We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot find fault”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Upstairs room with balcony overlooking the harbour, very modern, large and clean, spa bath - not cheap but a great treat for a night or two. It's about a ten min walk into town, through the park opposite and along the sea front, owners helpful with suggested walks and restaurants - although the place is currently up for sale. Hopefully whoever buys it will maintain the current standards.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room overlooking harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crushertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

On behalf of the entire team at Harbour View Motel, I would like to thank you for a great review.

It’s always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoy the Upstairs Private Balcony Suites; each suite overlooks the park, marina, harbour and Guichen Bay. During all seasons of the year these suites are a wonderful treat for couples. In summer you can enjoy the shimmering aqua blues and greens of the harbour, while in winter you can watch the storms rolling in over the cliffs tops with the wind fish tailing over the rough seas.

Don and myself own the Harbour View Motel and have placed the property up for sale as our family have all shifted away from Robe and we would like to spend more time with our grandchildren. We are still very passionate about our property and spend each day making sure that the standard we have become known for is maintained. Each of the rooms have been individually furnished and we are continually adding and upgrading what’s on offer. You can view the suites on the Robe Harbour View Motel website.

Once again thank you for your comments and we would like to wish you a safe trip home

Sincere Regards

Robbie Maddern

Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 374 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, Very nice clean rooms, comfy bed, everything you need for a short stay, nice staff and very clean bathroom, a bit too pricey at $180.00 per night for a ground view room when you don't really get a view as people park their huge 4 wd's and cars right up in front of your window and outside table and chairs... So close you can quite literally reach your arm out and grab a bull bar. I was quite sad to wake up on my last day and find two massive 4wd's parked right up close to my outside sitting area leaving no view at all. I do wish I had just booked a standard room at $135 per night and not paid an extra $45.00 a night for nothing.
Im not sure why they called it a "ground view" when they have the guest car spaces positioned in front of the rooms...?

Room Tip: Book a standard room, or go all out and $250 a night and stay in a balcony room upstairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetsoul79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Much appreciated for your review, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to improve our services.

We "Thank you" for your Great comments regarding our cleanliness, refurbishment and facilities, we take pride in keeping our motel up to date for the comfort and pleasure of our guests.

Regarding price of our suites you have stayed during our Peak Period in January Holidays which is the highest time of year. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in Robe and we feel we offer good value given our great location and facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your price expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.

We have reviewed your feedback regarding parking and apologize for the cars that were parked in front of your room. This is not normal practice for other guests to park their car there but it has happened on this occasion at night time. I am able to ask guests to shift during the day time but apologize if I do not know there is an issue after dark. We do have a large parking area along side our motel but this must have been overlooked by guests. I have passed your remarks onto management so they can review the situation.

The Ground View rooms are positioned at the front of our Motel which separates them from other suites, making them an advantage as they are quite private and less noisy from other guests as you only have one next door neighbour.

Summer holidays have been fantastic here in Robe with the charm and fine hospitality of a year round holiday destination. We welcome holidaymakers looking for a short Getaway to come stay at the Harbour View Motel, enjoy Robe’s stunning beaches and rugged cliffs, tranquil lakes and mountainous sand dunes. Take a drive on long beach, relax or indulge in the local Limestone Coast Wineries, then enjoy great seafood at Robe’s trendy Cafe’s and great Restaurants. If you would like to know what’s happening check out our website, Location, “What’s on in Robe”.

While I am sorry that you had a less-than-perfect experience with our Motel, please know that your feedback will be used to improve our offering and I hope you will stay with us next time you holiday in Robe.

We wish you all the best for the rest of your holiday and a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Harbour View Motel for 5 nights and left very satisfied and relaxed! The location was perfect - quiet, nice park opposite, great views and away from traffic and crowds, yet only a five minute walk from shops/restaurants and swimming beaches. The staff were very friendly and helpful with providing tips and advice on local activities. The air-conditioned room was large and comfortable and the kitchen appliances provided were great for self-catering. There was the occasional noise from other guests in the carpark close to our room, but was always short-lived and did not cause any great disturbances. Overall, we had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at this motel, made so by the friendly staff and perfect location. Great value for money, especially in peak holiday season. We would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay in Robe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. The team here at the Harbour View, enjoy reading guests comments as it makes us feel we are on the right track in providing good quality accommodation for our guests.

Our rooms are designed for a comfortable stay, be it for one night or a longer stay such as yours. It’s important to us that you can treat your room as either an escape or simply a place to sleep. We have recently updated our photos of our suites to show refurbishment and detail, you can view them on the Robe Harbour View Motel website.

We take great pride in providing insight into the town’s happenings and locations. Robe has so much to offer; we would hate for you to miss out on a possible highlight for your trip. This weekend is the 1st Great Southern Ocean Boat and Fishing Show, which will see the harbour and marina spark up with entertainment, local products/services and opportunities to experience the ocean in various ways. Our location is fantastic on any day, but come this weekend, we will have the best Panoramic view in Robe of the Boat and Fishing Show.

Once again, thank you for your review. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. All the best for 2012 and we hope you have a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The Harbour View Motel was wonderful. We only stayed one night but wished it was for longer. Friendly owners, clean and well equipped. Robe was a lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCanadianHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thank you for your very kind words and great review. All of us here at The Harbour View Motel are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

When guests book in to the Harbour View it is a must that we give them a map and show them all the highlights of Robe so they don’t miss out on any attractions. As the old saying goes: “Ask a local”, so we offer information on the Restaurants and Cafe’s and a few tips on pricing and food choice.

Our latest News on the Motel is that we have placed Pillow Top Mattress Covers on our beds, a few guests comments have been “It is like sleeping on a cloud” The Upstair Panoramic View suites now all have New King Beds. “The Combination of Panoramic View of Robe Marina and Bay, King Bed, Spa, Private Balcony, glass of champagne, what more could you want?”

The Harbour View Motel in positioned about a seven minute walk to the main centre and a quick tip for guests travelling in the holiday season is not to stay in the main street of town as people walking home from celebrations can sometimes be noisy.

We look forward to the next time you pass through Robe when perhaps we could book you in for a few nights stay which would give you a chance to relax and unwind.

We wish you a Happy Prosperous New Year and a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My husband and I booked for one night and was more than satisfied with the room and service that we received. We were lucky to have a room at the front overlooking the sea. We found the room to be large and exceptionally clean. We would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargeritaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Harbour View Motel. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your view over the park and harbour as much as we do. The area we live in is quiet and tranquil which makes it easy to unwind and relax. We constantly think how lucky we are as the beaches, walking trails, shops, restaurants and cafe’s are only a short stroll from our door but then we can return to our sanctuary of peace and quiet.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the Motel staff, so they can see how their attention to detail and customer service pays off. Cleanliness is one of our highest priorities. Your comments are rewarding and gives us a real boost to keep up the good work.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and look forward to welcoming you back again one day when visiting Robe.

If you would like to know what is happening in the future at Robe please check our Calendar on our Harbour View Motel Website for updated dates.

We wish you a Happy Prosperous New Year and a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Our ground floor room was clean, bright and airy. The large window had a roller blind as well as curtains. The blind allowed light to enter the room but hindered people seeing directly into the room during daylight hours.

Everything worked. The bathroom was more like a wet room although the shower curtain was long enough to prevent water covering the entire floor.

The motel is situated about 5 minutes walk away from the town centre. Robe is a quiet town and even the lightest sleeper should have a restful night in the motel.

We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

From all at the Harbour View Motel we would like to thank you for your review. I appreciate the time that you take to leave comments as this is a way for us to learn from our guests.

We constantly update our furnishings bearing in mind that we keep the comforts of our guests as the main priority. Thank you for the comments regarding the bathroom, we take this onboard. We added two new bathrooms to our standard rooms and are looking forward to starting two more in the near future.

It is New Years Eve today and the weather is absolutely beautiful. Not a breath of wind. My suggestion is take a good book, suntan cream, hat, bottle of water, beach towel and off for a swim. Long beach is like a Surfing beach where it takes awhile for the water to come up, you can actually drive your car on long beach and find your own bit of privacy. Town beach is like a swimming pool, the water comes up fast and you don’t have to swim out so far.

Again, “Thank you for your Review” and we look forward to next time.

We wish you a Happy Prosperous New Year and a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just a nice place but nothing more and nothing less.
Clean rooms, not very big but enough. Possible noise of passing cars of other guests.

Good BBQ area with clean BBQ surface where you can eat with your familiy (space enough)

A little bit off the centre of Robe (to far to walk for elderly people, no taxi in Robe!)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabonijntje N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thank you so much for posting your good review of the Harbour View Motel on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We take pride in keeping our accommodation up to a high standard providing good clean, comfortable modern suites and enjoy seeing our guests benefit from the hard work and effort from our great team. I am not sure which room type you stayed in but we do have the ability to offer various room types with various prices. Upstair Panoramic View Suites, Ground Level Harbour View Suites, Deluxe Suites and Standard Suites. These suites are priced accordingly so as the suites become more expensive the room type becomes better.

As they say LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!! We are very happy to offer a great location with panoramic views of the harbour and bay. What a lot of guests don’t realize is West Beach is beautiful and just a 5 minute walk from the Harbour View Motel. Perfect position to take your camera and watch the Sunset. Quite private as it cannot be seen from the road. We are only a seven minute walk to the town centre and it is a great idea not to stay in the town centre and be woken up by noise from night time celebration.

Again, “Thank you for your Review” and we look forward to next time.

We wish you a Happy Prosperous New Year and a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
24.3 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
1 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.1 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $93 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing