We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star little beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greenock's Old Telegraph Station
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenock B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we opened the door it was like stepping back in time into this beautiful and unique cottage. We were staying in the Barossa for two nights and could have stayed here for the duration with its old world charm, log fire, complimentary wine and port, plentiful breakfast provisions and spa bath to boot. There's a beautiful back yard and Murray st. winery within walking distance and also a pub in the other direction also in walking distance, we would recommend a visit to both these establishments. We would recommend the old telegraph station to anyone wishing to have a stay in the Barossa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jimmy4128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueStephen1, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the cottage. The cottage is well over a century old and we are lucky enough to be the current custodians of it. Retaining its old world charm and not hiding it's history is important to us.
Regards, Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

This cottage proved to be a perfect base for touring the Barossa Valley.The owner has taken
great care in making the cottage warm and welcoming. We especially enjoyed sitting in front of the fire with our glasses of wine, compliments of our host after a great day in the valley.
I would highly recommend this delightful cottage in Greenock.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful old cottage for two nights whilst we visited the Barrossa wineries. What a great find it was. The cottage had everything we could want, including a coffee machine. Amazing breakfast provisions. Everything was so fresh. It was very clean and lots of firewood was provided. Beautiful log fire. Our 17 year old daughter loved it too. We would definitely stay there again. The local pub which was about 200 metres away was a great place for dinner if you don't want to cook or drive. The owners were very friendly. Loved the knitted cover on the mail box out side the pub. Never seen anything like it. We visited lots of wineries, but the best by far was the Murray st wineries just along the road. Not only were the wines fantastic, the staff made us feel very welcome . We enjoyed a cheese and pâté platter with out of this world date bread. Delicious. And it's within walking distance to the cottage. All in all our stay at greenocks old telegraph station was a very happy and memorable stay. We will be back. Sue the new owner was very helpful. Thanks sue

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A warm and cosy cottage, just a stones throw from all the Barossa attractions. I was impressed with the included breakfast and fine wine. The full kitchen was great for cooking up some delicious Barossa Farmers Market produce. My Partner and I had a lovely relaxing weekend together to celebrate her birthday. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Piney84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a lovely little cottage and was perfect for a getaway to the Barossa, it is a little out of the main drag, but close enough to everything to still be really easy! It was a great base for exploring the Barossa and perfect for a family with children and/or dogs with a lovely secure backyard. The cottage was clean, well stocked and great for relaxing by the fire and enjoying a warm spa. It was the little touches that we loved with bath robes, complimentary wine and of course a schmacko for the dog!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueStephen1, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

I'm glad your dog enjoyed the treat! Pets are as welcome as the paying guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights for a romantic getaway. It was a lovely little place, that was just perfect for us. We loved sitting in front of the fire in the complementary robes drinking wine, after our beautiful spa bath.The area was nice and quiet, and I was a big fan of the electric blanket on the bed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsygirl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueStephen1, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It can get very chilly at night in the Barossa and the wood fire, spa bath and electric blankets are always appreciated in winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I loved Greenock's Old Telegraph Station B & B, it was a beautiful getaway from the hustle and bustle of busy life with children. We stayed for 2 nights but could have stayed longer. It was perfectly positioned to go anywhere in the Barossa region, close to everything. I could not fault anything there, it was perfect. All the little extras, from chocolates on your pillow to bath robes, to a beautiful log fire to ingredients left for breakfast, to enjoying a bottle of wine of our choice, to a glass of port at night to keep you warm, these were all the little things that just capped off our stay. I would stay here over and over when coming up to the Barossa. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krissie M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueStephen1, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed the break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
7.3 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
2.1 mi away
Seppelts View Cabins
Seppelts View Cabins
#2 of 3 in Seppeltsfield
61 reviews
9.8 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#8 of 14 in Tanunda
183 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barossa House
Barossa House
#3 of 14 in Tanunda
144 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenock's Old Telegraph Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenock's Old Telegraph Station

Address: 11 Murray St, Greenock, South Australia 5355, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Greenock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenock
Price Range: $145 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenock's Old Telegraph Station 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cottage served as one of the original telegraph stations in South Australia, following the extension of the telegraph line from Adelaide to Angaston, built in 1860. Today The Old Telegraph Station has been lovingly restored into a beautiful Barossa two bedroom bed and breakfast cottage. With its peaceful location, it offers visitors a relaxing environment while still being situated within the heart of the world famous Barossa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Greenock's Old Telegraph Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing