We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Average”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moonta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonta Bay Patio Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moonta
Certificate of Excellence
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in the new refurbished room, it was Ok , but I was annoyed there was no toaster in the room, the view from the rooms at the back are just of the car park, the one at the front have views from the side of building, you pay about $30 more to stay in the refurbished rooms. The TV chanels are limited to about 11 , even though they have Foxtel , and they try to charge you for internet use even though their guide book in the room says its free. The sunset is fantastic , watching the sun go down on Moonta Bay is not to be missed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
33
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We chose to stay here to be close to the new Dunes golf course. The motel overlooks Moonta Bay. The rooms are being refurbished and are clean and comfortable. New flat screen TVs with access to a limited number of cable channels. The bathrooms are what you would expect at an average country class motel - clean with new showers and basins. They provide soap, shampoo and conditioner. The staff were all very friendly and happy to chat if approached. We would stay there again if in the area. Ate at a seafood restaurant 250m away on the seafront. The food was quite good but a little on the pricey side given the decor and the presentation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank urrbrae_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Not sure what others are whinging about regarding the place. Yes, it's basic, but you get what you pay for... Basic, comfortable beds, air conditioner, big tv, short walk to the beach. What more could you want! If you want more stay at the Seagate, but expect to pay another $50 a night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thegurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The decor really needs some work, bathroom was not nice ...it felt dirty as things are rusty and stained (yuk), the shower is just surrounded by a curtain which means the floor gets very wet. The bed was comfortable enough but the linen was somewhat worn and mismatched as were the towels. The room was at the front but with no screen on the door you didn't really want to open the front and the window was covered by very dusty curtains. Best thing was the huge new TV which looked hilarious when you see the decor.
Location is great close to the beach walkable distance to the towns centre. With a revamp they could give the newer motel in the bay a run for their money!
Was not impressed with the reception lady who did not even look up to acknowledge us when we walked in just told us to wait a minute while she continued doing whatever she was doing on the computer..A Huge NO-NO In hospitality !!
For that receptionist..a tip: much better to stop typing look and greet people, chat to see how you can help and ....if you really have to finish something before taking their booking, then, you can ask if they mind waiting a sec whilst you get out of whatever or do whatever on the computer...

Room Tip: Hmm tricky as the room was just so dated and I imagine all other were is similiar condition. Probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Earlier this year we stayed overnight at Moonta Bay Patio Motel. We did the right thing and phoned to advise that we would not arrive until around 10pm. This was fine by the receptionist. We arrived around 9.30pm and was greeted by a very uninterested person in the dining area. There were still people in the restaurant, so very unsure why we greeted so rudely. Room was at rear and was not what I could say in average condition

Room Tip: not sure if any other rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Carpeting is new, bedding is fine, but the bathroom needs a complete remodel. The shower is a drain in the floor surrounded by a shower curtain. Sink was appalling, faucets were awful. The room was clean, there is a refrigerator, and tea and coffee making supplies.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oz1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Clair, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We didn't have time to do any research on places to stay as it was getting to the end of a long day. I think we got the last room available so if they had better rooms we weren't able to experience them. The motel has a two storey section looking towards the ocean but we were around the back in a single storey complex. I didn't consider the room very clean. The carpet was stained and a trolley in the bathroom was covered in surface rust. I know they're close to the ocean so plastic would have been a better option. Everything just seemed tired and dated. When we showered the entire bathroom floor got wet so it was tricky not slipping over. There was a queen bed and two singles in the room. I sat on one of the single beds and the mattress was so appaling that I instantly sank down to the base. The wall opposite the bed had obviously been vandalised with graffiti at one time and had been painted over. We didn't notice it at night but in the morning it was quite noticeable and creepy. I don't know what the two storey section was like. It could have been very different to our experience and if I stayed again I'd make sure I was at the front. Certainly the outlook would have been better. They had a restaurant which was very busy and seemed popular. We had some lovely fish and chips from a takeaway down the road and the views from the wharf at sunset were spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moonta
0.0 mi away
Moonta Bay Accommodation
Moonta Bay Accommodation
#1 of 2 in Port Moonta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moonta Bay Caravan Park
1.7 mi away
Port Hughes Tourist Park
Port Hughes Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Port Hughes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Wallaroo Marina Apartments
9.3 mi away
Copper Coast Hotel
Copper Coast Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wallaroo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff House Beachfront Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonta Bay Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonta Bay Patio Motel

Property: Moonta Bay Patio Motel
Address: 196 Bay Rd, Moonta, South Australia 5558, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Moonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moonta
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for accommodation in Moonta Bay, the recently renovated Moonta Bay Patio Motel offers clean, comfortable rooms with all modern conveniences. The easy access car park free of charge is suitable for boat trailers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moonta Bay Patio Motel South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing