We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and dingy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Broughton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnyside Hotel-Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Broughton
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty and dingy”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked three rooms for my staff to go and stay in whilst in the area for business, and they ALL checked out soon after checking in. Here are the highlights of their concerns: Mouse droppings in cupboards; dead bugs lying about the room; light above beds covered in thick dust; carpets not vacuumed; were told of special needs of customers but had not communicated this to staff or on reservation; fridge over iced, dirty and rusty; no provision of milk etc in two of the rooms; bathroom cupboards and shelves - peeling paint and dirty; bins had obviously not been cleaned around the lids and were filthy; the reception area (in the bar) has pictures of nude women in painted on football colours indicating an inappropriate place for work travel accommodation and finally the facility they were visiting in the area expressed genuine concern about the three female staff staying at the hotel due to its reputation. So, we cancelled their three rooms and managed to get them into nearby villas at short notice where they found clean, maintained and friendly accommodation.

Room Tip: Pick one at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KooieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
7
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It would appear that we were in the same room as MarionBayWhiskie .(2011 review)
Bathroom was as described,cracked sink , taps not working properly , dripping , couldn't turnoff.
Would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxxi35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marion bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

At first glance I didn't think it was too bad, after all it was only $80 a night, and we arrived at dinner time, so I was in a rush to get a meal before the restaurant closed. booked for 5 nts only stayed 4, had enough. I didn't use the pool as I don't see myself parading around for all to see, it's situated on the right as you drive into the carpark, very little privacy and a very small pool. The toilet did not flush too well. The bathroom was so small I had to dry myself in the bedroom, because my elbows hit the shower glass. The hot tap in the shower leaked very hot water and when we bent down to pick up shampoo bottle our hips were scalded with hot water plus the tap was then too hot to turn off. the shower rose sprouted water up onto the wall, this was remedied on day 3 of our stay, but then no pressure in the shower. The basin cold tap had very noisy problems, and was very stiff to use, if you have arthritis.. forget it. The TV was so small compared to the room size that the owners must have felt the need to screw it down, which of course meant that you had to watch TV on, or in bed, as you couldn't change the direction of the screen.Thats if you were lucky to see TV the reception was disgusting and a great place to put inAustar/Foxtel The kettle had to be filled in the bathroom sink which was a problem as it was bigger than the sink and would'nt fit properly, I noticed quite a nasty crack in the sink, which could have been caused from someone easing themselves around to get onto the loo. a very tight fit. toilet paper could have been produced from recycled, as I think the softening process was left out. also the normal hand washing soap dispenser is OK in public toillets but not too be used in a motel, especially in the shower. Guest soap[ doesn't cost that much surely? Everytime we went back to the room my husband caught his elbow on the window, time to modernise...start with sliding windows not push out. The carpet smell kept me awake at night, it looked new enough, but it stunk!! asked for crockery and toaster to room on booking, non provided. BBQ facilities very poor, raining on our stay, BBQ in full weather so we could not use it, without getting wet. The fridge in the room set on number 2 froze everything, when I complained to the owner about this, he just said "oh well, at least it keeps things cold". it seems thay have owned the place for three years, but they need to stay in them to get a feel of what the guests feel. This was our holiday, and I just left feeling quite depressed about the whole thing. The place needs some serius money spent on it, before I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MarionBayWhiskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I knew when the door was opened and I spotted the orange and brown shag pile carpet that things were not good. My fears were confirmed when I noticed that the material head rest above the double bed was yellow from where people had put their heads. The bath room was the cleanest spot and I tempted to sleep in there. The doof doof music from the pub wasn't so bad as I had a few extra drinks before I worked enough courage to go back to my room. Locations was good though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank gilbycr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunnyside Hotel-Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Hotel-Motel

Property: Sunnyside Hotel-Motel
Address: 17 Bay St, Port Broughton, South Australia 5522, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Broughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Broughton
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing