We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Must at Coonawarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Must at Coonawarra
Ranked #1 of 3 Penola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still a great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Not as new as last time but still a lovely room. Road traffic doesn't start too early so even if you are in a front room it's ok.

Only criticism is that the mattress was a bit tired and could do with replacing soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazwookie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the review look forward to your next stay

Regards
Alison & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    48
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
117
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were more than happy with our stay in Studio One on our recent holiday/tourist trip from Adelaide to Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road. Amenities were great (modern) and the studio room was spacious with a large bathroom and the bed comfortable. Thought being close the the main road there may have been a problem with truck noise early in the morning but this did not eventuate at all. Outside amenities looked good as well eg BBQ but a wet cold night made this uninviting unfortunately! :) The Bushman Inn provides a good meal and is a very short walk down the road. The property is close to the Coonawarra wineries enabling a late afternoon visit as well as early morning visit before resuming our journey. Driver not sampling of course!

Room Tip: Studio One was fine for an overnight stay. Close to front of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, so far away from Perth, and perhaps we may see you again,

Regards Alison and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on the Queens birthday long weekend. It was everything we could have asked for. Mind you, we would have liked the spa room, but they were fully booked. Everything has been thought of to make your room comfortable. Our only concern was the TV reception, but there are plenty of free DVDs to enjoy to compensate for that. It was a great place to start with our journey of wine tasting and fine dining. We will be back again. Spa room next time !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the feed back, we are glad that you both enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming again, sorry about the TV reception but it is out of our control.

Cheers
Richard & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a great few nights here and it exceeded our expectations. Rooms are modern and very clean. It was perfect for what we wanted. Great location and we were delighted we could walk to the eateries we wanted to go to. We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njg8373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Alison and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and the district, we do hope you come again

Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Must and must say that it exceeded my expectations. The room was spacious with a small kitchenette and included a small continental complimentary breakfast that was good enough for us. The room also had a big TV which was nice. The location was good, very close to restaurants and vineyards, however it is on the main road so a little noisy at night. I thought the cost was a little on the high side for what it was. The owners were very friendly and pleasant. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmackie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your response, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the district, hopefully we will see you both again, and I will ensure you are in a unit away from the road.

Regards
Richard & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We loved our room. It was so clean, spacious, and comfortable. The garden was perfect and out little outdoor alcove was a lovely place for a coffee. The breakfast provisions were brilliant. The spa was spotless. The bed was crisp and comfortable.

Whilst this is excellent accommodation, the gentleman owner Richard is in the wrong business. Whilst he may be a brilliant architect/designer/gardner/cleaner/stylist, I found his customer service and attitude needs a tidy up.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your response and view point I do not know why I had upset you, it is never my intention, I may well; have been preoccupied so I can only apologize.
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this modern well run and friendly up market studios in Penola Richard and Alison are friendly and thoughtful hosts A great base for touring the many excellent vineyards nearby Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, and I hope your whole holiday in SA has been wonderfull, hope to see you both again,

Regards
Richard & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.8 mi away
Alexander Cameron Suites
0.1 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
4.8 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#3 of 5 in Coonawarra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
0.5 mi away
Penola Backpackers
Penola Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Penola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Must at Coonawarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Must at Coonawarra

Property: A Must at Coonawarra
Address: 126 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accommodation in the world famous Coonawarra wine region, and just walking distance to the award winning restaurants, cafes, galleries and shops of Penola. Self-contained luxury apartments with free WiFi, complimentary breakfast in most apartments, guest BBQ area and DVD library. Off street parking, private decks and native gardens. Well located to explore the Limestone coast attractions of Robe, Beachport, Millicent, Mount Gambier, Narracorte, and its World Heritage caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Must at Coonawarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing