We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Cameron Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Motel”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Our extended family of 6 stayed at the Alexander Cameron Motel on our way from Adelaide to Melbourne, as we wanted to stop by the wine district. We were sure the motel was recently renovated, as the rooms were in mint condition. We were told they were not, the motel was built in 2004. It is certainly well kept! The kids loved playing with Cooper the dog, and it was great to relax on the lawn outside the rooms. The rooms were big with one double and one single bed. Baths were nice and big too. Foodstore next door and bottleshop/restaurants just down the street. You could not ask for anything else in a hotel, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    62
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
125
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mt Martha Vic Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

From the very warm, friendly welcome at reception on arrival to our departure 2 days later, the Alexander Cameron Motel was by far the best accommodation we had stayed on our week long trip to South Australia. It was MUCH better than the 4 star Adelaide property we stayed in for the 4 previous nights.

The room itself was huge and we appreciated the thoughtful allocation of rooms which meant that we did not have immediate neighbours on the first night when the motel was not full.

The motel is quiet (even though it is on the main highway.and is 3 minutes walk from the lovely Heywoods Royal Oak Hotel which serves very good pub ( and huge!!) meals - great if you've spent the day visiting the local Coonawarra wineries. There is a supermarket next door so if you want to buy breakfast provisions you can do so easily.

I would recommend this motel to anyone and everyone and next time we travel to Coonawarra we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyl3934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The place will forever be remembered for its huge rooms. You could fit around 8 King size beds in the room. The TV needs to be huge so you can see it. The hotel is well located, well priced and well furnished. No wonder it was full in the middle of the off season.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We were really impressed with the Alexander Cameron, named after a local big wig who seemed to own most of the land Penola is built on. It's obviously very new and as soon as we pulled up outside reception we knew we'd picked a good place to stay.

The owners/managers were pleasant and helpful. A friendly black lab named 'Cooper' wanders about and loved a pat.

Our room was quite large, with a massive bathroom and flat screen TV.

The courtyard has a nice grassed area, which makes a pleasant change from a bitumen expanse. Another guest was airing their tent on it.

The motel is well-situated, an easy walk to the centre of town but far enough away to be nice and quiet. There is a park across the street.

Overall, an excellent place to stay whilst exploring all of Penola's charms. We also received a discount for checking out before 10:00. We recommended it to my wife's sister, who found it to be utopian after an indifferent stay the previous night in Victor Harbor.

This place deserves to do well.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.7 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
188 reviews
3.0 mi away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#2 of 4 in Coonawarra
17 reviews
11.4 mi away
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Cameron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Property: Alexander Cameron Suites
Address: 23-25 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing