We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of Moonta hotel

Moonta hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Moonta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Moonta Hotel was established over 150 years ago. We are Heritage listed and pride ourselves on offering great, friendly service along with local produce to accommodate our customers every needs. The hotel has its very own courtesy bus to pick up or drop off our patrons. We also have the latest gaming machines. SA lotteries ( Keno ) TAB. Sip and Save drive through Bottleshop. Restaurant and Alfresco Dining ( We offer Gluten Free Meals ) We also offer take away meals that we can deliver to your door. The Hotel has a Kids Play Room. So come on in for an ice cold beer/meal and enjoy what our hotel has to offer.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A very good menu and well worth the visit. Moreton Bay Bugs were delicious as was the pistachio chicken and the other meals enjoyed by all. The wine list could be a little more extensive, but on the whole, a lovely meal with great staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Honest pub meal”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went with another family for an evening meal. Unpretentious, standard pub dining room. Pleasant and quick service. Most of our group ordered steaks of different types and none of us were disappointed. Would go again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 99TedP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The food was delicious and the service was average. We went in a group of eight and all received our meals on time and the food was great quality it tasted great! Everyone enjoyed they're meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyClapper2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensational food, service and hospitality!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

After a long hot drive to Moonta we arrived late (around 8o'clock), looking for a late tea. We decided to call in to the Moonta hotel after it was recommended to us by a friend. However being a country pub our expectations weren't high. Wow did we get a shock! The lay out of this pub is excellent with inviting lounges on the alfresco area, great to relax and have a drink and watch the cricket on the plasma t.v. As soon as we walked in we were politely greeted and waited upon. The waiter did a great job fitting us in and finding us a table as the pub was very busy. The meals was most surprising (we recommend the pistachio chicken, lamb shanks, seafood platter and fish and chips for the little ones!) The serving sizes were perfect and the meals were delicious! the food came out just on time and what was most delightful was having the free salad and veg bar to tie us over before our meals :) All in all we were very pleased with this pub and definitely recommended it as it is one of the best in moonta! HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY! we will be back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

After a quick visit in Moonta on a 40degree day we decided to pop in for a few coldies and dinner with the kids. We were greeted quickly by a lovely woman who the whole time we were there was bubbly and gave wonderful service (Bec?). Wine list could do with a small upgrade. The food was good pub grub we had the seafood platter and shared it and the kids had the normal kids meal selections. Would definitely pop back in!!

Helpful?
Thank Ellissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonta hotel also viewed

Moonta, South Australia
 
Moonta, South Australia
Moonta, South Australia
 

Been to Moonta hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing