We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Gorgeous”

Maggie Beer's Farm Shop
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Nuriootpa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Bambra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gorgeous”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love Maggie Beer and it was a delight to be able to visit her farm/shop while in Tanunda for a brief visit....some fabulous Christmas presents ensued for the Victorians....happy happy!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiCountrywide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    386
    153
    73
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clare, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places to go in the Barossa”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The things I like about Maggie Beer's are the extremely friendly and helpful staff, who are always graceful under pressure, the 'fast' food where you can pick up your lunch in a matter of minutes, the rustic way it is served and the wonderful opportunity to while away an afternoon next to a dam full of wildlife, enjoy a great wine and satisfying lunch. We never mind the pate in its 'shop' containers, love the Freekah salad and don't mind the rolls. It's busy mid week during school holidays and always at the weekends, but somehow we are always able to find a table and chairs. It's a regular visiting spot and we love the farm shop, the chance to taste and browse.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great change of pace and product”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely little place! Unfortunately when we were there it was jam-packed, so moving around was a bit of a claustrophobic shuffle, but most of the items were available to taste (except the dukkah, and I think the ice-creams could do with a tasting station too!), and the crowds cleared in the time we were there. If we hadn't had a large lunch (and plentiful wine tastings) I would have loved to have had a sit-down light meal.

Staff were warm and friendly, and seemed happy and not phased by the throng of people. Lots of people sitting and eating (light meals and coffee). Lovely bush surroundings and the lake with lots of happy turtles to look at. Sure, their primary aim would be to promote the Maggie Beer brand and products, but face it, every winery for 80km around is pushing the same idea.

As this was the fourth stop on our "Vine to the Bottle" day tour, we were a bit over the wine tasting (shocking, I know!) so couldn't bring ourselves to try out the Beer Bros wine offerings, but I would whole-heartedly recommend this as a lovely little stop in your day travelling around the Barossa, just for a change of pace and product.

Helpful?
Thank phoenix555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a lovely break”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

after the wineries, the farm shop was a bit of an oasis - with a buzz of people, a free cooking demonstration, and a vast array of maggie beer supplies, this seemed to be the THE spot for a rest. What sold us to take an extended break was the mini, turtle filled lake out back and a number of tables with large umbrellas.

We ordered quite overpriced fare of cheddar cheese, 2 glasses of reisling, pate (maggie beer brand in the actual cup you find in a store), and quince paste and sat down in the 38 degree heat for about 45 min and relaxed.

shame there was little prepared food and most was already packaged in the maggie beer containers.

Stop in the future? sure. Highlight? atmosphere and vibe were great but just average for a snack

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joshicooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
167 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A nice spot for a lunch out on the deck”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This place is pretty popular with both tour buses and people visiting the Barossa. When in the Barossa we usually stop to pick up some of Maggies products and have lunch sitting out on the deck overlooking their dam and all the turtles. The lunch packs are quite nice and they also have their own range of wines.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie Beer's Farm Shop also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 
Lyndoch, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Angaston, Barossa Valley
Marananga, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Maggie Beer's Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing