We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Outing in Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Cameron Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hi, We booked for a family outing from Adelaide and were in for a pleasant surprise. Rooms were clean and hygienic. Location was excellent with (IGA nextdoor, restaurant and bakery 100mtrs) on the main road. Staff very courteous and accommodating.
We had an excellent experience ad will go back to the same place next time we visit this area.
Kudos and keep up the good work
Sohan Moses and Fly

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sohanmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 263 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went up to Penola to celebrate my birthday and we decided to stay at the Alexander Cameron. What a great choice the rooms were great, well decorated and large, exelent value for money. the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, and all of this so close to Penola CBD we walked to Pipers for dinner. Bloody top notch

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The rooms are clean, modern and the motel is walking distance to the main street. A great location for doing some wine tasting in the coonawarra region. The rooms at the back look over a lovely paddock. Also great for guests if you have a big event or wedding in the area (like we did!). Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coonawarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCamPenola, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, looking forward to seeing you again :)
Marnee & the girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

They said it si a 4 stars... assuming a motel type of hotel would get 4 stars level.. But I admit everyone in the family was pretty happy with this stop over. Considering most of the motels in Australia, this one is just good. Nice bathrooms, spa type bath, big bedrooms, comfortable furnitures. Something else than a microwave to heat food as well as large plates would be a must.
I would go back here where I would not in most of the motels we have been before. Note that there are not many things to do in Penola...!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stopped over on way to Adelaide..after a 6 hour drive from Melbourne, and was most impressed..clean airconditioned and tidy room in first class order added to which the most obliging management staff made us welcome....So much so that we changed our return route from Adelaide, so we could stay there again on way home.

Room Tip: Rooms are airy clean and quiet without road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizzaofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As soon as you arrive at reception you get a good feeling that Marnee is going to make sure that your stay is OK. Our room was spacious clean and well equipped with all that we would need. Milk, coffee, tea etc. were supplied as was complimentary bottled water. An excellent walk in shower with all toiletries. There was also a microwave and fridge.
The Motel is situated just a short walk from all the shops and restaurants and St Mary MacKillop sites.

Room Tip: Ours was on the east side I think, quiet with fields and patio at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCamPenola, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments, could not do it without such wonderful staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice big room. Clean, good catering facilities and comfy bed. What is not to like. This motel is in a good location situated next door to a large supermarket. There is a shared terrace outside some of the rooms which is a nice place to sit enjoy a glass or two at the end of along day on the road. At the prices they charge I don't think this can be beaten.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasider888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCamPenola, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

We apprieciate all your wonderful comments, thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.7 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
200 reviews
11.4 mi away
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
5.6 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#3 of 4 in Coonawarra
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Cameron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Address: 23-25 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Price Range: $108 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing