We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highbank Winery Accommodation
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
788 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Recently stayed 3 nights in The Cottage. We were very impressed by the wonderful relaxing location overlooking the vineyard. First day breakfast supplies are included, but there a couple of good nearby cafe options in Penola. The Cottage is spacious with good kitchen, large TV, huge bath and comfy beds. Dennis was a friendly approachable host who responded well to any requests we had during the booking process and we received a generous tasting of the premium Highbank Cabernet at check in - thanks again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddoch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kirribilli, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The Room With A View is so much more than the name suggests.
The view itself is truly breathtaking: oversized windows frame the expanses of autumn-toned vines and roses. Looking out onto this made us feel as though we had the beautiful Coonawarra wine region to ourselves....
The 'room' was a generously proportioned space consisting of a large bedroom, a living room, a bathroom with spa and a gorgeous (& well stocked) kitchen with a little table overlooking the Highbank vineyard. We felt instantly at home which was surely a result of the comfortable, eclectic and thoughtful finishings of this 'home away from home'.
Thank you so very much Dennis & Bonnie for your warm and generous hospitality - we loved the heady hand picked roses from Bonnie's garden and the interesting conversation with Dennis over a glass of his superb 2009 'Coonawarra'. This was a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryandHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the cottage in late April 2014. It has beautiful surroundings overlooking the vineyard. We believe it is a good place to relax and it is in the best wine region. before we booked the place we checked all the reviews here and we were bit reluctant. we booked for two nights including cooked breakfast. But when we arrived we were given raw supplies enough for one morning only. Because there is no restaurant you have to cook your own breakfast. Any way we thought the owner would bring breakfast for the next day. That didn't happen. Any way no big deal. Also when it rains there are little crawling insects comes inside the cottage and it is disgusting. There is a spa but no bubbles provided. After we returned home, one morning we got a call from the owner saying he wants to charge $ 20 per day , for using firewood for the fire place. So get your deal in writing from the owner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Rohan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in 'Room With a View', excellent value accommodation. Beautiful surrounds with views looking out over the vineyard. Big spa bath was a plus and enjoyed having the space to spread out across the kitchen, lounge room and generous sized bedroom. Very relaxed and friendly host. Excellent value for $$.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaeScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

4 of us [two young middle aged married couples - celebrating the 35th wedding anniversary of one of them] had a fantastic weekend in the Coonawarra , blessed with fabulous weather , wonderful wine experiences , and delighted with the accommodation at Highbank Winery.
Our villa was fulsomely equipped , obviously appointed by a serious cook given the kitchen equipment and range of food and ingredients available; and decorated tastefully by a wine lover well acquainted with Tuscany and the hospitable treatment of guests.
The hosts were welcoming and friendly - without a syllable of rudeness!! Denis also manufactures some superb wines which are well worth sampling [and buying at 'mates rates' for guests].
We were very impressed with the friendly and cooperative relationships on display amongst the residents of Penola and district who are justifiably proud of their little village .

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank freddoaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I had booked into highbank over a month ago and 1 night prior to leaving for the trip I recieved a telephone call to inform me that they had double booked.
Not only was I left without accommadation, the gentlman on the telephone was extremely rude and rather than apolagising he told me the double booking was in fact my fault as he hadn't been able to find my telephone number, which as he was calling me he obviously had, he then told me he had misplaced the note paper he had written it on. I had booked into Highbank as surprise trip which is now ruined and has turned what was supposed to be a relaxing treat into a stressful scramble to find somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLF0ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdvice, Owner at Highbank Winery Accommodation, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We only have a very limited number of quality accommodations and we must therefore prioritise our confirmed reservations by asking everyone to return our booking form. Our booking form covers our "terms and conditions" and must be accepted by everyone renting our accommodations. We had called a second time as a courtesy, she stated to us that she had NOT returned our booking form as was requested during our original phone conversation. Additionally we were never rude, but maybe firm, as we only wished to reiterated our booking policy and why we had not honoured her request. Only one week had passed not a month since we had spoken. NO deposit was ever charged to her credit card and NO confirmation email had been sent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A couple and I were very happy staying here. I had my privacy downstairs and my friends enjoyed staying upstairs. I really liked my old fashioned bath. Downstairs the living area was warm and there was a big kitchen. There was a small kitchen upstairs. Our hosts supplied us with provisions downstairs. There was a lovely wood fire downstairs as well as modern heating. It was pretty being in the middle of the wineries. It was so convenient to the wineries. We were comfortable enjoying a lovely meal at Hollicks and walking back after lunch without counting our glasses of wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delyse b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonawarra
2.1 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
192 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alexander Cameron Suites
2.3 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#2 of 4 in Coonawarra
17 reviews
8.5 mi away
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
2.7 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbank Winery Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbank Winery Accommodation

Property: Highbank Winery Accommodation
Address: cnr Riddoch Hwy / Maaoupe Road, Coonawarra, South Australia 5263, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coonawarra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coonawarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honeysuckle Rise Accommodation A touch of Tuscany in the heart of the Coonawarra. Honeysuckle Rise offers two beautifully appointed and self-contained facilities, which offer privacy and location in the heart of the Coonawarra wine region. The choice of two romantic guest retreats, the spacious 'Cottage' where privacy is emphasised in its own vineyard or 'Villa' with 'Room with a View', a cosy second story, but very spacious apartment with picturesque views of the vines from every room. The 'Cottage' and the 'Villa' (down stairs) have an open freestone fireplace and both can accommodate up to four adults. Firewood is provided at a reasonable extra cost of $20 per night of use. 'The Cottage' and 'Villa' both capture the charm of the historic South East but with the most modern of features. Both have spa baths for two persons, fully equipped kitchens, queen size beds, and special views of our vineyards. A fully equipped commercial kitchen in the 'Villa' (down stairs) also allows for the creation of wonderful gourmet meals. The Cottage is a small stone home nestled in its own beautiful vineyard. Close the iron gates at the entrance of the drive and enjoy total seclusion and privacy. The Cottage caters for two or four adults in an open floor plan. The Cottage interior is light and inviting with limestone walls, exposed beams, arched French doors, lead light windows and a stone fireplace. A cosy loft-bedroom overlooks the vineyard and private driveway as the floor plan is open to up-stairs and down. The spacious two-person spa is private and looks out to its own garden to be enjoyed. The 'Room with a View'a second floor Suite, is designed to be that special place for two. There is a very comfortable extra pull out bed, if needed for the chaperon. Where the full two stories of the 'Villa' can accommodate four guests. Each accommodation has its own two-person candle lit spa. Both offer the warm atmosphere and romance of colonial times with the comfort of modern facilities including fully equipped kitchens. As part of your nightly tariff in either of our retreats, we provide all the makings for that leisurely country breakfast. These include juices, fresh free-range eggs, fresh bread, smoked bacon, cereal, coffee and a selection of fine teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highbank Winery Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing