We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Moonta Mines Museum
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Moonta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum is located in the former Moonta Mines Model School, erected in 1878. The school remained an active and important centre for the Moonta Mines community for ninety years and closed in 1968. The museum has 15 rooms and houses thematic displays on the Cornish miners' lifestyles - mining, lodges and friendly societies, sports and pastimes, death and hardship, extensive displays of costumes, china, silverware, photographs and memorabilia and a classroom furnished c.1900.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Loved the train ride and the whole experience. Guide was so knowledgeable about the history and buildings

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cosmicwolf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Digging up the past !”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Last w.e. our car club visited the Moonta Mines Museum and other venues around the area.The museum is well worth a visit with a great little train, driven by knowledgeable volunteers who are willing to share their wealth of information.You could easily spend a couple of hours , if you had the time , reading about life back in the 19th Century , when the nines were at their peak. Across the road from the museum is a great sweet shop and a must for all to visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evans2betsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“love it!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

its such a wonderful place to visit. i go to moonta every year for a fantastic holiday. When ever i go there for a holiday i always come here to the museum its great as its next to the train and the old lolly shop. you also learn a lot about mines.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tully C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting History Lesson”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I took my young son on the Moonta Mines tourist train just because he loves trains, and didn't expect any more than a nice train ride. However, I got a fascinating history lesson about the Moonta area and mines. The guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and entertaining.

We went on a Wednesday and both train services (2pm and 3pm) were full. At about 1 hour long, this probably isn't suitable for very young children. Be aware that despite a roof over the train you are exposed to the weather as the sides are open - so wear sunscreen or a jacket.

A relaxed, good value, and well run tourist attraction for anyone with even the slightest interest in history or mining.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scotttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Surprised it was so good”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I went into the Museum not expecting too much and found I was mistaken.

The staff were pleasant and had vast knowledge and the museum itself was easy to navigate and kept teenagers interested, so it must be OK.

Its great for kids to be able to learn so much about their local history in the one place.

Make sure you take a look at the ruins around the place and a short train ride if you have the time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SthOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonta Mines Museum also viewed

 

Been to Moonta Mines Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing