We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect barossa getaway”
Review of The Paddocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Paddocks
Ranked #1 of 1 Nuriootpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited Whistler Farm for a one night couple's retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and could not have had a better time. The farm itself is stunning, and we immediately felt at home from the warm welcome by Chris and Jayne. The olive suite was spacious and clean, and we enjoyed utilising the wood fire in the room whilst enjoying a complimentary bottle of whistler's wine. After visiting a few wineries, Chris was kind enough to drive us to, and collect us from, out restaurant (1918- highly recommended) which allowed us to fully savour the evening without inhibition.

We had a brilliant time which enhanced the barossa experience for us, and given the opportunity we would definitely return. Thanks against Chris and Jayne for your wonderful hospitality. Bret and Lisa

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgess_bret1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Hi Bret and Lisa
Thank you for choosing Whistler Farm for your get-away from the city. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you like one of our favourite restaurants 1918.
Hopefully you will get back here before you leave for the UK.
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed for a couple of days over Easter. The property was well equipped, comfortable, well located and relaxing. It was very convenient having all the provisions provided for a large tasty breakfast and nice to eat in the garden- if a little fresh at this time of year! The platter left us to go with the wine had some delicious cold meats too and made a great dinner after a long drive to the property.

Jayne & Chris were very hospitable and we appreciated the lift to Hentley Farm so we could enjoy the full wine matching. (This was a really great restaurant.)The property is also within walking distance of Maggie Beer's farm which was a nice experience.

We went to the weekly farmers market on their recommendation as well as a number of vineyards in our short stay. We will be back for another long weekend hopefully.

Room Tip: We were in the vineyard suite- at the front of the house. This was fine in terms of the owners going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Hi Pippa
Isn't Hentley Farm just a wonderful restaurant. A great way to spend a long lazy lunch with fabulous food and wine. We would love to visit it more often.
Thanks for choosing Whistler Farm for your stay in the Barossa - it is great to be able to just walk across the paddock and down the track to visit Maggie's Farm Shop and have a coffee or a light lunch.
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

If you are making vacation plans to visit the Barossa Valley area, then look no further for a place to stay. Whistler B&B is centrally located to numerous vineyards, well appointed, clean, and safe. The owner operators, Chris and Jayne, are very pleasant and helpful, but not intrusive. We were guests of theirs for 4 nights and made daily outings in our rental car to explore the local antique shops, vineyards, and restaurants. Wines from Australia and Germany happen to be our favorites. Visiting Wolf Blass, Penfolds, Jacobs Creek, and other wine produces with products found in our hometown bottle shop overseas was a fun treat. There are also a couple of quality chocolate shops in the area. In vino veritas! > Whistler Farm B&B is your best choice for a "home base" for touring the Barossa Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Walt it was wonderful to meet you both and to share some time with you. We are pleased you enjoyed everything the Barossa had to offer and for choosing Whistler Farm for your stay.

Hopefully you will be back one day or we might check out your island.

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and i had the pleasure of spending 6 glorious nights with Jayne & Chris on the farm and can not speak highly enough of the entire experience, The rooms are beautifully presented and you even have your own kitchen with a beautiful breakfast of farm fresh produce supplied daily. The hospitality shown to us by Chris & Jayne was amazing even down to the point where we were invited to a meet and greet with drinks in their own home and a complimentary bottle of Whistler wine on arrival .Every aspect of the farm is 5 star and we would not hesitate to recommend it to any of our friends and will not think of staying anywhere else when next we are in the Barossa.
Once again thank you both for making our holiday a memorable and enjoyable one.
Brian & Sandy

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hi Brian and Sandy

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We enjoyed your company and were pleased that you enjoyed your time here in the Barossa. Hope all was well when you arrived home.

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

2 nights at the Whistler farm set us up for a most enjoyable break around the Barossa valley. Jayne's and Chris's hospitality exceeds all expectations, including a lift to a fine local restaurant and back when we arrived late and tired on the first night. The bottle of Whistler shiraz we had on the second night courtesy of our hosts, was divine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, Chris and I really appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed yourselves in our wonderful valley.

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Jayne and Chris are to be congratulated on there farm stay. There hospitality and kindness went beyond a host family they are friendly, informative and have a great wine to boot. I would advise anyone who is travelling to the Barossa to seek this place out. The breakfast provisions were amazing and the cleanliness of the 2 rooms outstanding. This in one place we would return to.

Room Tip: There are two rooms to ,choose from The Vineyard and The Olivegrove Choose either they are both grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loretta57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi Loretta

It was great meeting the four of you and we thoroughly enjoyed your company. Glad you liked our place and of course the Barossa.

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had 3 days by your marvelous bed & breakfast place. You have one of the best bed & breakfast places, I can think of. Your make us feel very welcome and your kindness and hospitality was also amazing. I can recommend Whistler Farm. Stay there and you will find out who great and peaceful place it is and how kindly people Jayne and Chris are. I will very much like to come back and stay there again.

Best Regards,
Lars and Marianne Aaen, Denmark

Room Tip: Vælg the Olive Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianneAaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi Marianne and Lars

Thank you for choosing Whistler Farm for your stay in the Barossa - it was lovely to meet you both. Look out for our wines in Copenhagen.

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuriootpa
5.9 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
1.5 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
319 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barossa House
Barossa House
#3 of 14 in Tanunda
152 reviews
7.1 mi away
Collingrove Homestead
Collingrove Homestead
#2 of 8 in Angaston
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddocks

Address: 191 Samuel Rd, Nuriootpa, South Australia 5355, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Nuriootpa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nuriootpa
Price Range: $210 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located halfway between Tanunda & Nuriootpa in the heart of the Barossa Valley, right next door to one of Australia's best known cooks - Maggie Beer. The farm house has two suites - Vineyard and Olive Grove Suite. Both suites have en-suites, kitchenette and a private courtyard with Weber Q's for outdoor eating. On arrival enjoy a cheese platter and if booking through our website a complimentary bottle of Rolf Binder or Whistler wine. Also available through our website booking is complimentary evening restaurant drop off and pick up service. We also cater to those wishing to do the Rockford Lunch and the Hentley Farm Lunch with a complimentary drop off and pick up service to take the headache out of driving. Transport for the lunches would have to be organised at booking to ensure availability of our driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Paddocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddocks Nuriootpa, Barossa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing