We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mintaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Devonshire House
Ranked #1 of 4 Mintaro B&B and Inns
Naracoorte, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely mid week stay here to celebrate our anniversary. We found the accommodation (Room 1) to be delightful! The apartment was very spacious; it had an excellent kitchen and bathroom and a charming and comfortable period bedroom. The log fire in the lounge area was lovely in the evenings. We had everything we needed and the breakfast provisions were tasty and very generous.

Mintaro is within easy driving distance of all of the Clare Valley attractions and we enjoyed several winery visits. We really enjoyed lunches at Reilly's Restaurant and Skilogallee Winery. Our only disappointment was that the local pub only does meals on weekends!

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windrush44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent our anniversary weekend in historic and quaint Mintaro in the picturesque Clare Valley, Suite was cosy with comfortable bed, quiet room and excellent breakfast provisions. Spa was very relaxing. Suite part of a amazing historic buliding straight out of Provence, it seems with lovely cottage gardens surrounds. Dined at the local pub with great food and had a platter at Reillys for lunch with a crisp riesling. The town itself is so quaint and beautiful to walk around with cared for gardens and cottages. Would recommend a stay to relax and destress.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariebut64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed on a Monday and Tuesday night, and were a bit disappointed to find that most of Mintaro was closed. But the accomodation was fine, and we were very pleased that we couldn't hear a sound from the other occupants of the property Beautiful gardens, and lovely spa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayleedestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

On a recent trip to Adelaide I took a drive up to beautiful Mintaro arriving well into the evening, I called into the local pub , asked about accommodation and was directed to Mark and Julie Ross the owners of Devenshire House; What an extraordinarily friendly couple. We had a great dinner and a few bottles of local red. I overnighted in one of their excellent rooms, enjoyed a great spa, comfortable bedding and ate a sumptuous bacon and egg breakfast under the front verandah. Finished off the morning with coffee and complimentary chocolates. Could not recommend this B and B more highly, beautiful surroundings and totally relaxing. Next trip to adelaide I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arob1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed here for four nights - our first visit to this B&B but certainly not our first visit to lovely Mintaro. We were hoping for a Spa Room but they were fully booked and were offered the Long Room (no bath of any sort) When we arrived it was not quite ready as the owners were replacing the windows. However, we settled in amongst the drilling and banging whilst they completed the renovations. It was very cold at night because there were huge gaps left around the windows and the fire which looked inviting by no means heated the room. The bed was OK - just about comfortablable and it certainly was a very "Long" walk during the night to the bathroom (over 25 metres through the lounge)! The provisions for breakfast were adequate and I am jealous of the previous reviewers who found wine - we only found chocolates! The TV was small and fuzzy and the lighting not condusive to fireside reading. We did enjoy Mintaro very much but would probably chooose not to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wildgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penna1, Owner at Olde Devonshire House, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
We are genuinely sorry that this customer was disappointed with their stay with us. When renovating heritage buildings things do not always go to plan for the tradesmen involved and work was finished 1.5 hours schedule. All spar units had already been booked prior to customer booking request and the long room was offered with full knowledge of standard bathroom with shower facilities prior to customer acceptance. Apart from large fire place 4.5 HP reverse cycle heating/ air conditioning unit is installed in unit. Previous reviewers received a bottle of Clare valley wine as part of the "package" that they chose, however we did provide a bottle of quality red wine to customer to try and make up for the restoration delay. We accept that analogue TV reception was sometimes not good and we have replaced 68cm TV with 125cm digital plasma widescreen unit which has rectified reception problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay for three nights. Mintaro is a charming town and its wonderful to go for an early morning walk. The town is very historical with some lovely old stone buildings, Devonshire House being one of them. Its quite Italianate in style with a lovely garden at the back. Parking is easy and out the front just outside your door. The room was very spacious. There are cooking facilities to cook a meal and cooked breakfast. The TV is small and fuzzy. The open wood fire was lovely. The bed is a queen size but we found it very uncomfortable and was looked great but was not as comfortable as it looked. It is an antique bed with iron ends. I think the bed could be improved upon. The bathroom is large and has a spa which was also great. The water supply is rainwater which made the spa experience all the more pleasant. There is a front verandah to sit on but that was spoilt by the smokers next door who polluted the atmosphere. Centrally located in the town of Mintaro. Very pleasant and the owners are lovely.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We had a week staying at this cottage and the owners where so friendly and so peaceful.
It the prefect place to base yourself to explore the clare valley and sorrounding area.
The cottage is o a very high standard with features and would recommend to any one to take time to stay a while.

Local pubs and dinners are so nice and great food

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumpie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mintaro
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Clare Central
0.3 mi away
Reillys Wines Heritage Cottages
5.8 mi away
Thorn Park by the Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Fruiterer's B&B
The Fruiterer's B&B
#1 of 2 in Farrell Flat
27 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Clare
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mintaro Hideaway
Mintaro Hideaway
#4 of 4 in Mintaro
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Devonshire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Devonshire House

Property: Olde Devonshire House
Address: Burra Street, Mintaro, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mintaro
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mintaro
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Olde Devonshire House Mintaro, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing