We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences ever!”
Review of Martindale Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mintaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martindale Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mintaro
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences ever!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent Friday night in the Clare Valley and stayed at the stunning Martindale Hall with four friends. Absolutely breathtaking. The building has been so well preserved and is loved by the current caretakers Pierre and Tracey who make you feel so welcome. We had a tour of the house and Pierre was great at answering all our questions and giving us a full rundown on the houses history. Tracey is one of the best cooks going. I absolutely loved dinner in the dining room and the yummy breakfast in the break room with all the old cutlery and crockery. If you are a Downton Abbey fan then this is the place for you. Loved it and would highly recommend it if you are going to be in the area. Thanks Pierre & Tracey for a brilliant night. Was every and more we were hoping for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emwhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bordertown, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Recently my wife and I stayed along with 5 other couples We arrived at 3:30pm to allow us time to check in and prepare for the guided tour at 4:30. It was hot (43C) so we were keen to refresh. We were 'not welcome' until 4:30. We had no prior knowledge of this. Martindale Hall is a magnificent building. We enjoyed a murder mystery evening meal, but were suffering in the heat until a guest organised a pedestal fan. Coffee & tea were not offered at the end of the meal. Some guests suffered with little sleep as there was not even a fan in their room. Breakfast was rushed as hot food was brought out before we had a chance to eat cereal etc. If we had known the cleaners were going to do our rooms while we were at breakfast we could have packed up first. Very annoyed about this as we had personal stuff, valuables etc in the room. We were a nuisance when we wanted to clean our teeth. Guests need to be properly informed of check in/out times & procedures. Given our experiences we cannot recommend it for a stay.

Room Tip: If hot weather get one with aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Martin dale was a incredibly supercalafragalisticexpialadocious!!! Would go there anytime the rooms were incredibly audacious and the building was maintained very well. The staff were very nice and the food was magnificent. Could of stayed there for weeks!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James24726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Let's face it - this is as close to a Downton Abbey experience most of us will ever get!

Adelaide is a lucky city to have this experience less than 2 hours drive away.

I'm surprised by one or two of the reviews here - if you are staying here - you are staying in a museum for the evening.

You'll be dining at the table the tourning English Ashes team dined in 1890 before they played on the Martindale Hall cricket pitch.

Rooms have small beds because these were the actual beds the owners had back in the 1800's when beds were small!

No book on the bookshelf in the pool room dates past World War Two.

There are no ensuites because in the 1800's the owners had no plumbing and servants used to carry out waste (via the back servants passage of course).

Phillipe and Theresa our hosts were delighful - from the tour at the beginning of the evening until way past check in time when Phillipe was still answering questions about the place.

Dress up - the staff encourage you to enjoy yourselves, eat, drink good wine, play pool & lounge in the reception room until the early morning...

... and take that all into account before you book - it's not cheap but in 20 years when many other weekend breaks in more conventional hotels have been forgotten - you'll still be telling friends about Martindale Hall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Martindale Hall is just a beautiful, gorgeous setting for a murder/mystery weekend. The meals were delightfully cooked by Tracey and we were beautifully looked after by Pierre. It was a truly glorious weekend and we were all so sad to leave. We will go back again and could not recommend the experience highly enough. Thank you Tracey and Pierre.

Room Tip: Miranda's room or the Master's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Lovely day trip from clare visiting historic Mintaro. Have lunch at the Teapot Inn home cooked food great ambience and coffee , walk around the town and drive to martin dale hall to view this old mansion. Amazing collection of antiques and beautiful marble staircase. Visit the old hotel and adjacent slate quarry and wineries to complement the day. I have not stayed at martin dale but believe it is great to do so.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emjopage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spend a night here and loved it. We had our own personal tour, use of the full size billiard table, and a three course candle-lit dinner in the dining room, served by our host in formal jacket. The hot breakfast was equally as tasty and the wine selection (offered in the cellar!) was wide enough for all. The only criticism is that it was cold (really very little heating in the whole house) and there was no robe or reminder that the bathroom is down the hall. But in saying that, the electric blankets worked beautifully and it was a special stay, Picnic in Hanging Rock was filmed there and we were delighted to stay in the White Room which features strongly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mintaro
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Clare Central
10.5 mi away
Clare Country Club
Clare Country Club
#1 of 3 in Clare
773 reviews
7.0 mi away
Thorn Park by the Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Clare
489 reviews
21.5 mi away
Burra Motor Inn
Burra Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Burra
115 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Mill Apartments
The Mill Apartments
#2 of 16 in Clare
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martindale Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martindale Hall

Property: Martindale Hall
Address: Manoora Road, Mintaro, South Australia 5415, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mintaro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mintaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Martindale Hall Mintaro, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing