We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy - Family Holiday April 2013”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marion Bay Caravan Park
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was slightly concerned after reading the reviews on here just before leaving for our family holiday. We are a family of 7 so finding quality accommodation at a reasonable price is extremely difficult. We stayed at The Marion Bay Caravan Park in Cabin 16 from the 17th to 20th April 2013. The cabin was around $200 per night which I believe was very reasonable for 7 people in the school holiday. Upon check in we were given our key and code to access the boom gate. I was happy to know that only people staying at the Caravan Park had vehicle access to the grounds. The accommodation was extremely clean and there were provisions for coffee including milk and a couple of biscuits.
Being self contained and feeding a large family we took everything that we would need for making meals during the stay. Kitchen was well stocked with most items required for preparing meals (except the missing tongs...). Perhaps a water purifier jug would have been nice since the water on tap is from the desalination plant. Instantaneous gas hot water meant that bath time with 5 children was quick and easy not having to wait for the hot water to heat up between showers. Dishwasher in kitchen was a big plus due to the number of dishes used in a sitting.
We were very lucky that the cabin we has was right on the beach, we had a path at our front door that led straight to the beach. I was a bit disappointed with the playground as it is probably suitable for under fives (not the 5 to 12 age bracket that we have). Easy walk to Marion jetty, every morning we went for a walk. Cabin had television in the lounge room and in the adults bedroom which all adapted to use media boxes, usb etc so you can take movies with you for the family to watch.
We had a really good time an I am glad that I read the negative reviews after booking the accommodation as we probably would have missed out on a wonderful holiday experience if I had read the reviews prior to booking. Management of the caravan park were friendly enough. I offered to send my children up to work for them during the day which they declined... I'm not sure why why...
Over all excellent value for money, we were extremely happy overall. One Queen bed, two sets of bunks, one with double bed underneath and a double sofa bed. accommodates large number of people comfortably. Will use the facility again
Laundry facilities washing machine $3 dryer $1
BBQ $1 for 15 minutes.
Manager will give change to use on site.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Manager at Marion Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Angela

We are so thrilled to read that you have had such a wonderful family holiday at the Mairon Bay Caravan Park. We certainly aim to ensure all of our visitors needs are met wherever possible.

It was great to see that our cabins met all of your requirements and we agree - the location is certainly second to none!

Travelling with large families is a challenge, and as parents ourselves we pride ourselves on our family-friendly approach. We are investigating future children-friendly activities and hope to install a new playground in the not-to distant future.

Whilst it is disapointing to read bad reviews, we aim to take this feedback and turn it around so that we learn something positive from it, and hopefully your review is a testament to that.

We hope you return and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from this campsite, all in all the campsite is clean and tidy but I must agree with the previous comments on here.
The managers ( I think they are brother & sister) are very rude and extremely unfriendly. You would think working in the kind of job they do, their main concern would be making sure their guests have a pleasant stay.

As mentioned, the time of the cleaning of the toilets and showers is ridiculous , my husband was caught short one morning and ran to the small toilet block only to be told he would have to walk up to the big block, he pleaded with the cleaner saying he was desperate and she just smirked and shook her head :(

We were there for a week and in that time at least 4 times there was no loo roll available.

This could be a perfect caravan park if the managers were more helpful and friendly.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Manager at Marion Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your comments on your stay at the Marion Bay Caravan Park. We are sorry that you found the staff you dealt with to be less than helpful.

We have investigated your comments regarding the cleaning of the amenities block and have taken steps to try and address your issues.

We appreciate any feedback and aim to improve our service if any shortcomings are identified. It is great to note however, that you found our park clean and well maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from a week long stay at this campsite. It is a good location and is clean and well maintained, however, the camp managers are not the friendliest people. The office closes at 6 and no one is contactable after then unless a $20 fee is paid. We found the toilet facilities at the top end of the park inadequate.The cleaner started cleaning at 9am which is a busy time and she takes ages! There was no toilet paper in one of the toilets and no one available to tell. We would probably stay again if we were in the area as it is the only one! Make sure you bring plenty of food supplies as the nearest store is VERY expensive.

Stayed: December 2012
5  Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Manager at Marion Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your thoughts on your stay at the Marion Bay Caravan Park. We are pleased to hear that you found the park to be clean and well maintained as we pride ourselves on our our ability to do so.

We have reviewed our cleaning practices and trust that we have addressed the issues you raised in your comments. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Its very interesting to read other peoples opinions of this caravan park because we were very disappointed with the whole attitude of the manager. He could not seem to be bothered about anything. We wanted a two bedroom cabin for a night but were told they did not let them out for one night only. This is the only place during the whole trip that this happened. We had to accept a one bedroom cabin with a triple bunk. We needed an extra pillow but when we went to the reception after 6.00pm there was a sign that said there would be a charge of $20.00 for opening the office. We were prepared to pay so we rang and we rang but know one came. Thank goodness it was not a real emergency. The site of this caravan park is lovely but we would not stay there again prefering to travel in from further out to visit Innes national Park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Xanthosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This caravan park is actually owned by the local council (Yorke Peninsula), and managed by a live-in family.

We stayed for four weeks in an absolute beachfront cabin. Location was awesome, and the cabin itself was really nice, with a full kitchen, good size bathroom and nice bedrooms. One caveat - if television is important to you, don't stay here - the reception is unreliable, and predominantly terrible.

Had a minor problem with ants (they seemed to be nested in the roof), but the manager was quick to help deal with the problem.

As we were staying for a long period of time, there was a need for us to ask for extra supplies (towels, toilet paper, dishwashing soap, etc). Our teenage kids felt that whenever they went to ask for these items, they were a bother to the management - although us adults never felt that way.

Regarding the payment of fees (and the manager was very quick to remind me multiple times that he only follows the policies of the council), I found their attitude atrocious. Whenever I've booked a holiday rental anywhere in the world, the price is the price is the price. However, after being given a price, paying a deposit and planning for the trip, I received a letter in the mail around 6 months later stating that the price had gone up (quite appreciably) and that I could either accept this or cancel my booking. I decided to accept.

Later, whilst staying in the park, my wife and I decided to book for the following year. As such, we paid a deposit of $170.00 on our credit card (via the EFT machine in the park office). After returning home, we found that we would be unable to return the following year, so we contacted the park and told them (11 months prior to the booking). We were told that they were unable to refund the money on the spot, and that the council would have to process this request and send a cheque - I still don't understand why the transaction couldn't be reversed immediately on the EFT machine, although I realised later it was probably to avoid a confrontation. It's also relevant to note that the managers often boast that there is never any trouble re-letting cabins and caravan sites when people cancel (especially at that time of the year).

When we finally received the cheque (it was about a month later), we found they had deducted a $34.00 administration fee - for what exactly? And why 20%, when you reportedly have no trouble re-letting?

This left a bitter taste in my mouth, and I certainly won't be returning unless I hear on the grapevine that the council and/or management have overhauled their policies. Such a pity too, since it's a great place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank paulhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, Manager at Marion Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Marion Bay Caravan Park. We have only just begun our Trip Advisor Journey, and are looking forward to comments and feedback, both positive and negative to try and improve the service we provide to our guests.

Unfortunately it has been some time since your stay, however, you will be pleased to know that we have looked into some of the issues which you have mentioned in your comments and have tried to rectify these wherever possible.

In terms of your comments about the payment policies, we have forwarded your comments on to the Council for their attention.

We are however glad that you enjoyed your stay at Marion Bay, despite your concerns with the payment policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie F, Front Office Manager at Marion Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marion Bay Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion Bay Caravan Park

Address: 17 Willyama Dr | Marion Bay, Marion Bay, South Australia 5575, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Marion Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Marion Bay
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing