We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special night in a grand homestead”
Review of North Bundaleer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Bundaleer
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A special night in a grand homestead”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had just one night at North Burraneer on the way from Sydney to the Flinders Ranges. We knew it would be good, but it was outstanding. This is a very grand homestead from days when spreads were huge (300,000 acres before South Australia passed its Closer Settlement Act in 1910) and, in times of high wool prices, extremely lucrative. All of this fell into disuse in the twentieth century and nearly into ruin like so many other buildings in northern South Australia. It was rescued about a decade ago by its present owners, Marianne and Malcolm Booth. They restored it meticulously to its former glory and now offer very superior accommodation with dinner and breakfast. North Burraneer is a bit too remote for weekends from Adelaide, but it is a wonderful stop on a journey like ours. The Booths welcomed us like old friends and made us thoroughly comfortable. Dinner (with our hosts) was most congenial and of a very high standard. As a nice touch for us animal lovers, as dinner ended they brought in Jacinta, their pet western grey kangaroo joey, rescued from her dead mother's pouch. This was a pricey night, but thoroughly memorable and highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at North Bundaleer, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Our "baby" kangaroo is now pretty independent, but she does still turn up for treats, especially when we decide to eat dinner in the garden! Many thanks for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay for two wonderful nights at North Bundaleer in late April this year and it was one of the highlights of our trip back home to Australia. Marianne and Malcolm, who have lovingly restored this magnificent property to its former glory, are the ultimate hosts: warm, gracious and thoroughly entertaining! Marianne's cooking is utterly sublime (we are still talking about her perfect chocolate souffle and tarte tatin with homemade cinnamon ice-cream as well as her spiced breakfast pears) and, combined with Malcolm's sommelier/barista/historian duties, dinners in the magnificent formal dining room are a convivial affair.
The property itself is stunning with an olive grove (complete with a family of kangaroos), beautiful gardens, grazing sheep and cows, all surrounded by magnificent gum trees. We stayed in the Red Room suite which had a beautiful 4 poster bed and an incredible bathroom set in the property's former conservatory with views to the back garden and olive grove.
Last but not least we fell in love with the two resident pups, Archie and Tilly, and wee joey, Lucinda, that the Booth's are raising. We wanted to smuggle all three into our suitcases and take them back to London with us!
It is easy to marvel at the magnificent job Malcolm and Marianne have done in uncovering and restoring the treasure that is North Bundaleer homestead, but by the end of our stay it was obvious that the real treasure at North Bundaleer are Malcolm and Marianne themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonMessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at North Bundaleer, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for such glowing praise! It give us such a buzz to know that we contributed to making your holiday a pleasure and left you with a positive impression of South Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Marianne and Malcolm Booth restored a beautiful 112-year-old homestead in the South Flinders Range to its former glory and invite guests to share it with them. The accommodation is luxurious, the food and wine delicious, the gardens and farm property glorious. Most importantly, though, Marianne and Malcolm are friendly and thoughtful hosts who are a great pleasure to be with. I can't recommend too highly! This is an extraordinary homestead experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOGOLD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at North Bundaleer, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We also take great pleasure in having the opportunity to meet with so many interesting and engaging guests. Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are travelling in the northern part of South Australia, this place is a "must". With very gracious and welcoming hosts, Malcolm and Marianne, a stay at Bundaleer North feels more like being a pampered guest in their home than being in a hotel or lodge. The house itself has to be seen and experienced - there cannot be another like it in the continent - but be warned: the substantial home-cooked meals will pile on the kilos!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cxward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at North Bundaleer, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Oh dear! I am grateful to you for reminding me that I need to consider my guests’ waistlines! I will try to remember to ask if people prefer a lighter diet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

In the midst of the Claire Wine Valley we stayed in beautiful B and B. Malcolm and Marianne Booth have restored the North Bundaleer mansion. Cocktails in the study, dining on the patio or the dinning room. Romantic, luxurious, comfortable, with the modern conveniences on the way to the outback if you want to go 3 hours further. Our 4 poster bed, with private study, and large bath was delightful.
One of the many highlights of our 4 week trip to Australia. Mr and Mrs Booth's hospitality just adds to the beauty of the house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at North Bundaleer, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments – we were very glad to repay the hospitality we have received over the years from our stays in some wonderful B&Bs in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a memorable weekend away! The house is absolutely magnificent; a masterpiece! The exceptional ambience throughout the homestead is produced by not only the creativity and energy that melded it together, but the delicious home-cooked meals, and hospitality of the best standard one could hope for. Above all, the company was unforgettable. Thank you to the hosts Malcolm and Marianne both for taking such great care of us, we would love to return one day!

Room Tip: The Red Room Suite is the room to stay in - private and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelbarletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at North Bundaleer, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We very much enjoyed your visit and also hope to welcome you again some day. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Initially you may think that this is rather expensive but when you compare it to the prices one can pay for staying at Uluru or Kings Canyon there is no comparison. North Bundaleer is the best "holiday" experience I have encountered and would recommend it to everyone. I still have very fond memories of our stay there even though it was nearly 2 years ago. We stayed for 2 nights and were treated so well. Our first night was spent with just Marianne and Malcolm (hosts) followed by an evening with 4 other guests. On both nights the food was fantastic (thanks Marianne) along with the conversation and the beautiful surroundings, not to mention the breakfasts. If you ever venture to this part of South Australia or are on your way to or from the Flinders make the effort, splash out and ENJOY!! I only wish it was closer to the UK

  • Liked — whole experience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank OxfordMints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at North Bundaleer, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for lovely comments. We are so glad your stay was so memorable and that you took the trouble to write such a nice review even a couple of years later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Bundaleer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bundaleer

Property: North Bundaleer
Address: 5356 RM Williams Way, Jamestown, South Australia 2491, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Bundaleer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your North Bundaleer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bundaleer Jamestown, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing