and facilities for meals quite outstanding. The "Sails" restaurant, in particular, served wonderful food-so good that we dined there on both occasions. However, we also enjoyed excellent breakfasts in two separate cafes - the "Wild Mulberry Cafe" and the "Provedor".
We hope to return to Robe in the future, preferably for a longer stay, and will definitely once more enjoy the hospitality of the "Harbour View Motel" - highly recommended !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Upon arrival was given plenty of information about the township, what was close and recommended eateries. Found this very helpful and definitely give thumbs up to the aforementioned

Great view on the first floor of the harbour. The bathroom is slightly dated but not really a problem. The bed was comfy. Only minor beef I really had with it was the noise from passing traffic, particularly heavier vehicles from the harbour, as I stayed in the room at the front of the property. This wasn't frequent enough to be a real problem though. Would consider coming back here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nearzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

what a great town robe is , and the sails restaurant is a beauty , excellent service , lovely food hard to beat they could teach a few restaurants in big cities a thing or 2, the people in hotel were very obliging and made bookings for us and a few tips on the sights around town ,

Room Tip: we had room 14 , the room with a view of the harbour ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in room 16, a lovely room upstairs with a private balcony looking out onto the marina and harbour. The floor to ceiling window and sliding door out onto the balcony provide a uninterrupted view whether sitting outside or in. The view day and night is something to see. The bed was king sized and super comfy with an electric blanket should you need it. Complete with tv (with austar) minibar and spa in the spacious modern bathroom this room ensures you have no reason not to feel relaxed. The staff are friendly and knowledgable and are more than happy to recommend local restaurants and must see sights. We had a lovely time, and would recommend this motel when staying in Robe.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs get the best harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robe House
Robe House
#2 of 8 in Robe
159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Robe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing