We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Cameron Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Certificate of Excellence
Christmas Island, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most highly recommended”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked a room and the room looked more like a modern, big city apartment than the normal country motel that we expected for the price. Excellent value!

Located just at the end of the main street in town, our room looked eastward, onto a large paddock with huge trees that looked like it could be used to graze a couple of hundred head of cattle. About half of the rooms share this same aspect. On the western side of the motel was an extensive and well maintained park. The internal quadrangle was open lawn and scrubs. The bird song in the morning was wonderful.

Great facilities, great location and real value for money.

Room Tip: Get one of the eastern facing rooms looking over the paddock/s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryH474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    62
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
125
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gawler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

a group of 20 stayed here for 3 nights and we could not be more pleased with the accomodation, (so spacious), service and friendliness (especially by cooper).
Reasonably priced, centrally located with all the facilities you could need.
Not only would I happily stay there again, I readily and confidently recommend it to others.
This was the consensus of our whole group.
The booking and room sorting for such a big group was handled swiftly and professionally as was the check out.
Thanks to Dean, Sally and all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Alexander Cameron motel for a one-night stopover between Melbourne and Adelaide at the end of June. We knew we would be arriving late so the owners made sure we could walk straight in to a warm room. The facilities were very good, much of it appeared to be new. The main room and bathroom were both large, as is typical of country motels. It's set back off the main road and we had no problems with noise. The location is close enough to the town centre that we could walk to dinner in a few minutes. I'm sure we'll be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

In May we spent the most wonderful weekend away at Penola. This hotel was the most cleanest, neatest, comfortable and affordable place we have stayed at. The service by Dean was amazing, they were very helpful, and the premises was so close to everything, i would have loved to have stayed longer, if not moved in completely!! haha
We had our 2 year old with us and they were very child friendly, especially with the supermarket right next door (although you do not hear any noise from there) so it was very easy to grab items when needed.
Such a quaint, quiet town, and a stones throw away from sooo many wineries, we will definately be back!
Robyn Welsh

Room Tip: We had a corner family room, but i would definately think any room in this premises would be amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here last December. The check-in was quick and easy (we booked via Wotif) and we could park right outside our door. We stayed in a studio room that had a lovely outlook over paddocks with cows – shame the terrace didn’t have any outdoor furniture so we could make the most of it. The room was very spacious, modern and clean. The location is very handy – there’s an IGA right next door and it’s a short walk to the restaurants in town. Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the paddocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed just a night but we found the rooms to be excellent. We got 2 rooms with a shared bathroom. Rooms are immaculately presented with lots of space, amenities and looked brand new....Suprised when we found out the rooms were redone about 6-7 years ago!

Great location, situated right next to the IGA and a short walk to the cafes/restaurants of the main shopping strip and a short drive to all the wineries.

Also has a kitchenette with everything you need. So if you want to bring your own breakfast (which we did), you can.

Great place and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoniuBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ararat, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have stayed at Alexander Cameron Motel numerous times. Dean And Sally are always welcoming. the rooms are so clean there is everything you need in them. The short stroll to shops and eateries is great.I always look forward to returning here as i know i will be very welcome

Room Tip: I have no tip as all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kehogan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.7 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
188 reviews
3.0 mi away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#2 of 4 in Coonawarra
17 reviews
11.4 mi away
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Cameron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Property: Alexander Cameron Suites
Address: 23-25 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing