We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonta Bay Patio Motel
Nearby Hotels
$102
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Anglers Inn(Wallaroo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
24
24
21
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
24
21
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatio restaurantcooked to perfectionstay there againbed was comfortablefood quality was excellentport hughesan extra nightlovely locationeach morningcontinental breakfastshort walk to the beachbiggest bedwater parksteakstayed nightsa great stayenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 75 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The decor really needs some work, bathroom was not nice ...it felt dirty as things are rusty and stained (yuk), the shower is just surrounded by a curtain which means the floor gets very wet. The bed was comfortable enough but the linen was somewhat worn and mismatched as were the towels. The room was at the front but with no screen on the door you didn't really want to open the front and the window was covered by very dusty curtains. Best thing was the huge new TV which looked hilarious when you see the decor.
Location is great close to the beach walkable distance to the towns centre. With a revamp they could give the newer motel in the bay a run for their money!
Was not impressed with the reception lady who did not even look up to acknowledge us when we walked in just told us to wait a minute while she continued doing whatever she was doing on the computer..A Huge NO-NO In hospitality !!
For that receptionist..a tip: much better to stop typing look and greet people, chat to see how you can help and ....if you really have to finish something before taking their booking, then, you can ask if they mind waiting a sec whilst you get out of whatever or do whatever on the computer...

Room Tip: Hmm tricky as the room was just so dated and I imagine all other were is similiar condition. Probably ask for upstairs at the front for a view..
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Earlier this year we stayed overnight at Moonta Bay Patio Motel. We did the right thing and phoned to advise that we would not arrive until around 10pm. This was fine by the receptionist. We arrived around 9.30pm and was greeted by a very uninterested person in the dining area. There were still people in the restaurant, so very unsure why we greeted so rudely. Room was at rear and was not what I could say in average condition

Room Tip: not sure if any other rooms are better
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Carpeting is new, bedding is fine, but the bathroom needs a complete remodel. The shower is a drain in the floor surrounded by a shower curtain. Sink was appalling, faucets were awful. The room was clean, there is a refrigerator, and tea and coffee making supplies.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oz1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We didn't have time to do any research on places to stay as it was getting to the end of a long day. I think we got the last room available so if they had better rooms we weren't able to experience them. The motel has a two storey section looking towards the ocean but we were around the back in a single storey complex. I didn't consider the room very clean. The carpet was stained and a trolley in the bathroom was covered in surface rust. I know they're close to the ocean so plastic would have been a better option. Everything just seemed tired and dated. When we showered the entire bathroom floor got wet so it was tricky not slipping over. There was a queen bed and two singles in the room. I sat on one of the single beds and the mattress was so appaling that I instantly sank down to the base. The wall opposite the bed had obviously been vandalised with graffiti at one time and had been painted over. We didn't notice it at night but in the morning it was quite noticeable and creepy. I don't know what the two storey section was like. It could have been very different to our experience and if I stayed again I'd make sure I was at the front. Certainly the outlook would have been better. They had a restaurant which was very busy and seemed popular. We had some lovely fish and chips from a takeaway down the road and the views from the wharf at sunset were spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Thankyou for your review,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

This motel is well located in the area, with great views of Moonta Bay.

It is an ideal base when staying in the area:

1. It is close to the beach and jetty

2. It's a short drive fron the main business and shopping area in Moonta

3. It's close to Port Hughes

4. There is a restaurant which offers breakfast and dinner- not all accommodation in the area offers food. Also, they offer room service for tired travellers!

5. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, and offer straightforward accommodation

6. Pricing is reasonable for the area










3.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBPatio, Manager at Moonta Bay Patio Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Hi AdelaidianTraveller,

I'm pleased to inform you that since your last visit The Moonta Bay Patio Motel has been upgraded with numerous renovations. We now have new management and are running with great standards, We do hope you'll visit us again soon and if you have time we highly recommend dining in our Patio Restaurant adjacent to the motel.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews