We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric Cellar Door”
Review of Penley Estate

Penley Estate
Ranked #8 of 18 things to do in Coonawarra
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Cellar Door”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent the day during our week on the South Coast in The Coonawarra Wine Region. Penley Estate Winery was a favourite, it has a wonderful Cellar Door with a friendly, informative staff and great atmosphere and a large range of local produce apart from their stunning wine. Special standout for me was the Rose, very nice and very reasonably priced!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 204Diane204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pheonix”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The service was really good. The Phoenix was really good and I thought the Select Shiraz was outstanding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank delyse b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Prestigious Penley Estate”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We started a day's wine tasting at the Penley Estate winery. It proved to be our favourite winery of the day, mainly due to the hospitable and informative lady on duty. Oh, and the wines were great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TA_from_Down_Under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Pinot”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Whilst the Coonawarra is generally known for its Cabernets, Penley do great Pinot Noir and Sparkling Pinot also.

Great hospitality at the cellar door.

Well worth a visit, even if you do not generally like lighter style reds!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank John351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penley Estate also viewed

Coonawarra, South Australia
Coonawarra, South Australia
 
Coonawarra, South Australia
Coonawarra, South Australia
 

Been to Penley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing