We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A RETURN VISIT”
Review of Pipers of Penola

Pipers of Penola
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Penola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A RETURN VISIT”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A group of 8 go away together once a year and to celebrate 2 of the groups 60th birthday, they chose Pipers. It was our second visit, andf we were not dissappointed with either. The food is so beautifull presented, and such attention to detail is very well thought out. We all had 3 courses and there wsd not a person who complained about any of their choices. A memorable dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank monicab921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    38
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
317 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“one of the best meals of our trip”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pipers of Penola is regularly mentioned as one of the best restaurants in South Australia so we made it a point to dine here when we finally got a chance to visit Penola. The prices are not low but the meal is well worth the splurge.

Dining room is small and tastefully decorate with humorous paintings of food. Simon & Erica Bowen (Simon is indeed of Bowen Estate) run an professional operation. We were asked if we had any food allergies, at the time we made our reservations.

We tried a lovely beef prime rib while we were there. The amuse bouche of borscht shooter was pleasantly tangy.

Pipers is a must-visit if ever in Penola.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendywelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely evening here, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the food was fantastic and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The menu is not huge but it should cater to all. Overall, a lovely little hidden gem, we will definately be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hobart
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't go past this restaurant for dinner”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you step through the front door to the moment you leave - you will have a lovely evening. Menu was well put together and the flavours combined beautifully on the plate. We shared an entree and dessert and had a main each and didn't feel over full and stuffed.
Friendly and well trained staff helped the evening to be a very memorable one.
A must do for dinner in Penola!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magrbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Do not miss this one”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ok, you came to Penola nd it is time for dinner. Be sure to book ahead at Pipers. First, food is really fresh, the menu has a wide variation, and their goal is not yo stuff ou but to give you a broad spectrum of tastes as your dining experience. Their wine selection is very broad and many of the ones that you tasted earlier will appear on the wine list. The service is excellent, and the restaurnat itself is in what looks like a defunct church--really quiet. Good background music but no reason to raise your voice

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnawc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipers of Penola also viewed

Coonawarra, South Australia
 
Coonawarra, South Australia
Penola, South Australia
 

Been to Pipers of Penola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing