We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming and modern spacious rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Cameron Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Cameron Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and modern spacious rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

As soon as you arrive at reception you get a good feeling that Marnee is going to make sure that your stay is OK. Our room was spacious clean and well equipped with all that we would need. Milk, coffee, tea etc. were supplied as was complimentary bottled water. An excellent walk in shower with all toiletries. There was also a microwave and fridge.
The Motel is situated just a short walk from all the shops and restaurants and St Mary MacKillop sites.

Room Tip: Ours was on the east side I think, quiet with fields and patio at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hfba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCamPenola, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments, could not do it without such wonderful staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    60
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
119
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice big room. Clean, good catering facilities and comfy bed. What is not to like. This motel is in a good location situated next door to a large supermarket. There is a shared terrace outside some of the rooms which is a nice place to sit enjoy a glass or two at the end of along day on the road. At the prices they charge I don't think this can be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCamPenola, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apprieciate all your wonderful comments, thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is quite a new property, the amenities are nice and the room we had was enormous! We had a corner 'room' which really consisted of two rooms, a huge bathroom and spa room. There was a lot of space which families can appreciate. The ablity to park out-side your room makes packing and unpacking easier. The cooking facilities are limited, so though the motel is located next to a supermarket, you couldn't really 'cook' your dinner (we did try to microwave some pasta with failed sucess - there could be more crockery and microwave friendly dishes). My main problem with the motel was the amount we were charged on top of the room rate to use the spa. We were charged $40 to use the spa as we were told it had to be cleaned. With two children travelling on the road, we thought they would love a bath, so we paid. The spa was filthy. It was full of hair and soap scum. My husband who was very reluctant to pay the extra but likes to avoid a scene cleaned the spa before we used it. Still feel a bit ripped off. I regret not speaking to management. Ask for an inspection before you pay the fee.

Room Tip: If you are after space ask for the corner room/s. Incredible amount of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCamPenola, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
As the Manager of Alexander Cameron Motel ,this review leaves me astonished .
All our rooms have sufficient crockery,utensils equal to the number of guests.
(Maybe we could add a range of Microwave dishes ?)
The guest was advised when the Suite was booked 2 Days prior the Spa Bath was an optional extra if required at the rate of $40.
Does the reviewer actually think the readers will believe this review we would leave a Spa Room at a 4 star Motel full of hair and soap scum and offer the option of cleaning it after checkin ?
So did the guest clean the Spa themselves after 5pm when they checked in prior to use ,pay the $40 and not complain to avoid a scene?
I personally inspected the Spa Room prior to the check-in to make sure its up to standard and with all our potential guests encourage viewings of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We did a little online research on the road and just rocked up. We did a quick inspection and it was immediately clear that this motel was above average. The room was modern, and spacious and well appointed. The bathroom likewise. A great place to relax after a few wineries and a short walk into the restaurants at Penola.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank avagander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked this motel of online and must sat what a huge surprise when we got there, staff were fantastic, the room absolutely massive and the cute black labrador was friendly, a must if you are travelling around the Coonawarra area

Room Tip: number 3 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank infoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and spaciousness of this motel room. It was above the norm, very clean with lovely decor and the queen bed was very comfortable. A highlight for us was the kitchen area with a small sink, microwave and limited cutlery and crockery but enough to organize our own breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed on a Thursday night and there were no vacancies which indicates its popularity. We recommend this motel highly.

Room Tip: If you want to look out onto a rural setting the rooms at the back are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This place is five star will not disappoint. Nice clean rooms, Bedroom had a queen and a king single which were both comfortable bed, good size shower and bathroom area, good tv and reasonable kichen area with jug, toaster, microwave and fridge. Staff were nice and accomadating as well

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigruss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.7 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#3 of 5 in Coonawarra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
0.0 mi away
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Cameron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Property: Alexander Cameron Suites
Address: 23-25 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia (Formerly Alexander Cameron Motel & Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing