We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full marks for location and functionality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Cameron Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This motel is perfectly located for Penola/Coonawarra visitors. You can walk to all the shops, restaurants, cafes and places of interest in Penola. All the Coonawarra wineries are within a few kilometers. A large supermarket is next door and the information centre is a couple of blocks away.

Rooms are clean, large and well appointed - modern minimalist furniture and all the necessary equipment and consumables. Plenty of hanging space and a big bathroom.

There is a lot of heavy traffic on the main road (logging trucks) but the rooms are set back and traffic noise was not an issue for our party.

Recommended as the best motel accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed here with my family and had a wonderful weekend. The rooms are fantastic, huge, modern and very clean. After a very easy check-in and warm welcome from the manager, we had a meet and greet with the wonderful black lab called Cooper. I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a nice clean, comfortable,family friendly place to stay in Penola.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

You know you have booked at the right place when you are greeted within seconds of parking your car by a courteous manager and his friendly labrador pooch named Cooper. You know when you meet a canine that is gentle, friendly, and that looks and smells clean and healthy? Well you could use parallel adjectives to describe both the pooch and the accommodation. We recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleNoosa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The location is quiet, southern end of town. Piper's restaurant is walking distance - award winning country fine dining. Also well guarded - three SA motorcycle police were billeted there on our nights stay!!!

Room Tip: The deluxe king bed room was excellent value at $5/night above the standard rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Absolutely fantastic accommodation!
We had a room with king size bed, fantastic large room, tv, and bathroom. Super clean, fab location just a few minutes walk from restaurants, cafes and shops.
Best quality motel I've ever stayed in. Staff were very friendly and obliging.
Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrip32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Alexander Cameron Motel is centrally located (next to the best IGA in Australia and across the road from a nice little park). It is spacious and well presented in quiet and peaceful surroundings. Our family arrived on an extremely hot day and were delighted to find the air-conditioning had been turned on in preparation for our arrival. The deluxe room and bathroom were above expectation in every way: modern; clean; spacious; and in excellent repair. All that we required was at our finger tips and for what we considered an extremely reasonable price. We cannot recommended this motel more highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property as these rooms share a communal balcony overlooking empty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Starting with the ease of the booking, and then the neat and beautiful gardens on arrival, set the scene for a lovely stay in Penola. The motel was neat and clean and extremely spacious. It was cool and just looking out on the garden helped me to feel cool on an extremely hot day. The easy walk into town to a wonderful choice of eating out options was fantastic also. No traffic noise whatsoever. Breakfast was incredibly yummy.
Thankyou - I would reccomend this to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tut412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.7 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
200 reviews
11.4 mi away
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
5.6 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#3 of 4 in Coonawarra
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Cameron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Address: 23-25 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Price Range: $108 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing