We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Paddocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Paddocks
Ranked #1 of 1 Nuriootpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Whistler farm. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. Equipped with everything you need for a great stay including a nespresso machine!! Comfortable bed and pillows and quiet surroundings will definitely stay again if we go to the barrossa valley.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
169
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Whistler Farm is fantastic. We could not rate it highly enough. The room is spotless, the bed cosy and the hosts generous and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Every thing was thought of and everything done to make our stay truly memorable. We recommend visiting Whistler Wines, Maggie Beers Farm Shop for lunch and Appellation for dinner. They are all very close to Whistler Farm. We will stay here again on our next trip to the Barossa Valley. Thank you Chris and Jayne we will be back. Audrey and Dario

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We were pleased you had the time to sit on our back patio with us and share a drink and a chat. Glad yo enjoyed our recommendations and I believe Appellation had a little surprise for you for Dario's birthday and your wedding anniversary. Trust there will be many more and hopefully you will be back in the Barossa some time to enjoy another milestone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently stayed at Whistler Farms for a couple nights while on our honeymoon. Jayne and Chris were magnificent hosts. Jayne took care of our reservations for dinner both nights (both restaurants were excellent – a Vietnamese place called Ferment Asia and the tasting menu at Appellation.) Jayne went out of her way numerous times to make sure that we had everything we needed and even drove us to the restaurant and picked us up the first night so that my husband could drink. Jayne also had bikes for us to hire and gave us some great winery recommendations. The rooms were spotless and the kitchenette had everything we needed (and included a delicious breakfast and meat and cheese plate!). Also, we were able to get a free bottle of wine upon arrival from the Whistler Winery (which we also visited and it is lovely – complete with rescue kangaroos). This was by far the best B&B we have been to and had a lot of personal touches. Additionally, the farm is lovely (I fell in love with one of the horses) and there is a nice patio off of our room that we were able to eat our breakfast at and a Weber grill. I would highly recommend this B&B and would love to stay again if I ever get the opportunity to visit Australia/Barossa in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Kara and Ken
Thanks for staying with us at Whistler Farm. It was great having a drink and a chat on our back patio with you both. We have sent your wines back - hopefully they will be home when you arrive after your time in New Zealand.
Jayne and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights with Chris and Jayne at Whistler farm and loved every minute of it. They are wonderful hosts and the olive grove and vineyard suites are delightful. We can't recommend it highly enough. Jayne even went to the trouble of driving our family of 4 to and from a restaurant in Tanunda on our final night. Things like this really make a difference and we look forward to staying here again in the future. You won't find a nicer place to stay in the Barossa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Whistler Farm B&B last week and couldn’t rate it highly enough. The rooms were modern yet cosy and spotlessly clean. We had our own weber bbq outside our room and it meant we could enjoy eating dinner under the stars in our private part of the garden. Jayne and Chris are great hosts and invited us for a glass of wine and a chat with them on our first day when Jayne gave us some useful tips on the area and even offered to drive us to our chosen restaurant for dinner one night. The breakfast provisions that are left are more than plentiful and it was great to have fresh eggs laid by their own chickens! It was our first time in the Barossa Valley and we would not hesitate to stay again at Whistler Farm when we are next in the region. We will certainly be recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Natasha I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Chris and I thoroughly enjoyed our chat over a glass of wine or two. Pleased to hear your wines arrived safely - a little bit of the Barossa to remind you of your stay each time you open a bottle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

A colleague and I recently had business meetings in the northern area of Adelaide (Edinburgh). Rather than stay in central Adelaide and fight city traffic to the meetings each day, we opted to say in the Barossa and drive the highway south to the meetings. It was the best strategic decision I've made all year. The trip to Edinburg was actually faster for us than for our colleagues in the city, and staying at Whistler Farm in the quiet of the Barossa was fabulous. There are two large comfortable self-contained bedrooms, with kitchenettes for each room. A lovely assortment of farm fresh eggs, home made yoghurt, breads, with which to make our breakfast was laid out every evening. Both rooms had private patios complete with BBQ's which allowed us to grill up our supper. (We had originally planned to dine out most evenings but it was so pleasant at the cottage we opted to purchase some groceries and local wines and eat-in almost every evening.) There isn't any place for guests to do the dishes so we just tidied up the kitchenette and our hosts would have the dishes done while we were out at meetings through the day.

Whistler is located within easy reach of an array of wonderful wineries, and in fact, Whister's own wines were among the best that I tasted while in the Barossa. We stayed 7 days and could happily have stayed another 7 I'm sure.

The accommodations are of course only half of the story. Jayne and Chris were incredible hosts and excellent company as well. I'll provide just one example of their generosity - A (third) colleague had hoped to stay with us at Whistler but there are only two rooms so he found accommodations nearby. Nonetheless, he spent most evenings at Whistler with us, either working, dining, or socializing and was he welcomed like family by Jayne and Chris, including a lovely evening meal that Jayne and Chris invited the three of us to share with them.

I can only imagine how enjoyable Whistler would be if I was on vacation given how much I enjoyed my time there while I was working all day - hopefully I'll manage to get back there with my family and find out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
It was a pleasure having you here for your week in Australia. Chris and I thoroughly enjoyed your company, the drinks and the conversations we had at the end of a day. Look forward to you coming back with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 5 days and 4 nights at Chris and Jayne's home, the Whistler Farm B&B. We were treated like family our entire stay. Chris and Jayne were available if we needed them and even drove us and picked us up from a restaraunt one evening. We also had a BBQ with them one evening where was it white and red wine and steaks on the BBQ. We shared stories and got to know each other. They provided great suggestions for places to eat and visit. The accomodations (room, kitchenette area and bathroom) were very clean and basically superb. The pictures on their website are extremely accurate and their B&B is walking distance to Maggie Beer's farm. Last, we rate their Shiraz at the top of our wine choices from the dozen or so cellars we visited while in the Barossa. Yes, we highly suggest staying with Chris and Jayne at the Whistler Farm B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P, Owner at The Paddocks, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to your return visit or perhaps you may see us up in Hervey Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuriootpa
6.0 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
2.0 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
3.3 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 3 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddocks

Property: The Paddocks
Address: 191 Samuel Rd, Nuriootpa, South Australia 5355, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Nuriootpa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nuriootpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located halfway between Tanunda & Nuriootpa in the heart of the Barossa Valley, right next door to one of Australia's best known cooks - Maggie Beer. The farm house has two suites - Vineyard and Olive Grove Suite. Both suites have en-suites, kitchenette and a private courtyard with Weber Q's for outdoor eating. On arrival enjoy a cheese platter and if booking through our website a complimentary bottle of Rolf Binder or Whistler wine. Also available through our website booking is complimentary evening restaurant drop off and pick up service. We also cater to those wishing to do the Rockford Lunch and the Hentley Farm Lunch with a complimentary drop off and pick up service to take the headache out of driving. Transport for the lunches would have to be organised at booking to ensure availability of our driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Paddocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddocks Nuriootpa, Barossa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing