We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed in Robe for only one night, but found the harbour view motel to be great accommodation. Nice clean room with modern tv and bathroom. The hosts were helpful with dinner recommendations and also made dinner reservations for us, which was great! Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saranapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding our motel. We are very proud of our motel suites with new furnishings, flat screen TV’s, new chairs, blinds, bedspreads. As the owner I take time to choose what I think will service my guest best for room options. With eleven years experience I realize how important it is to offer great accommodation.

We are very lucky at Robe to be able to offer so many good food options. Don and I frequent the cafe’s restaurants when it is my turn to cook so we can usually offer a good recommendation.

All the best for the rest of you trip and we wish you a safe trip home.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 373 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

This motel has everything you would want for "a home away from home"! We were two couples and our rooms were at the back which was great for quite solitude. The rooms themselves were very well appointed, plenty of bed clothes, furnishings and spotlessly clean etc. The motel's location and views of the harbour were tops! They have an excellent covered barbeque area which we put to good use with a sea food feast including a lobster and other items we purchased from a local wholesaler. Don put us on the right track to get the best seafood and very kindly cut the lobster open for us and provided us with cultery etc for the feast.
For an excellent, well positioned motel, friendly staff and comfortable rooms it couldn't be beaten!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickrick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Don & I would both like to take this opportunity to “Thank you” for your great review. You were excellent guests and it was a pleasure to see you all relax and enjoy our facilities. I will pass your comments onto all our staff as it will give them the extra boost to keep up their good work.

Don takes great pride in directing guests to where to purchase their seafood and then presenting it on a platter for that special “Crayfish Experience” in Robe. For guests staying only one night in Robe it is a good tip to arrive early enough to head to the local wholesale shop before it shuts.

We have our busy season upon us, please feel free to email us on info@robeharbourview.com.au if you have any questions regarding Robe and our Harbour View Motel accommodation.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to being able to help you next time you holiday in Robe.

Sincere regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were on the last leg of our road trip from Phillip Island on the Harley. I had pre booked a room at the Harbour view as i wanted somewhere luxurious with a view my partner would love.On arrival Robbie and staff were very helpful explaining where everything in town was.My partner thought the view from upstairs would be even better and asked if a room was free.As soon as Robbie showed him the view from the balcony he said we'll take it.Swapping was no problem , they were so helpful with everything.Plans were to go to dinner at the "Cally" a lovely old historical pub, but again a change of plan and we had a fish and chip supper on the balcony and watched the sunset.I reccomend this place to anyone you cant go wrong.They dont have problems only solutions,thanks guys,judy and paul, the bikers.

Room Tip: book ahead and ask to see other rooms if you want to and they are available,rooms at the back are of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

To our friendly Bikers!

First I would like to “Thank you” for your Review. It takes time to sit down and put pen to paper as they say and it is very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to show you our motel suites, I like to make sure that guests are comfortable with their accommodation as it makes their whole experience of Robe a happy one.

After your long journey on your motor bike from Phillip Island to enjoy your supper on the balcony watching the sunset go down would be a lovely way to unwind and relax. We do offer our Motor Bike and Bicycle guests the opportunity to pop their bikes in our shed to be locked up at night time, this is no problem to us and it helps guests sleep better.

I really enjoyed your company and the chats that we had during your stay. Hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to next time you stay in Robe.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We rolled in late on a Friday afternoon, and Robbie was extraordinarily efficient in getting us settled and making a restaurant reservation for us. She and others on the staff also helped us plan our drive for the next day. We stayed in room 15 on the second floor with a balcony and a pleasant view of the harbor. We made good use of the spa tub after a long day of touring.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at our Harbour View Motel Robe. Our team are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, we are extremely proud of the service and product we offer.

We are very aware of how important it is to make our guests “Experience in Robe” a great one, so we like to offer our local knowledge. On certain days it is a must to book restaurants, therefore we offer our service of booking ahead so guests are not disappointed with their evening.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you and your partner can make the trip back to enjoy our service again at the Harbour View Motel in Robe.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Thought the rooms were overpriced for what you get. We stayed in a Balcony room but only basic provisions in room - double the price of a normal room - not value for money.have stayed in similar accommodation where breakfast was included. Infact found restaurants in town were expensive too - not really a place for families - just had the feeling that we were being ripped off the whole time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank localadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for reviewing the Harbour View Motel. As the Owner of the Motel, I appreciate all feedback, positive and negative, and use reviews as a way to improve our motel operations and staff management.

I apologise that your suite did not meet your expectations. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the appropriate managers and staff.

We have various room types with different facilities, some with king beds, queen beds, single beds, kitchenettes, some with spas, some with views and then those without. Next time I would be happy to speak to you in person and get the appropriate room type right for your stay. We take great pride in always going beyond what is expected of us and aim to make your Harbour View Motel experience a success.

We do offer a continental breakfast but we find a lot of our guests like to go out for brunch at the lovely cafes. As Robe is a tourist town they do try to offer from basic to gourmet, something for everyone. If you had any concerns or questions during your stay, I would encourage you to always speak to us directly and we would be more than happy to accommodate your needs.

We hope you had time to enjoy the beauty of Robe even though it was a business trip. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to Robe.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly on info@robeharbourview.com.au if you are returning to Robe for business, or if you wish to share your concerns.

Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were looking for a short getaway for a couple of days over the long weekend and left it quite late to book. There was only one room left at the Harbourview,which was tucked away around the corner.In our opinion, it turned out to be the best room because it was very private and Don and Robbie have upgraded this room beautfully. We loved their friendly and welcoming manner and you can tell they are both very proud of their Motel facilities. Robe is a beautiful place to visit and it made it even more so because of our stay at Harbourview Motel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Thank you for your review and personal comments regarding Don and I. We were happy we could help you with your accommodation as Robe’s busy season has arrived . Your suite you enjoyed cannot be seen from the main motel, but that is the reason why we like it. Guests are quite happy to enjoy the seclusion away from others.

We continually upgrade our suites as we feel a need to keep the motel modern. The latest being new Blinds and everyone loves our Bright New Red Tub Chairs.

Robe is such a lovely destination to visit, being either on a Romantic Getaway, Family holiday or staying over on business. We are very lucky to have such a large variety of experiences to be enjoyed. The children love the beaches, the skate park, the lolly shop, the icecream shop, and of course the cinema when the weather is bad. The adults love the beaches, the shops that are open seven days a week, the restaurants and cafes, the seafood, the wineries, the walking trails, the national park, the golf course and sporting facilities. The older generation love the historic buildings, the history, the beach, the Whistlers Book shop and of course again the restaurants and cafes.

“Robe, what a lovely place to holiday.”

If you would like to know what is happening in Robe please check our Calendar at our Robe Harbour View Motel website then Locations, then What’s on in Robe. Otherwise check guests messages and photos left on our Robe Harbour View Motel facebook site.

Again much appreciated for your comments, a great incentive to work harder.

Sincere Regards,

Robbie Maddern
Owner/Operator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

From the moment we arrived we knew we had booked the perfect hotel for our weekend break. The staff were welcoming and very helpful and provided lots of useful information that made our stay more enjoyable. We had an upstairs room that was very clean and comfortable with a superb view. The hotel is just a short walk to the many restaurants in town and the one's Robbie recommended when we originally booked were fantastic. If you appreciate superb hospitality, beautiful views, comfortable accommodation and an excellent location then you should not miss out on this gem.

Room Tip: Number 16 is a great choice if you don't need a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claude_and_Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

What a lovely review, thank you so much for your comments. I cannot wait to pass them onto our Team here at the Harbour View Motel. It is a great incentive for us to keep up the good work. We all know how important it is when you are on holidays to be able to access local information so you don’t miss that special something or say “I wish I had found you before, this is our last day”

As they say LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!! We are very happy to offer a great location with panoramic views of the harbour and bay. What a lot of guests don’t realize is West Beach is beautiful and just a 5 minute walk from the Harbour View Motel. Perfect position to take your camera and watch the Sunset. Quite private as it cannot be seen from the road. We are only a seven minute walk to the town centre and it is a great idea not to stay in the town centre and be woken up by noise from night time celebration.

We hope that the rest of your holiday went well and you had a safe trip home.

Again, “Thank you for your Review” and we look forward to next time.

Sincere Regards

Robbie
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
24.3 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
1 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.1 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $93 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing